Subject Guide
Resources for Book and Manuscript Research
The following resources can help situate the historical context of the objects you will be studying at Houghton Library. The two catalogs of English and American Bibles provide descriptive bibliographies, which cover not just the historical context of books, but describe the book as a material object.
The Book. A History of the Bible by Call Number: Lamont Reserves BS445 .D44 2001ISBN: 9780714837741Publication Date: 2001-09-25This title presents a connected narrative account of the Bible as a book and as an artefact, from the earliest fragments found in the Egytian desert to the plethora of modern editions and translations.
- Oxford Dictionary of the Christian ChurchThe Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church provides information on all aspects of Christianity. It includes entries on a number of texts often bound together with Christian Bibles, such as the Book of Common Prayer and metrical psalters.
Historical Catalogue of Printed Editions of the English Bible 1525-1961 by Call Number: Houghton Reading Room Z7771.A5 H5 1961ISBN: 9780564001309Publication Date: 1968-01-01A descriptive bibliography of bibles printed in English from 1525-1961, this book updates a 1901 catalog of English bibles in the collection of the British and Foreign Bible Society.
The English Bible in America : a bibliography of editions of the Bible & the New Testament published in America, 1777-1957 by Call Number: Houghton Reading Room Z7771.A5 H5 1961Publication Date: 1961A descriptive bibliography of bibles printed in the United States of America between 1777 and 1957.
Resources for the History of Art and Architecture
For information on researching Art History, see the Guide to Research in History of Art and Architecture.
Resources for the Study of Religion
For more information on researching the Study of Religion, see Andover-Harvard Theological Library's page on finding articles and electronic resources.