K-L

  • Ka
  • Ki
  • Kn
  • Ku
  • La
  • Le
  • Li
  • Lo
  • Lu

    • Ka

    Kaston, B. J.

    Kellogg, Ebenezer 1789-1846

    "Ebenezer Kellogg, A.M. Professor of Languages in Williams College, with C. Dewey, the most persevering and zealous naturalist in New England." Approx. A. Eaton, 1817, P. 173 in McAllister's Eaton.

    Durfee, C. 1871. Williams Biographical Annals, pp. 142-143.

    New Englander's impressions of Georgia in 1817-1818: Excerpts from diary. Ed. by S. W. Martin. Journal of Southern History, vol. 12 (1946), pp. 247-262.

    Kellogg, James Lawrence 1866-
    b, Kewanee, IL; PhD, Hopkins, 1892; hon, AM Williams, 1901; Assistant professor-Professor, Williams, 1899-; Lamellibranchs

    American Men of Science, ed. 3 (1921)

    Kendall, William Converse 1861-

    An annotated catalogue of the fishes of Maine. Proceedings of the Portland Society of Natural History. v. 3 (1914), pt. 1, p. 1-198. [RI: RIU]

    Fishes and fishing in Sunapee Lake. United States. Bureau of Fisheries. Document no. 783. Washington, Govt. Print. Off., 1913. LOCATION: Widener: Econ 7625.6

    The fishes of the Connecticut Lakes and neighboring waters, with notes on the plankton environment. [United States] Bureau of fisheries document, no. 633. Washington, Govt. print. off., 1908.

    Kendig, Amos B. 1830-1909
    b, Lancaster Co., PA; d, Brookline, MA; Methodist clergyman

    Abbott, R. T. 1973. American Malacologists: A National Register of Professional and Amateur Malacologists and Private Shell Collectors and Biographies of Early American Mollusk Workers between 1618 and 1900 Falls Church, VA: American Malacologists, 494 pp.

    The Nautilus, vol. 22, p. 111.

    Kennard, Frederic Hedge 1865-1937 at 72
    Home in Brookline; Curator of Birds, Boston Society of Natural History; Bulletin of the Boston Society of Natural History no. 83, p. 13, 1937.; Collection in MCZ; AOU

    Published in Auk

    The trials of a near-ornithologist. Bull. Essex County Ornithol. Club. of Mass. 1934. No. 16. 4-6.

    A list of trees, shrubs, vines, and herbaceous plants native to New England, bearing fruit or seeds attractive to birds.

    Kennedy, George Golding 1841-1918
    b, Roxbury; d, Milton, MA; Botany in Coos County, 1890-1895

    George Golding Kennedy, '64. Harvard Alumni Bulletin, vol. 20, p. 595.

    Pease, A. S. 1964. "History of Botanical Collecting in this Area" (pp. 33-40; with bibliography, pp. 41-50) in A Flora of Northern New Hampshire. Cambridge: New England Botanical Club.

    Reid, A. M. M. 1987. Pioneer New England bryologists : a prosopography. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University (Occasional papers of the Farlow Herbarium of Cryptogamic Botany, no. 19), 71 pp. [p. 37-39]

    Williams, E. F. 1919. George Golding Kennedy. Rhodora, vol. 21, no. 242 (Feb.), pp. 25-35. Portrait.

    Flora of Willoughby, Vermont. Rhodora, v. 6, pp. 93-134, 148, 1904.

    Papers of George Golding Kennedy, 1864-1896 (bulk). ca. 3.75 linear ft.. Arranged in three series: I. Correspondence, II. Journals, III. Manuscripts. Kennedy (Harvard University, A.B. 1864; M.D. 1867) after briefly practicing medicine, took over management of his father's business, and continued to study botany. He published articles, including a flora of Willoughby, Vt. (1904); developed a sizeable herbarium; and was active on the visiting committee of the Gray Herbarium and endowed the Library.; LOCATION: Botany Gray Herbarium

    Ki

    Kidder, Nathaniel Thayer 1860-1938
    AB, Harvard, 1882; Businessman; Vice-president, Boston Society of Natural History; Bussey Institute, 1886; Trustee, Massachusetts General Hospital, Massachusetts Horticultural Society; Member, New England Botanical Club; Botany; Bulletin of the Boston Society of Natural History no. 88, p. 15, 1938; AOU

    Kieran, John

    Dexter, R. W. 1986. Two centuries of naturalists on Cape Ann, Massachusetts. Essex Institute Historical Collection, v. 122, no. 3, 246-258 [mentioned p. 255].

    Kilham, Dr. Daniel 1753-1841
    b, d, Wenham, MA; AB, Harvard, 1777; Studied medicine with Dr. Holyoke of Salem; Member of both branches of the General Court; Member of the Governor's Council; Friend of J. Q. Adams and T. Pickering; A founder of the American Academy; Home: 185 Main St., Wenham; Wenham in Pictures and Prose, 1992, p. 82

    Jackson, R. L. 1948. The Physicians of Essex County. Salem, MA: Essex Institute, 152 pp. [pp. 64-65]

    Kilham, Lawrence
    Interview: The crow man. Life, June, 1989, pp. 25-27. Portrait.

    Kimball, Charles. P.

    The Lepidoptera of Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard Islands, Massachusetts. Nantucket Maria Mitchell Association Publications 4 (1943), 217 pp. (Sr. author: F. M. Jones)

    The Lepidoptera of Nantucket: being a supplement to: "A list of insect fauna of Nantucket, Massachusetts" by Charles Willison Johnson. Publications of the Nantucket Maria Mitchell Association; v. III, no. 3. [Nantucket, Mass.: s.n.], 1939. 53 pp.

    King, George B. 1848-
    b, Lowell, MA; Self-educated; Coccidae, Formicidae of Massachusetts

    American Men of Science, ed. 3 (1921)

    King, Henry F.
    Mollusca, Paleontology

    Dexter, R. W. 1980. Natural history at the Essex Institute, 1848-1898. Essex Institute Historical Collection, v. 116, pp. 21-33.

    King, John L.
    Founder, Springfield Museum of Natural History, 1859; Meisel

    Kingsbury, John
    President, Providence Franklin Society, 1840-1843; Meisel, 1821

    Kingsley, John Sterling 1854-1929
    b, Cincinnatus, NY; d, Berkeley, CA; Williams, A.B., 1875; Princeton, Sc,D., 1885; Tufts, 1892-; Student of A. S. Packard; Comparative embryology and anatomy

    American Men of Science, ed. 3 (1921)

    Science, n.s., vol. 70, pp. 570-572, 1929

    Abbott, R. T. 1973. American Malacologists: A National Register of Professional and Amateur Malacologists and Private Shell Collectors and Biographies of Early American Mollusk Workers between 1618 and 1900 Falls Church, VA: American Malacologists, 494 pp.

    Additions to the recorded fauna of Casco Bay, Maine. Proc. of the Portland Society of Natural History, v. 2 (1902), pp. 203-205.

    The naturalist's assistant; a handbook for the collector and student, with a bibliography of fifteen hundred works necessary for the systematic zoologist. Boston, Cassino, 1882, 228 pp.

    Kirkham, Fanny Curtis Barri (Mrs. James Wilson Kirkham) 1857-1928
    b, Cambridge; d, Springfield, MA; Apparently no publications; AOU

    Kirkland, Archie H. 1873-
    b, Huntington, MA; MS, Massachusetts College, 1896; Assistant entomologist, Massachusetts Gypsy Moth work, 1894-1900; Superintendent, 1905-1908; Economic entomology

    American Men of Science, ed. 3 (1921)

    Kirtland, Dr. Jared P. 1793-1877

    Kelly, H. A. & W. L. Burrage. 1928. Dictionary of American Medical Biography. NY: D. Appleton, 1364 pp.

    Proceedings of the American Academy of Arts adn Sciences, n.s., vol. 5, pp. 452-453, 1878.

    American Journal of Science, 3 ser., vol. 15, p. 80, 1878.

    Rogers, R. M. 1986. Dr. Jared P. Kirtland amateur of horticulture. Journal of Garden History, vol. 6, no. 4, pp. 357-375. Portrait.

    Gehr, A. R. 1952. Jared Potter Kirtland. Explorer, vol. 2, no. 7, pp. 1-33.

