This is the "Getting Started" page of the "[FAS] Expos 20: Representations of American Democracy and Government" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

[FAS] Expos 20: Representations of American Democracy and Government   Tags: american government, course_guides, democracy, expos, government, political science, representation, representative democracy, tad davies  

Last Updated: Apr 14, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.harvard.edu/expos20davies Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search Guides: 
 
 

Welcome!

The purpose of this guide is to help orient you to the Harvard libraries and introduce you to some of its vast resources.  You will find information about library services here and links to resources relevant to your Expos 20 class.  If you have questions about conducting research or using the libraries, please let me know and I will be happy to help.

Kathleen Sheehan
Research Librarian
Library Liaison to the Departments of
Government, Psychology and Sociology
ksheehan@fas.harvard.edu

 

.

 

Getting Started

 

Getting Perspective

When you're beginning a project, you may need to gather background information on a topic.  One way to do this is by using reference books.  This is a selected list of subject encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks that can provide definitions of relevant terms and give an overview of important concepts.  These resources are often very useful in helping you refine your topic.  If you wish to find additional reference sources, search HOLLIS for a keyword combined with a word such as encyclopedias, handbooks, or companion, for example, terrorism encyclopedias.

Cinema Studies: the Key Concepts, by Susan Hayward, 4th ed. London ; New York : Routledge, 2013.
Widener: Harvard Depository PN1993.45 .H36 2013

CQ Press Electronic Library, CQ Press. [Washington, D.C.] : CQ Press., c2009.

Encyclopedia of the Cold War, editor, Ruud van Dijk. New York : Routledge, 2008.
Widener: RR 3609.80

Encyclopedia of Conspriacies and Conspiracy Theories

Encyclopedia of Media and Politics, editors, Todd M. Schaefer and Thomas A. Birkland. Washington, D.C. : CQ Press, c2007.
Widener: WID-LC P95.82.Ug E47 2007

Film Index International.  [Ann Arbor, Mich.] : Chadwyck-Healey ; c2003-.  Based on SIFT (Summary of Information on Film and Television), a database collated by the British Film Institute, it covers films from 170 countries with information on about 100,000 films and biographical details of 40,000 personalities, with references to periodical articles.

The Film Encyclopedia: the Complete Guide to Film and the Film Industry, by Ephraim Katz and Ronald Dean Nolen, 6th ed. New York : Collins, 2008.
Widener: RR 2971.28 

Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History, editor, Michael Kazin. Princeton : Princeton University Press, c2010.
Widener: RR 3627.12 

© 2010 President & Fellows Harvard University. All Rights Reserved.
Harvard Trademark Notice
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip