Research Guides: Property Basics: Property Overview

Property Overview

Property: Summaries and Explanations

Get started with these books aimed at law school students.

Wolters Kluwer Study Aid Library: Property (Harvard Law login)
Contains electronic textbooks, ebooks, supplements, and reference materials for law school students. Material includes popular series such as Examples & Explanations, Emanuel Law, CrunchTime, CaseNote Legal Briefs, Glannon’s Guides, and more
Acing Property by Colleen Medill
Call Number: Law School KF560 .M43 2012
ISBN: 9780314280954
Publication Date: 2012
Property by Joseph William Singer; Nestor M. Davidson
Call Number: KF570.Z9 S56 2022
ISBN: 9781543839258
Publication Date: 2022
Understanding Property Law by John G. Sprankling
Call Number: Law School KF561 .S67 2012
ISBN: 9781522105572
Publication Date: 2017
Moynihan's Introduction to the Law of Real Property by Sheldon Kurtz
Call Number: Law School KF570 .M6 2011
ISBN: 9781636591865
Publication Date: 2022
Property by D. Barlow Burke; Joseph A. Snoe
Call Number: Law School Reserve KF560 .B87 2019
ISBN: 9781454891536
Publication Date: 2019
Real Property in a Nutshell, 6th edition by Roger H. Bernhardt
Call Number: Law School KF579 .B47x 2010
ISBN: 0314261877
Publication Date: 2010
West Nutshell Series

Study Tools

Audio CaseFiles

Download recordings of cases commonly read in first and second year courses.

Audiocasefiles on Property
LexisNexis Courtroom Cast Sign Up
Harvard Law School access only. First time users: please register with your HLS email address
Audiocasefiles by Property Casebook

CALI

Test your knowledge!

CALI provides access to an extensive collection of interactive, computer-based lessons designed to augment traditional law school instruction. Use the lessons to supplement your studies and to review specific concepts.

CALI Lessons by Casebook
CALI Lessons on Property
CALI Authorization Code & Registration
Harvard Law School access only. First time users: please register using the HLSL CALI Authorization code.

[LII] WEX

Wex is a free legal dictionary and encyclopedia sponsored and hosted by the Legal Information Institute at the Cornell Law School. Wex entries contain a definition, subject overview and useful links. All entries are collaboratively created and professionally reviewed.

Real Property Overview ([LII] Wex)

Property in Depth

Go deeper with these leading works on property or search the HOLLIS catalog for more sources.

American Law of Property by A. James Casner
Call Number: KF561 .A43x 1952
ISBN: 0316130907
Publication Date: 1952-01-01
American Law of Real Property by Richard R. Powell
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Law School KF570 .P57
Publication Date: 1949-
Also available via Lexis Advance.
Browse Sources for Powell on Real Property
Thompson on Real Property by A. David Thomas (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Law School KF570 .T46x 1998
ISBN: 032700147X
Publication Date: 1998-08-01
Also available on Lexis Advance. Browse sources for Thompson on Real Property.
The Law of Real Property by Herbert Thorndike Tiffany
Call Number: Law School KF570 .T54 1939
Publication Date: 1939-
Also available via Westlaw
Restatement of the law second, property 2d, landlord and tenant by St. Paul, Minn. : American Law Institute Publishers,
Call Number: KF590 .A84 1977
Publication Date: 1979-
Available in print and on Westlaw, Lexis and Hein Online
Restatement of the Law Third, Property--Mortgages by American Law Institute Staff
Call Number: Law School KF695 .R49 1997
ISBN: 0314226265
Publication Date: 1997-09-01
Also available via Westlaw, Lexis and Hein Online
Restatement of the Law of Property, 3d., Wills and Donative Transfers by American Law Institute
Call Number: Law School KF613 .R479x 1999
ISBN: 0314239375
Publication Date: 1999-
Also available via Lexis, Westlaw and Hein Online
The Law of Real Property, 3d edition by Herbert Albert Tiffany
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Law School KF570 .T54 1939
Publication Date: 1939-
Also available on WestlawNext as Tiffany on Real Property. Click on the Westlaw icon for access.

Go Deeper

Find Articles

Search these databases to find articles on contract law topics.

WestlawNext Journals & Law Reviews (Westlaw Login)

Business Source Complete (Harvard Login)
Over 1,200 business and academic journals and trade publications
The EBSCOhost Interface is optimized for searching articles. The Business Searching Interface facilitates searching other types of documents as well as articles. Business Source Complete is a database of citations to, summaries and full text of articles from academic journals, magazines, and trade publications. Citations, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included as well as current company, industry and region reports.
ABI Inform (Harvard Login)
Over 1,000 business and academic journals
Return to Harvard Libraries

Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
New scholarship, including working papers and accepted articles. Harvard community members should use this link for access to current awareness tools. Also available for free at www.ssrn.com

Metalib+
MetaLib+ searches millions of articles, e-books and digital collections, in all disciplines. It does not search HOLLIS or HOLLIS Classic. Harvard ID and PIN required.
http://nrs.harvard.edu/urn-3:hul.eresource:hollisds

Hein Online Law Journal Library (Harvard Login)
More than 1,700 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-current issues available.