    Dexter, R. W. 1977. Dr. Jared P. Kirtland, Cleveland's first malacologist and some of his correspondence. Sterkiana, no. 65-66, pp. 11-13.

    Dexter, R. W. 1980. The Kirtland-Storer correspondence on Ohio fishes (1838-45) and a Kirtland-Baird collection of Ohio fishes (1853). Kirtlandia: The Cleveland Museum of Natural History, 32: 1-19.

    [Ingersoll, E.] 1878. An aged naturalist gone. The Country, vol. 1 (January 19), p. 160

    Newberry, J. S. 1886. National Academy of Sciences Biographical Memoirs, vol. 2, pp. 127-138.

    Moulton, J. M. 1957. A collection of drawings of fishes ascribed to J. P. Kirtland (1793-1877) in the library of Bowdoin College. Breviora, no. 80, pp. 1-4.

    Thomas, H. 1958. The doctors Jared of Connecticut: Jared Eliot, Jared Potter, Jared Kirtland. Hamden, CT: Shoe String Press, 76 pp.

    Kittredge, Elsie May 1870-1954

    Brown, P. M. 1976. "A seed, many years dormant." The discoveries of Elsie M. Kittredge, botanist. Vermont Natural History, pp. 9-12. Worked with Elizabeth Billings on a 1500 specimen herbarium of Woodstock (NH?) flora.

    Ferns and flowering plants of Woodstock Vermont. Woodstock, VT: Elm Tree Press, 1931, 57 p.

    Supplement to Ferns and flowering plants of Woodstock Vermont, 1936. Woodstock, VT: E.M. Kittredge? [7] pp.

    Kloseman, Miss. Jessie Emma 1876-1940
    b, Saugerties, NY; d, Boston, MA; Home Boston, nearly 40 years; Member, Boston Mycological Club, Brookline Bird Club, Massachusetts Horticultural Society, Massachusetts Audubon Society, Vermont Bird Club; General nature; AOU

    Kn

    Knight, Ora Willis 1874-1913
    b, Bangor, ME; BS, 1895, MS (Chemistry), 1897, hon. DSc, 1909, Maine; Chemist; President, Josselyn Botanical Society, 1908-; Herbarium in Smithsonian; Library in Bangor Public Library; Member, Phi Kappa Phi Society, Maine Ornithological Society, American Chemical Society; Chemistry, geology, botany, ornithology of Maine; AOU

    American Men of Science, ed. 3 (1921)

    A list of the birds of Maine, showing their distribution by counties and their status in each county. Augusta: The University of Maine, Department of natural history, Bulletin no. 3, 1897, 184 p. (United ornithologists of Maine).

    The birds of Maine; with key to and description of the various species known to occur or to have occured in the state, an account of their distribution and migration, showing their relative abundance in the various counties of the state as well as other regions, and contributions to their life histories. Bangor, Me. [printed by C. H. Glass & co.] 1908. 693 pp.

    Knobel, Edward 1839-1908
    b, Lehrbach, Oberhessen; d, Walpole, MA

    "Artist; studied art at Düsseldorf and London. To Am, '65; St. Louis, '65-'67; Boston, Mass, L Prang Co '67-'73, Forbes Lith Co, '73-'08. Specialized in plant and animal subjects" Barnhart Biographical Notes. Inf. from letter in JHB files

    Beetles of New England and their kind; a guide to know them readily. Boston: B. Whidden, 1895, 45 pp., illus.

    The day butterflies and duskflyers of New England, how to find and know them. Boston: B. Whidden, 1895, 40 pp., illus.

    Ferns and evergreens of New England,. A simple guide for their determination. Boston: B. Whidden, 1895, 26 pp., 11 plates.

    Field guide to the grasses, sedges and rushes of the United States. Dover books on plants. 2nd rev. ed. New York: Dover, , 1977 c1980.

    Field key to the land birds. Boston: B. Whidden, 1899, 55 pp., illus., 9 col. plates.

    The fresh water fishes of New England and those ascending the streams from the sea. Boston: B. Whidden, 1896, 40 pp., illus.

    The grasses, sedges and rushes of the northern United States, illustrated; an easy method of identification. Boston: B. Whidden, 1899, 78 pp., illus., plates.

    A guide to find the names of all wild-growing trees and shrubs of New England by their leaves. Boston: L. Barta, 1894, 48 pp., illus.

    Identify trees and shrubs by their leaves; a guide to trees and shrubs native to the Northeast. New York, Dover Publications [1972].

    Mosquitoes, gnats, craneflies, midges and flies of the northern states. Boston: B. Whidden, 1897, 64 pp., illus.

    The night moths of New England, how to determine them readily. Boston: B. Whidden, 1895, 63 pp., illus.

    The spiders of the northern states. Boston: Knight and Millet, 1901, 54 pp. illus.

    The turtles, snakes, frogs and other reptiles and amphibians of New England and the north. Boston: B. Whidden, 1896, 47 pp., illus.

    The wild animals of North America. Ill. by the author. NY: The Authors and Newspapers Association, 1908, 9 pt., illus.

    Knowlton, Clarence Hinckley 1876-

    The goldenrods of the Massachusetts South Shore. South Shore Nature Club, 1930, 8 pp.

    Flora of Rocky Woods Reservation, Medfield, Massachusetts. Boston, 1950, 11 p.

    Plant societies of south-eastern Massachusetts. Hingham, Mass., South Shore Nature Club, 1949. 10 p. 23 cm.

    The asters of the Massachusetts South Shore. South Shore Nature Club, 1931, 10 p.

    Notes on the flora of Day Mountain, Franklin County, Maine.

    Trees of the Massachusetts South Shore (Quincy to Duxbury, and inland). South Shore Nature Club, 1933. 13 p.

    Ku

    Kuerzi, J. F.

    Notes on the summer birds of western Litchfield County, Connecticut, by J. F. K. and R. G. Kuerzi.. Abstr. Linnaean Society of New York, no. 43-44, 1934, 14 pp.

    Kuerzi, R. G.

    Notes on the summer birds of western Litchfield County, Connecticut, by J. F. Kuerzi and R. G. K. Abstr. Linnaean Society of New York, no. 43-44, 1934, 14 pp.

    Kunkel, Beverly Waugh 1881-
    b, Harrisburg, PA; PhD, Yale, 1905; Instructor, Sheffield Scientific School, Yale, 1901-; Reptile anatomy, Amphipoda/Isopoda

    Kurtz, John D. 1822-1877
    b, ME

    La

    Lambert, Fred Dayton 1871-1931
    b, Muscatina, IA; PhD, Tufts, 1897; Assistant Professor of Biology, Tufts, 1898; Morphology and life history of green algae

    American Men of Science, ed. 3 (1921)

    Knowlton, C. H. 1932. Fred Dayton Lambert. Rhodora, vol. 34, no. 399 (March), pp. 41-48. Portrait.

    Lamson, G. H.

    The reptiles of Connecticut. Hartford: Connecticut Geological and Natural History Survey Bulletin no. 54, 1935.

    Lamson-Scribner, F.

    See Scribner, Frank Lamson

    Lane, A. L.

    Bird notes from East Winthrop, Maine. Journal of the Maine Ornithological Society, vol. 9 (1907), pp. 42-45.

    Laski, J. K.

    Botanical survey in Maine with Aaron Young (Dictionary of American Biography entry on A. Young)

    Laurent, Philip

    Notes on the insect fauna of Somerset Co., Maine. Can. Ent., 27 (1895), pp. 322-324.

    Lawrence
    "botanist and gardener" of the Shakers of New Lebanon, Mass. in 1827.; Rafinesque in Struik, p. 341

    Lawrence, Barbara
    Curator, Mammals, MCZ

    Barbour, Thomas. 1943. Naturalist at large. Boston: Little, Brown and Co., 314 p. [p. 229].

    Lawrence, Daniel S.
    Founder, Providence Franklin Society; Meisel, 1821

    Lawrence, William S.
    Secretary, Connecticut Society of Natural History, 1854-1856; Meisel, 1835

    Lawson, R.

    Thirteen Ipswich River bird trips. Bulletin of the Essex County Ornithological Club, 1919, 13-34.

    Le

    Leavenworth, Melines Conklin 1796-1862
    Cooperated with Eli Ives on list of New Haven plants in Baldwin's Annals of Yale College, 1831, 1838; Dictionary of American Biography article on Ives

    American Journal of Science, ser. 2, vol. 35 (March 1863), p. 306.

    Rockwell, P. G. 1867. Proceedings of the Connecticut Medical Society, ser. 2, vol. 2, pp. 269-272.

    Kelly, H. A. & W. L. Burrage. 1928. Dictionary of American Medical Biography. NY: D. Appleton, pp. 725-726)

    Leavitt, Robert Greenleaf 1865-]

    The Geographic distribution of nearly related species. Am. Naturalist 41 (1907) 207.

    The forest trees of New England. Jamaica Plain, Mass.: The Arnold Arboretum of Harvard University, 1933. 1832 ed.? 179 pp.

    Lee, John Clarke
    Salem

    Dexter, R. W. 1977. The Essex County Natural History Society, 1833-1848. Essex Institute Historical Collection, v. 113, pp. 38-53 [mentioned p. 38].

    Proceedings of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, n.s., vol. 6 (whole ser., vol. 14), pp. 352-353, 1879

    Willson, C. B. 1878. Memorial of John Clarke Lee. Essex Institute Historical Collections, vol. 15, pp. 35-62.

    Lee, Leslie Alexander 1852-1908
    b, South Woodstock, VT; d, Portland, ME; AB, Harvard, 1874; PhD, St. Lawrence University, 1885; Professor Biology and Geology, Bowdoin, 1881-; Instructor, Biology and Geology, Bangor Theological Seminary; President, Maine Ornithological Society; President, Portland Society of Natural History; Served with U.S. Fish Commission; Naturalist on "Albatross"; State Geologist of Maine, 1903-; Chairman, Maine Topographical Survey, 1899-; Vertebrate anatomy, Forams, Mammals and geology of Maine; AOU

    Abbott, R. T. 1973. American Malacologists: A National Register of Professional and Amateur Malacologists and Private Shell Collectors and Biographies of Early American Mollusk Workers between 1618 and 1900 Falls Church, VA: American Malacologists, 494 pp.

    American Men of Science, ed. 1 (1906)

    Cilley, Jonathan Prince. Bowdoin boys in Labrador: an account of the Bowdoin College scientific expedition to Labrador led by Prof. Leslie A. Lee of the Biological Department. Rockland, ME: Rockland Publishing Company, [189-?], 71 pp. [Expedition took place in 1891. Letter dated October 1893 is printed on p. 66-71.]

    Leighton, Clare 1899-1989

    Contemporary Authors, v. 108.

    Who Was Who in America, v. 10, 1989-1993.

    Wikipedia

    Where land meets sea; the tide line of Cape Cod, written and engraved by Clare Leighton. NY: Rinehart, 1954, 202 p.

    Leonard, Emily J.

    Catalogue of the phaenogamous and vascular cryptogamous plants, found growing in Meriden, Conn.: (incompleted). Meriden, Conn.: Meriden Scientific Assoc., Transactions, v. 1, 40 pp. 1885.

    Leonard, Rev. H. C.
    Birds

    Dexter, R. W. 1973. The scientific period of the Cape Ann Scientific and Literary Association and its successors, 1873-1952. Essex Institute Historical Collections, vol. 109, no. 2, pp. 165-174.

    Dictionary of American biography. (NY: C. Scribner's sons, 1928-95. 20 v. + 10 Supplements).

    Leonard, Levi Washburn 1790-1864

    Dictionary of American biography. (NY: C. Scribner's sons, 1928-95. 20 v. + 10 Supplements). Article by G.H.G.

    Eliot, S. A. 1910. Heralds of a Liberal Faith. Vol. 3: The Preachers, ed. by Samuel A. Eliot. Boston: American Unitarian Association. [pp. 202-206]

    The History of Dublin, N. H. Boston: John Wilson and Son, 1855. Portrait

    Gave T. W. Harris specimens included in Harris' list in Edward Hitchcock's Report on the Geology, Mineralogy, Botany, and Zoology of Massachusetts, 1833, 1835.

    Lermond, Norman Wallace 1861-1944
    b, Knox County; d, Thomaston, ME; Curator, Knox Academy of Arts and Sciences, Thomaston, ME; Molluscs

    Abbott, R. T. 1973. American Malacologists: A National Register of Professional and Amateur Malacologists and Private Shell Collectors and Biographies of Early American Mollusk Workers between 1618 and 1900 Falls Church, VA: American Malacologists, 494 pp.

    Clench, W. J. 1944/45. I knew Lermond. American Malacological Union, News bull. and annual report, 1944-1945, pp. 1-3.

    The Nautilus, vol. 58, pp. 102-105.

    Autobiography of Norman Wallace Lermond, Maine's Naturalist/Socialist, ed. by S. M. Martin. Northeastern Naturalist: Vol. 11, No. 2, pp. 197–228.

    From MS in Museum of Comparative Zoology. Includes his scientific bibliography.

    Lesueur, Charles Alexandre 1778-1846
    1 Jan. 1778-12 Dec. 1846

    American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v. plus 2 supplements. Online version available.

    Hamy, E.-T. 1904. Les voyages du naturaliste Ch. Alex. Lesueur dans L'Amérique du Nord (1815-1837). Paris: Société des Américanistes. [New England visits, pp. 31-36]

    Schwarz, R. G. 1997. Biographical Dictionary of American and Canadian Naturalists and Environmentalists, pp. 461-464.

    Levey, William Charlesworth 1887-1914
    b, Indianapolis IN; d, Alton Bay, Lake Winnepesaukee, NH (summer home); Connection with SC?; Conservation; AOU

    Lewis, Edwin R.

    Rhode Island. Commissioners of Birds [Remington, Charles H., Willliam H. Thayer, Alexander O'D. Taylor, Edwin R. Lewis, W. Gordon Reed]. A check list of Rhode Island nesting birds, with data. [Providence? R.I.] c1908.

    Lewis, Winslow, Jr. 1799-1875 Nat???

    Essex Institute Bulletin, vol. 8 (1877), p. 42.

    Li

    Lincoln, Edwin Hale

    Wild flowers of New England, Photographed from Nature. 16 pts. in 8 v. Pittsfield, Mass., 1910-14.

    Lincoln, Levi
    Founder, Worcester Lyceum of Natural History, 1825; Meisel

    Linder, David Hunt 1899-1946
    b, Brookline; d, Boston, MA

    Weston, W. H., E. S. Barghoorn and I. M. Johnston. 1947. [Obituary]. Harvard University Gazette, vol. 42, no.25 (March 8), pp. 139-140.

    Linsley, Rev. James Harvey 1787-1843
    Teacher, Clergyman; 20th Century Biographical Dictionary

    Abbott, R. T. 1973. American Malacologists: A National Register of Professional and Amateur Malacologists and Private Shell Collectors and Biographies of Early American Mollusk Workers between 1618 and 1900 Falls Church, VA: American Malacologists, 494 pp.

    American Journal of Science, vol. 46 (January 1844), p. 216

    Appleton's cyclopædia of American biography. NY: D. Appleton and company, 1887-89, 6 v. Online version in Virtual American Biographies, Virtualology.com.

    Goode, G. B. 1901. James Harvey Linsley. U. S. National Museum Annual Report for 1897, 1901, pt. 2, p. 282, portrait only.

    Memoir of the Rev. James H. Linsley. Hartford, CT: Robins and Smith, 1845, 178 pp. Portrait. [Written by his daughter, Sophia Emilia Lyon Linsley Phelps, according to ACAB]

    National cyclopaedia of American biography. (NY: J.T. White, 1898-1984), vol. 4, p. 540.

    A catalogue of the birds of Connecticut: arranged according to their natural families prepared for the Yale Natural History Society. American journal of science and arts, vol. 44 (1842), no. 2, 26 p. [CT: TYC]

    A catalogue of the birds of Connecticut, arranged according to their natural families. American Journal of Science, v. 44, pp 249-274, 1843.

    A catalogue of the Mammalia of Connecticut arranged according to their natural families. American Journal of Science, v. 43, pp 345-354.

    Little, Daniel 1724-1801
    Wells, ME; Sibley

    Bourne, Edward E. "Daniel Little" in The History of Wells and Kennebunk. Portland, ME: B. Thurston, pp. 708-723, 1875, portrait on p. 709.

