This is the "National History Day 2013-2014: Rights and Responsibilities in History" page of the "National History Day 2013-2014: Rights and Responsibilities in History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Research Guides Home Visit the Library Reference and Research Services Ask a Schlesinger Librarian Image Map

National History Day 2013-2014: Rights and Responsibilities in History  

A research guide on resources available online related the theme of Rights and Responsibilities.
Last Updated: Oct 10, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.harvard.edu/schlesinger_national_history_day Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
National History Day 2013-2014: Rights and Responsibilities in History Print Page
  Search Guides: 
 

Table of Contents

Welcome to the Schlesinger Library's research guide on National History Day 2013-2014! Below you will find resources available online related to several topics under the theme of Rights and Responsibilities. To view the items for a specific topic, simply click on the corresponding link below or scroll down the page.

If you have any questions or would like further suggestions, please Ask A Schlesinger Librarian.

 

Women's Suffrage Movement: United States

Cover Art
Jailed for Freedom: American Women Win the Vote, Doris Stevens (1920).
Click on the image for more information and to read the full-text.

Cover Art
Twenty-five answers to Antis: Five Minute Speeches on Votes for Women by Eminent Suffragists
Click on the image to view the full-text of the pamphlet from Charlotte Perkins Gilman's papers.

Cover Art
Catherine Waugh McCulloch
Several items from Catherine Waugh McCulloch's papers have been digitized and can be viewed by clicking on the image.

Cover Art
Ellen Dwight Eaton
Ellen Dwight Eaton was a first cousin once removed of Elizabeth Cady Stanton, suffragist and women's rights activist. Eaton's collection has been digitized and can be viewed by clicking on the image.

Cover Art
Equality (women's suffrage periodical)
Click on the image for more information and to read full-text through Flickr Commons.

Cover Art
Poster Collection (Gr-15, 1911-2004)
Click on the image to view the Poster Collection which consists of over 250 posters, mostly in English, about women and women's issues including suffrage.

Cover Art
Suffrage Collection
Pamphlets, certificates, clipping, etc., re: women's suffrage. The collection has been digitized and can be viewed by clicking on the image.

Cover Art
Susan B. Anthony Papers (1815-1961, call no. A-143)
Click on the image for more information. Full-text of all materials in this collection are linked to the finding aid. Look for the blue "see digital image" links.

Cover Art
Trial of Susan B. Anthony, on the charge of illegal voting.
Click on the image for more information and to read the full-text.

Cover Art
Enfranchised Cookery
Click on the image to view the full-text of the pamphlet in Flickr Commons.

Cover Art
For Better Baking
Click on the image to view the full-text of the pamphlet in Flickr Commons.

 

Slavery Abolition Movement: United States


Cover Art
Eliza Lee Cabot Follen Papers
This collection has been digitized and can be viewed by clicking on the image.

Cover Art
Letters to Catherine E. Beecher : in reply to An essay on slavery and abolitionism (1838).
Click on the image to view full-text of the book through Google Books.

Cover Art
Maria Weston Chapman Papers
This collection has been digitized and can be viewed by clicking on the image.

Cover Art
Suffragists Oral History Project
Tape-recorded and transcribed oral histories preserved the memories of these remarkable women, documenting formative experiences and their activities to win the right to vote for women.


 

The National Organization for Women and the Struggle for the Equal Rights Amendment

Cover Art
Boston N.O.W. Records
Click on the image to view the finding aid. Memorabilia (series VII) and audio materials (series VIII) available online. To see the full finding aid for the collection, click here

Cover Art
Politics of the equal rights amendment audiotape collection, 1974
Click on the image to view the webpage with links to the audio files. To see the entire finding aid for the collection, click
here

Cover Art
Suffragists Oral History Project
Oral history project with transcripts from interviews. Of particular interest is Alice Paul, founder and leader of the more militant organization called the National Woman's Party, which made suffrage a mainstream issue through public demonstrations and protests.

 

Emmeline Pankhurst and the Fight for Women's Suffrage in England

Cover Art
One of two images of Emmeline Pankurst (ca. 1909-1910)
Click on the image to enlarge and view more information.


Cover Art
A woman, likely Emmeline Pankhurst, in jail after a suffrage protest.
Click on the image to enlarge and view more information.

Cover Art
My Own Story by Emmeline Pankhurst (1914).
Click on the image to view full-text of the book through Project Gutenberg.


Cover Art
Posters (Gr-1, 1903-1926)
58 different posters of the women's suffrage movement collected by Alice Park. Most are British, 2 are from the international congresses she attended, and 11 are American. Click on the image to view the posters.

Cover Art
English suffrage postcards.
Click on the image to enlarge, view related images and find more information.


 

Reproductive Rights

Cover Art
Abortion and its treatment : from the standpoint of practical experience by T. Gaillard Thomas (1896).
Click on the image to view full-text of the book through Google Books.


Cover Art
Pioneers of birth control in England and America by Victor Robinson (1919).
Click on the image to view full-text in the Internet Archive.

Cover Art
The Birth Control Review, edited by Margaret Sanger
Click on the image to view full-text of volumes 1-3 through Google Books.


Cover Art
The Sex Side of Life, Mary Ware Dennett (1919)
Click on the image to view full-text of the book through Google Books.

Cover Art
National Organization for Women (NOW) v. Scheidler
Click on the image to view the pleadings and trial transcripts of this case.

Cover Art
Portrait of Mary Ware Dennett (1930)
Click on the image to enlarge and view more information.

Cover Art
Small or large families : birth control from the moral, racial and eugenic standpoint
Click on the image to view full-text of the book through Google Books.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip