Introduction
For thousands more e-journals, journal indexes, full-text sources, e-books, statistics, news sources and more, please visit the Harvard E-Research site. This guide lists electronic resources which are made available to all of Harvard's libraries, in addition to linking to some free websites that can be helpful to get your research started. Your Harvard ID and PIN number is required for off-site access when an item is noted as [Harvard only].
Items that are noted as being for [Harvard Law only] generally require you to enter your HLS ME account credentials. For most, this is the same username and password combo as you use to get into your email. If that doesn't work, try using the same username and password combination you use to print in the law library.
Indexes for Journal Articles and Books
- American Society of International LawIndexes articles and other documents produced by the American Society of International Law, many from 1990-present.
- ABI Inform (Harvard Login)Summaries and citations from over 1000 academic management, marketing, and general business journals, with full text available for more than 500 of these publications
- CIAO - Columbia International Affairs OnlineBeginning in 1991, this database includes full-text of working papers, articles, policy briefs and other documents dealing with international affairs.
- Index to Foreign Legal PeriodicalsIndexes non-English language law reviews, yearbooks, festschrifts and some English language law reviews. Provides in-depth coverage of public and private international law, comparative and foreign law, and the law of all jurisdictions other than the United States, the U.K., Canada, and Australia. Coverage 1985-present.
- Index to Legal Periodicals and Books
This link opens in a new window
Also on Westlaw (ILP) and on Lexis, which are limited to Harvard Law students. Provides citations to articles in over 800 legal periodicals such as law reviews, bar association journals, yearbooks, institutes, and government publications from August 1981 to the present. Retrospective version's coverage is from 1908-1981.
- Index to Theses (1970-)Describes theses accepted for higher degrees by universities in Great Britain and Ireland and the Council for National Academic Awards from 1716 to date.
- Legal Journals Index
This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles from legal journals published in the United Kingdom and Europe as well as journals covering topics pertaining to the laws of the European Community and its Member States. Coverage is from 1986 to present.
- LegalTracIndexes law review articles from English language law reviews. Also available on Westlaw (LRI) and Lexis, where it's known as Legal Resource Index.
- Max Planck Institute, Index of Articles on Public International LawListing of books and articles on public international law.