    Daniel Little, in Sibley's Harvard Graduates, edited by Clifford K. Shipton, vol. 12, pp. 41-48, [Portrait]

    Lawson, R. M. 2002. Passaconaway's realm: Captain John Evans and the exploration of Mount Washington. Hanover: University Press of New England, 157 p.

    Little, Dr. Henry 1802-1826
    b, Salem, MA; Student of Bigelow; "Son of the late Dr. M. Little, of Salem, d. at sea 31st ult. aged 22 (Columbian Centinel, Apr. 19, 1826); Botanized with B. D. Greene in White Mountains, 1823; Graustein, Nuttall, p. 332; Gifford, Medical botanists of New England

    Jackson, R. L. 1948. The Physicians of Essex County. Salem, MA: Essex Institute, 152 pp. [p. 70]

    Little Genealogy, p. 94

    Pease, A. S. 1964. "History of Botanical Collecting in this Area" (pp. 33-40; with bibliography, pp. 41-50) in A Flora of Northern New Hampshire. Cambridge: New England Botanical Club.

    Lloyd, Andrew James 1848-1906
    b, Lockport, NS; d, Boston, MA; Optician; Sportsman turned birder; Botany

    Palmer, T. S. et al. 1954. Biographies of Members of the American Ornithologists' Union, reprinted from 'The Auk', 1884-1954. Ed. by P. H. Oehser. Washington, DC: Lord Baltimore Press, 630 pp. [p. 355].

    Lo

    Locke, John 1792-1856
    b, Fryeburg, ME; d, Cincinnati, OH; MD, Yale, 1819

    Also geology and physics. May have published a botanical textbook. Contributor to Wood's Class-book (preface).; Barnhart

    Appleton's cyclopædia of American biography. NY: D. Appleton and company, 1887-89, 6 v. [vol. 3, p, 751]. Online version in Virtual American Biographies, Virtualology.com.

    Boston Medical and Surgical Journal, vol. 54 (1856), p. 487.

    Kelly, H. A. & W. L. Burrage. 1928. Dictionary of American Medical Biography. NY: D. Appleton, pp. 751-752.

    Lockwood, Moses B.
    President, Providence Franklin Society, 1843-1845; Meisel, 1821

    Loomis, F. B.
    American Journal of Science, ser. 4, vol. 34, pp. 17-2, 1912. Maine shell heaps

    A new mink from the shell heaps of Maine American. Journal of Science, ser. 4, vol. 31 ( 1911), pp. 227-229.

    Lord, Nathan
    Vice-president, Northern Academy of Arts and Sciences, Hanover, NH, 1841; Maisel, 1841

    Lord, Rev. William Rogers 1847-1916
    b, Boston; d, Dover, MA; AB, Amherst, 1875; Union Theological Seminary, 1878; Several pastorates, MA, NY, MN, OR; AOU

    Lorenz, Annie 1879-1927

    Reid, A. M. M. 1987. Pioneer New England bryologists : a prosopography. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University (Occasional papers of the Farlow Herbarium of Cryptogamic Botany, no. 19), 71 pp. [p. 40-41]

    Haynes, C. C. 1928. Annie Lorenz: biographical notice, followed by appreciations from various botanists. Bryologist, vol. XXXI, January, 1928. List of botanical articles by Annie Lorenz, compiled by Alexander W. Evans, p. 6-7. Port.

    Loring, Charles

    Amateur botanist, friend of Asa Gray

    Loveridge, Arthur
    Curator, Reptiles and Amphibians, MCZ

    Barbour, Thomas. 1943. Naturalist at large. Boston: Little, Brown and Co., 314 p. [p. 292].

    Williams, E. E. 1982. Arthur Loveridge: a life in retrospect. Breviora (Museum of Comparative Zoology, Harvard University), no. 471, 12 pp.

    Many Happy Days: A Naturalist's Adventures. NY, 278 pp. Mainly Africa?

    Lowe, F. C.

    Canadian Entomologist, vol. 7 (1875). Lepidoptera in Essex Co, CT

    Lowell, John 1744-1802

    Memorial History of Boston, vol. 4, p. 518, 1881.

    ???? Memoir of the Honorable John Lowell. Proceedings of the Massachusetts Historical Society, vol. 2 (1835-1855), p.160.

    Greenwood, F. W. P. 1846. A Sermon on the Death of John Lowell: Delivered in King's Chapel, March 22, 1840??. Boston, MA: Charles C. Little and James Brown.

