Faculty of Harvard Divinity School

Note: The Andover-Harvard Theological Library is not the best source of information about current, recently retired, or recently deceased faculty. Information on current and emeritus faculty is available on the Harvard Divinity School website. Additional information may be available from the school's Office of Communications.

In general, the library can supply information about faculty hired prior to 1950 and those whose Harvard careers ended before 1990.

Many of these faculty members have entries in the important reference sources for American Biography and/or American Religious Biography.

Many of these faculty members also have printed biographies and/or autobiographies. Browse HOLLIS Classic under subject, with last name first for the author and title of books about them. If you are not a Harvard library patron, search your own catalog for these works about them. If the book is not available locally, consider an interlibrary loan request.

Many of these faculty members have extensive published works. If you are a Harvard library patron, these writings are most likely available in Harvard libraries.

  • HOLLIS Classic under author (last name first). If you are a Harvard Library patron, look for the item in the listed library. If you are not a Harvard library patron and the book is not available to you locally, consider interlibrary loan.
  • For articles by them: Start with the "Faculty Writings File" collection, which has an incomplete listing of faculty writings. If you have a valid Harvard ID and PIN number or you are in a Harvard library, search the ATLA Religion Database, Periodicals Contents Index, and Nineteenth Century Masterfile as the most likely databases for finding citations for articles written by them. If you are a Harvard library user, search HOLLIS under the title of the periodical/journal. If you are not a Harvard Library patron, search your own library catalog; if an item is not available to you locally, consider interlibrary loan.

Manuscript and archival resources about faculty members vary. For example, there are only a few resources available about George Foot Moore, but there is a large collection about his brother, Edward Caldwell Moore. Responsibility for Harvard Divinity faculty is shared by this library and the Harvard University Archives; some material is in the Houghton Library. You will need to search HOLLIS Classic (browse under a name as subject) for archival collections. For information about collections in this library, see the list of personal papers on our website and contact the curator of manuscripts and archives. For information about collections in the University Archives, see their policies and contact information. For information about collections in the Houghton, see the Houghton Library.

For more information, contact a research librarian.

Graduates and Others Enrolled at Harvard Divinity School

 

In general, the library is the repository for historical information on the Harvard Divinity School. For information on living alumni, contact the Office of Development and External Relations.

The library will supply brief biographical information on students enrolled (both graduates and non-graduates) at Harvard Divinity School through the academic year 1919-20 from the General Catalogue of the Divinity School of Harvard University, 1920 (Cambridge: Published by the University, 1920 [Ref. BV4070.H44 1920]). Henry Wilder Foote was the editor of the 1920 edition. The editions of 1898, 1901, 1905, and 1910 were edited by the Rev. Robert Swain Morison. The edition of 1915 was edited by the Rev. Edward Hale. Note: Because this work was not updated after 1920, information on those in classes closer to the 1919-20 academic year are often incomplete. See sample entries.

In addition, very brief information about graduates only through the class of 1929 is found in the 1930 edition of: Harvard University, Quinquennial Catalogue of the Officers and Graduates. See a sample entry.

For this information, contact a research librarian

Some of these students have entries in the important reference sources for American Biography and/or American Religious Biography.

Some of these Harvard Divinity School students have printed biographies and/or autobiographies. Browse HOLLIS Classic under subject with last name first for the author and title of books about them. If you are not a Harvard library patron, search your own catalog for these works about them. If the book is not available locally, consider an interlibrary loan request. 

If we do not find someone in a Harvard listing, we can look in the equivalents to our General Catalogue for those listed as attending Andover Theological Seminary (1808-1927), Meadville Theological School (1844-1944), Newton Theological Institution and Andover Newton Theological School (1826-1943), Pacific Unitarian (now Starr King) School for the Ministry (1904-1929), Princeton Theological Seminary (1815-1996), and Union Theological Seminary (New York, 1836-1970), and can direct your inquiry to those institutions.

Note: Andover-Harvard Library is not the repository for Harvard Divinity School student records and files. These are kept at the University Archives. Note their policies and contact information.