This is the "Home" page of the "Selected Databases for Design [GSD]" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Selected Databases for Design [GSD]  

This list provides links to a curated list of electronic resources, licensed for Harvard use, and featured in the research guides supporting the work of the Graduate School of Design.
Last Updated: Feb 28, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.harvard.edu/gsd/databases Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search Guides: 
 
 

Databases featured in Loeb Library research guides

 Follow the links below for quick access to the databases featured in the library's subject guides. (Harvard ID and PIN required.)

 New featured database: SimplyMap is an online mapping tool for US demographic data. It enables the creation of maps that incorporate data such as population, age, race, income, employment, and education. All of the data can be downloaded and brought into a GIS software. Harvard also subscribes to premium content including Experian Simmons Local for market research data and D&B for business demographics.

China Geo-Explorer is a web-based spatial data service, from which government statistics, population data and economic census data can be visualized and downloaded.  You can use this tool for quick and accurate location analysis and spatial assessment. The data can be searched or browsed; it is presented in tabular format and can be downloaded as an Excel file.  Some data can be exported to shapefiles.

The China Geo-Explorer is part of China Data Online, to which Harvard also subscribes.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO Host) Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
Architectural Publications Index (interfiled with RIBA Catalogue) JSTOR (Access to selected journals, excluding recent issues)
Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984) and Art Full Text (1983-) LexisNexis Academic
ARTstor Material Connexion
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (1930-)  (EBSCO) MIT's Library Catalog (BARTON)
BuildingGreen Suite OnArchitecture
Business Source Complete PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) (1972-)
Chicago Manual of Style Pidgeon Digital (illustrated talks by architects and designers)
Design and Applied Arts Index (ProQuest) PolicyMap
Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest) RefWorks
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (Digital) Sanborn Maps 1867 - 1970
Environment Index (1973- )  Social Explorer (Census data and maps)
Google Scholar  Urban Studies Abstracts
GreenFILE VIA
Grove Dictionary of Art Online

Web of Science Citation Index (ISI) (1900-)

HOLLIS / HOLLIS Classic

WorldCat

INSPEC

 For a complete list of e-resources see E-Research at Harvard


 

Books and Journals Beyond Harvard

MIT Library Catalog (Barton)
WorldCat: a database of material in libraries nationwide.
Click here for more library catalogs.

Get It: Options for requesting materials that are either unavailable or currently checked out and options for Document Delivery (includes Borrow Direct, Interlibrary Loan, Scan & Deliver).
 

Find Books

Use Harvard's HOLLIS Catalog to find books, DVDs, journals, images, and more:

HOLLIS

HOLLIS Classic

What's the difference? Read more here.

 

Need More Help?

Start at the Services desk during library hours for quick assistance and on-site referrals.

Ask a Librarian - view answers to frequently asked questions..and submit your own.

Schedule a Research Consultation: Contact Sarah Dickinson with a brief description of your topic and times you are available to meet.

Call 617-495-9163

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip