This is the "Home" page of the "The Harvard Theatre Collection: A Guide for Researchers" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

The Harvard Theatre Collection: A Guide for Researchers  

Last Updated: Jun 2, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.harvard.edu/htc Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search Guides: 
 
 

About The Harvard Theatre Collection

Formed in 1901, the Harvard Theatre Collection is the oldest collection of its kind in America and one of the largest in the world. A department of Houghton Library, It specializes in documentary material on the history of the performing arts. Its diverse holdings encompass all manner of performance with special emphasis on the stage, music and dance, and popular entertainment. The collection also comprises a significant number of organizational and personal papers as well as photographic archives which preserve the legacies of institutions, playwrights, actors, designers and choreographers. Formats of material include books, manuscripts, ephemera, realia, and audiovisual material. For a more detailed description, see the Theatre Collection website.

Because items in the Theatre Collection are rare or unique, additional rules are in place to ensure the security and preservation of the collection. Most notably, the colleciton is non-circulating and the stacks are closed to users. Instead, library staff retrieve material for use in the Houghton Library Reading Room.

 

Related Collections at Harvard

 

Questions?

Contact reference staff with questions or concerns by email or phone: 617-495-2440.

Instructors wishing to schedule a class session should consult Houghton Library's website.

 

Hours and Location

Houghton Library Reading Room hours and location.

Guide Author

Profile Image
Steve Kuehler
Contact Info
Research Services
Room 210, Lamont Library
Send Email

Guide Co-Author

Profile Image
Micah Hoggatt
Contact Info
Reference Librarian
Houghton Library
5-2440
Send Email
© 2010 President & Fellows Harvard University. All Rights Reserved.
Harvard Trademark Notice
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip