This is the "Home" page of the "Andover-Harvard Theological Library's Top 10 Tips" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Andover-Harvard Theological Library's Top 10 Tips  

The top 10 things every HDS student should know about the Harvard Library
Last Updated: Aug 25, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.harvard.edu/hds/top-10-tips Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search Guides: 
 
 

1. Andover-Harvard's Research Librarians

Get to know the research librarians at Andover-Harvard—Renata, Gloria, and Cliff. They can help you locate information, develop a research strategy, find relevant e-resources, books, and articles on any topic, and work on any research-related question, problem, or skill. Contact the research librarians at ask@hds.harvard.libanswers.com or research@hds.harvard.edu or 617.496.AHTL.

 

2. Course Reserve Readings

Course reserve readings are listed on the course website. Online readings are linked. If there is no link, bring the call number to the circulation desk on the first floor to borrow a copy.

 

3. HOLLIS+

HOLLIS+ (mobile version: http://m.harvard.edu/libraries/) is Harvard’s online catalog, a large database that brings together information about library materials that are housed in buildings across campus, stored at off-site locations, like the Harvard Depository, or provided to you in digital form. Sign in with your HUID to see licensed digital content, Get It options, and to access your account.

 

4. Religion Quick Search & ATLA Religion Database

To locate scholarly articles about any religious tradition or topic, we recommend starting with either Religion Quick Search or  ATLA Religion Database.

  • Religion Quick Search is a custom built search box on our library's web site (Find it on the Religion Quick Search tab of the search box on the home page). Religion Quick Search simultaneously searches several prominent religion search engines/article databases that cover journal literature in the fields of religion and theology.
  • ATLA Religion Database, one component of the Religion Quick Search, covers all religions and all theological points of view.  Search the ATLA Religion Database alone to use the “Scriptures” tool at the top of the screen.  This tool precisely locates academic articles about a specific biblical passage.
  • If you're accustomed to using JSTOR for religion research and wonder when it's best to use JSTOR and when it may be more appropriate to use ATLA Religion Database, find out more here.
 

5. Other Search Engines/Article Databases

Many other quality online resources (e-resources) for religion research can be accessed from the library’s website.  Such key e- resources include search engines/article databases to find articles, subject encyclopedias, language dictionaries, digital texts, dissertations, news media, images, sounds. Key e-resources are organized by topics that correspond to the MTS areas of focus plus ministry study and language courses. Key e- resources are also grouped by type (such as language dictionaries) and by title. The library website can also be used to access  All Harvard Databases.

 

6. LibX

LibX is a library toolbar extension for Firefox and Chrome that you can download. From your toolbar, it’s just as convenient to search HOLLIS+ or find Harvard Library e-resources with LibX as it is to do a Google search. Another great feature of Lib X is the right click option: if you find an article on the web and the publisher asks you to pay for it, LibX can save you money; use the use the right click option to reload the page to determine whether the Harvard Library already has an online subscription to the article that you can immediately access without payment.

 

7. "Find it @ Harvard"

When you there is no full text for a citation you find in a database, click on the Find it @ Harvard link to automatically locate electronic and print copies of the article. If you learn about a journal article in a printed source, use Journals to locate electronic and print copies of the article at Harvard.

 

8. Get It Services

There are three options to get books or documents delivered to you: HOLLIS+, Borrow Direct and Interlibrary Loan.

In HOLLIS+, click the Scan & Deliver link to request scans of portions of certain items from library collections currently on library shelves. Use the Request Item link to get eligible items delivered to a Harvard library of your choice. If a book is unavailable for any reason, use Borrow Direct to request a copy from another library. If you need something that Harvard doesn’t own, request it through Interlibrary Loan.

 

 

9. RefWorks

Use RefWorks to organize book and article references in one or more virtual folders. From these references, you’re able to produce instant bibliographies in a citation style of your choice and can format the footnotes (or in-text citations) of documents you write with Microsoft Word. For information about Harvard-supported citation tools, see  this page.

 

10. Chargers, Flash Drives, and other useful things

We have flash drives, iPhone, iPad and Android chargers, Apple laptop adapters, and earphones. You may borrow any device for up to 3 hours. Inquire at the circulation desk.

 

Contact Us

Cliff, Gloria, and Renata - Research Librarians at Andover-Harvard

Contact Andover-Harvard Research Librarians:

On our Ask a Librarian page

ask@hds.harvard.libanswers.com

Voice: 617.496.AHTL [2485]

Text: 617.858.6187

You can also visit the research librarians on the 2nd floor. Hours: Monday-Thursday, 8:30 am-9 pm; Friday, 8:30 am-6 pm (except University holidays) during term time.


Research librarians will work with you to:

• Locate information

• Develop a research strategy

• Find relevant e-resources, books, and articles on any topic

• Work on any research-related question, problem, or skill

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip