Skip to main content

HLSL Visiting Scholar & Researcher Guide

This guide will give visiting researchers an overview of the resources and services available at the Harvard Law School Library.

Introduction

Welcome to the Harvard Law School Library

This guide will introduce you to the resources and services available to visiting scholars and researchers at the Harvard Law School Library.  

If you are interested in learning more about the process of applying to the Visiting Researcher and Visiting Scholar program, please consult the Visiting Scholar and Researcher (VS/VR) Program webpage

To learn more about gaining admission to the Harvard Law School Library, please visit the Admission to the Library webpage.

Popular Library Services

Useful Research Tools

Harvard provides a number of useful tools that can be helpful as you start your research.

HOLLIS - Harvard's Library Catalog

HOLLIS+ and HOLLIS Classic

HOLLIS, Harvard's library catalog includes records for millions of books, journals, manuscripts, government documents, maps, microforms, music scores, sound recordings, visual materials, and data files.

Search HOLLIS via  HOLLIS+ or HOLLIS Classic

HOLLIS +

  • also includes articles
  • more searchable tables of contents 
  • includes "My Research" tools for organizing results

HOLLIS Classic

  • powerful advanced searching
  • call number search
  • support for non-Roman characters

Finding Books & Articles

Online Resources

Online Databases

Westlaw, LexisNexis and Bloomberg Law

Visiting researchers who would like to request access to Westlaw, Lexis Advance and/or Bloomberg Law should contact the representatives directly. Contact information is on the Account & Policy pages for each database. 

For in-library access, we have a public terminals for WestlawNext and Bloomberg in the Reference Room on the 4th floor of the Library.

Other Law-Related Databases

The Library subscribes to a number of databases on topics related to the law and other related fields.  Most are available onsite. Offsite access may require either an HLS Me account or a Harvard Key log in. 

Additional Harvard Databases and E-Resources

Researchers interested in searching across all of Harvard University's e-resources can search a more thorough list of databases across a full range of academic disciplines. Most will be available for use onsite or offsite with a current Harvard Key.

Research Guides

Research Guides on Legal Topics

The Library maintains research guides on a wide range of legal topicsThese guides give research tips related to particular areas of the law and also provide links and citation information for a range of resources on each topic.

Library Services

Research Services

  Request a Consult with a Librarian

Researchers can request a one-on-one research consultation with a reference librarian to discuss specific areas of research or paper topics

  Sign Up for a Class  

The Library frequently offers research classes on a variety of topics throughout the semester.  Sign up via the Research Training Calendar

  Request Resources

Ask the library to purchase an item or request that an ordered/received item be rush processed

 

Other Law Library Services

Law Library Carrel Shelves:

Visiting researchers may also apply for a carrel shelf ;in the Library. If you are interested in a carrel shelf, you may submit an online application to request one. Space is limited, so some requests may not be able to be met.

Lockers

If a library carrel is not available, Visiting researchers may instead request access to a locker in the library.  To request a locker, contact Alethea Jones, Circulation and Patron Services Assistant. 

Other Harvard Libraries

Harvard University Library

Information about the other Harvard University Libraries, which specialize in a wide variety of academic disciplines. Please note that you will need to arrange access with each library individually.

Computers & Printing

Wifi Access

Use "Harvard Guest" or register for access to the "Harvard University" network.

Print Accounts

Set up a print account to use the Library's printers by visiting either the Library's Administration Suite (Areeda Floor 5 between 9am and 5pm) or the Circulation Desk.

Computers & Network Access

Library computers, laptop printing and other information about computers at the Library

Photocopiers & Scanners

Multifunction Copier/PrinterScanners are located throughout the Library. Dedicated Scanners are located on the 2d and 4th floors.Scanning is free. 

Crimson Cash 

Visiting researchers can get Crimson Cash cards from the Library's Circulation Desk. Affiliates may add cash value to their card and use it for photocopies and to make purchases at various restaurants and stores on and off campus.  

Getting Help

Contact Us!

Ask Us! Submit a question or search the knowledge base.

Call Reference Desk, 617-495-4516

Text Ask a Librarian, 617-702-2728

Email research@law.harvard.edu

Meet Consult a Librarian

Classes View Training Calendar or Request an Insta-Class

Visit Us Library and Reference Hours