Getting Started
Getting Started
This guide is meant to help you find laws and information on issues related to international finance; the goal is to provide useful (but not exhaustive) resources. You may also find the sources in the Regulation of Financial Institutions guide helpful.
Research requires analysis and synthesis of information, and no one resource will likely provide sufficient information or data on any given topic.
While conducting your research, you may want to explore:
-
Industry information for external data informing international finance
-
International organizations focusing on issues of international finance
-
Practice and study aids, i.e., treatises
-
News sources, including blogs
- Practical and scholarly articles
- Financial markets data
For many of these databases, you will need your Harvard University ID and PIN. For others, you may need to register to gain access. If you have any trouble accessing a database, please contact the library.
International Organizations
International Finance Organizations
- Bank for International Settlementsthe Bank for International Settlements (BIS) is the world's oldest international financial organisation. The BIS has 60 member central banks, representing countries from around the world that together make up about 95% of world GDP.
- Institute of International BankersThe IIB's mission is to ensure that federal and state banking laws and regulations provide international banks operating in the United States with the same competitive opportunities as domestic banking organizations.
- Institute of International Banking Law & Practice (IIBLP)The Institute of International Banking Law & Practice is a not-for-profit educational and research organization dedicated to the harmonization of letter of credit law and practice.
- International Monetary Fund (IMF)The IMF's primary purpose is to ensure the stability of the international monetary system—the system of exchange rates and international payments that enables countries (and their citizens) to transact with each other.
- International Organization of Securities Commissions (IOSCO)The International Organization of Securities Commissions (IOSCO) is the international body that brings together the world's securities regulators and is recognized as the global standard setter for the securities sector. IOSCO develops, implements and promotes adherence to internationally recognized standards for securities regulation. It works intensively with the G20 and the Financial Stability Board (FSB) on the global regulatory reform agenda.
- Organisation for Economic Co-operation & Development (OECD)The mission of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) is to promote policies that will improve the economic and social well-being of people around the world.
- BERA - Business and Economics Research AdvisorThis curated list of electronic resources on Globalization comes from the business experts at the Library of Congress.
Practice Materials & Study Aids
Practice & Study Aids
- Getting the Deal Through (Lexology)The Getting the Deal Through (GTDT) module of Lexology lets you quickly compare laws across different countries and includes many Topics relating to Banking and Finance.
- International financial system : policy and regulationFind this book in the Library at call number K4430 .B83 2008. Look around the shelf at this location to find related books.
- Lexis Advance - Cross-Border Banking and Finance Guides
This link opens in a new window
Current Awareness
News Sources
- Law360 - Banking
This link opens in a new window
- Hedge Fund Law Report
- This link opens in a new window
The Hedge Fund Law Report is the definitive source of actionable intelligence on hedge fund law and regulation. Each week, the Report brings you incisive analysis of key developments on topics including rulemaking, compliance, case law, regulation, enforcement, taxation, derivatives, marketing, best practices and more.
Blogs & Think Tanks
Journals & Articles
Journal Research
- Social Science Research Network (SSRN)New scholarship including working papers in law and economics.
- Banking Law Journal
This link opens in a new window
- Journal of International Banking Law & Regulation
- This link opens in a new window
- Law Journal Library (HeinOnline)Access via HarvardKey.
Full-text, page image access to law reviews and journals. Coverage begins with a journal’s first volume but does not usually include its most recent issues. Use the HeinOnline ScholarCheck citator to locate bar journals and law reviews that cite an article.
Industry Research
Industry Associations
You can identify industry specific associations using the Encyclopedia of Associations. You can also search Google for the industry and using the site:.org limiter. [example search: international finance site:.org]
Visit an industry association's website to read more about the organization, its members, and its mission. Many organizations support a trade publication, publish industry research and statistics, and follow current events related to its members.
To research equity analyst reports, you may need to visit the Harvard Business School library or use the Bloomberg Terminal on the 3rd floor of Langdell Hall. Please email research@law.harvard.edu for additional information.
Databases
Below are some subscription databases for industry and market research:
- ALM Intelligence's Legal CompassLegal Compass is an online tool for professionals looking for in-depth information of the Legal Industry. This tool contains detailed information on law firms, individual lawyers, in-house counsel, surveys, research, rankings and more. Access is limited to the HLS community. Remote access requires an HLS Account username and password.
- BCC ResearchProvides market research reports, technical publications, and industry analysis on major economic, scientific, and technological developments in industrial, pharmaceutical, and high technology.