    Lowell, John Amory 1798-1881

    Gray, A. 1882. Proceedings of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, vol. 17, pp. 408-411. Reprinted in the Scientific Papers of Asa Gray, vol. 2, pp. 421-424. .

    Graustein, Nuttall, p. 375-; Supported Gray's collectors; Donated books to Gray's herbarium (Dupree, Gray, p. 328]; Collected in Coos County, 1823, 1846-47

    Portraits: Sketch of Life of J. A. Lowell, 1863, frontis.

    Old Residents' Historical Association of Lowell, vol. 2, 1882, frontis.

    Pease, A. S. 1964. "History of Botanical Collecting in this Area" (pp. 33-40; with bibliography, pp. 41-50) in A Flora of Northern New Hampshire. Cambridge: New England Botanical Club. [p. 35]

    Smith, C. C. Memoir, 1898, frontis.

    Lownes, Albert Edgar

    Natural history book collector, early collected New England floras, then general science. Purchased Baldner from John Charles Phillips library. Books now at Brown.

    Sherman, S. C. 1979. Obituary: Albert Edgar Lownes. Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society, vol. 89?????????, no. 1, pp. 19-25.

    Lu

    Lucas, F. A.

    Occurrence of Pseudemys at Plymouth, Mass. Copeia, vol. 38, pp. 98-100, 1916. ???

    Luce, Lyman 1846-1892

    Rogers, F. B. 1977. Dr. Lyman Luce (1846-92): physician-naturalist of Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts. Journal of the History of Medicine, vol. 32, no. 4, pp. 423-427.

    Lufkin, Frank
    Pigeon Cove; Plants

    Dexter, R. W. 1986. Two centuries of naturalists on Cape Ann, Massachusetts. Essex Institute Historical Collection, v. 122, no. 3, 246-258 [mentioned p. 248].

    Lunt, Horace

    Across lots. Boston, D. Lothrop Company, [1888]

    Lutz, Harold John

    Trends and silvicultural significance of upland forest successions in southern New England. Yale University. School of Forestry, Bulletin, no.22. New Haven, Yale University, 1928.

    Lyman, George Richard 1871-
    b, Lee Center, IL; PhD, Harvard, 1906; Dartmouth, 1901-; Life history of algae and fungi

    Lyman, H. H.

    List of diurnal Lepidoptera taken in the vicinity of Portland, Maine. Canadian Entomologist, vol. 12 (1880), pp. 7-9, 252.

    Lyman, H.

    Collected in Coos County, 1859

    Pease, A. S. 1964. "History of Botanical Collecting in this Area" (pp. 33-40; with bibliography, pp. 41-50) in A Flora of Northern New Hampshire. Cambridge: New England Botanical Club.

    Lyman, Theodore 1833-1897
    23 Aug. 1833-9 Sept. 1897; b, Waltham; d, Nahant, MA; Echinoderms

    American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v. plus 2 supplements. Online version available.

    Who Was Who in America

    Abbott, R. T. 1973. American Malacologists: A National Register of Professional and Amateur Malacologists and Private Shell Collectors and Biographies of Early American Mollusk Workers between 1618 and 1900 Falls Church, VA: American Malacologists, 494 pp.

    Adams, C. F. 1906. Proceedings of the Massachusetts Historical Society, vol. 20, pp. 147-177.

    Agassiz, G. R. 1927. Theodore Lyman. Pp. 149-153 in Later Years of the Saturday Club, 1870-1920, ed. by M. A. De Wolfe Howe. Boston, Houghton Mifflin, 427 p. Portrait

    Barbour, Thomas. 1946. A naturalist's scrapbook. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 218 p.[pp. 32-33]

    Bowditch, H. P. 1903. Biographical Memoir of Theodore Lyman, 1833-1897. Biographical Memoirs of the National Academy of Sciences, vol. 5, pp. 141-153, portrait facing p. 141.

    Bowditch, H. P. 1899. Proceedings of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, vol. 34, pp. 656-663.

    Taylor, P. A. M. 1983. A New England gentleman: Theodore Lyman III, 1833-1897. Journal of American Studies (UK), vol. 17 (December), pp. 367-390.