- Business Source CompleteProvides access to financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
- Economist Intelligence UnitA suite of global research and advisory services covering over 200 markets, including country analysis and forecasts, risk assessments, economic and market data, daily news analysis, industry trends and management strategies.
- EMIS IntelligenceMultilingual collection of news and information sources about the emerging markets of selected countries in Latin America, Europe, Asia, the Middle East, and North Africa. Includes full-text primary news sources, financial data, statistics, and legal information.
- IBIS WorldIBISWorld is the United States' most comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings
- Mintel ReportsOffers research reports covering European, UK-specific, and US consumer markets. The reports analyse market drivers, sizes and trends, market segmentation, along with consumer attitudes and purchasing habits. The reports are supplemented by brief digests of relevant recent events, UK and US demographic and economic statistics and useful lists.
- Passport from Euromonitor InternationalPassport is Euromonitor International's global market analysis software platform. It analyzes industries in countries around the world, identifying industry trends and providing strategic analysis, market size, and market share data for products across all key countries.
Additional Resources
- "Fast Answers" from Harvard Business School's Baker Library:
- Q: Where can I find an overview or analysis of an industry?
- Q: What are the top resources for industry analysis?
- Q: What resources will help me analyze an industry over time?
- Q: Where can I find statistical sources for industry and country research?
- Q: What are the best sources for trade publications?
- Q: Where can I find market share information for companies, brands, etc.?
Financial Data
Statistics & Data
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.
- Data.govThe US government's open data project.
- Statistical Abstract of the United StatesThe Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations.
- StatistaStatista Inc. is one of the leading statistics companies on the internet. With a team of over 80 statisticians, database experts, analysts, and editors, Statista provides users with an innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information.
- World Bank DataFree and open access to data about development in countries around the globe.
Sources of Data
In addition to using the Bloomberg Law, Westlaw, and Lexis's Intelligize research platforms, there are a variety of other databases for corporate, and finance-related data. For more information, check out:
- The Library's Research Guide on Statistical and Data-Related Resources (section on "Business, Corporate, Finance, and Market Data")
- Harvard Business School's Baker Library also has a lot of resources you may have access to (check with a Librarian for details). Check out:
- Baker Library Databases
- Baker Library's collection of Fast Answers (a FAQ)
Also check out the information and links below.
- Bloomberg TerminalA Bloomberg Terminal, providing hard financial data, is located in the Research Room (Room #353, located near the Reference Area on the 3rd floor of the Library). Please note you will need to create a separate Bloomberg Terminal account using your HLS email.
- Capital IQData on public and private companies, investment firms, capital transactions, and people. Provides sophisticated retrieval and personalization tools to create numerous reports.
- Global Financial Data (GFD)A comprehensive economic and financial time-series database covering 150 countries and 6,500 different data series. GFD includes data on stock markets from 1690, exchange rates from 1590, interest rates from 1700, commodities from 1500, and inflation from 1264. If you don't want to create an account, you can log in anonymously for more limited data access.
- OrbisA global company database that provides extensive data about a company. ORBIS allows you to screen for companies based on geography, financial performance, industry, deals, ownership structure, number of employees, year of incorporation and other criteria; and compare a company to its competitors along multiple dimensions.
- SharkWatch (formerly SharkRepellent)Searchable database of takeover defense intelligence, including more than 200 charter bylaw and poison pill data items covering US publicly traded companies. SharkRepellent is available through the FactSet research platform. Refer to the box below for information on creating a FactSet account.
The FactSet research platform contains a lot of data, including SharkWatch (described above). To access FactSet, you need an individual account. You can create an account by following instructions provided by the Harvard Business School's Baker Library. NOTE: HLS affiliates should follow the instructions for web access (not the FactSet Workstation).
- Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)WRDS provides access to key databases in the fields of accounting, banking, economics, finance, management, marketing and public policy from leading information providers, including, among others, COMPUSTAT and CRSP. Must register for an individual account to access WRDS data. Click on the "Register" tab at the top to request an account.
Getting Help
Contact Us!
Ask Us! Submit a question or search our knowledge base.
Chat with us! Chat with a librarian (HLS only)
Email: research@law.harvard.edu
Contact Historical & Special Collections at specialc@law.harvard.edu
Meet with Us Schedule an online consult with a Librarian
Hours Library Hours
Classes View Training Calendar or Request an Insta-Class