Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals

This tutorial walks through the Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals. The Avery Index contains articles whose publication dates range from the late 1800s all the way through last month, and it is a great tool for finding design journal articles. Click here to visit the Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals.

Building Types Online

This tutorial explains how to access and conduct research using Building Types Online. Building Types Online is a database that includes over 3500 vector-based plans and 120 thematic articles on 850 international case studies of projects published in 12 Birkhauser publications. Click here to log into Building Types Online using HarvardKey.

Canvas: Adding Files

This video walks through the steps of adding files to a Canvas course as of Fall 2020.

Canvas: Adding a TA or Guest

This video provides step by step instruction about adding guests and TAs to courses in Canvas as of Fall 2020.

Canvas: Creating a Syllabus

This video shows how to create a syllabus in Canvas as of Fall 2020.

EBSCO Cross Database Search

This tutorial focuses on using EBSCO to search across multiple databases. EBSCO is a vendor who provides a number of specialized and multi-disciplinary databases in an interface that supports a number of search options, including the ability to search across several databases at once. This is a great tool for interdisciplinary research. Click here to visit EBSCO.

HOLLIS: How to Find GSD Theses

This tutorial explains how to use Frances Loeb Library research guides to find GSD theses in HOLLIS. Click here to visit the GSD Theses Research Guide.

HOLLIS for Archival Discovery: Searching (Part One)

In this video we show you have to navigate HOLLIS for Archival Discovery, and provide some baseline information for you to become familiar with searching archival collections from the Frances Loeb Library. Part one brings you through the home page of HOLLIS for Archival Discovery, and shows you how to navigate the repository list and search within a repository. Part two begins at the Collection Overview page within a finding aid, and shows you how to find specific digital material within a collection. Click here to visit HOLLIS for Archival Discovery.

HOLLIS for Archival Discovery: Searching (Part Two)

In this video we show you have to navigate HOLLIS for Archival Discovery, and provide some baseline information for you to become familiar with searching archival collections from the Frances Loeb Library. Part one brings you through the home page of HOLLIS for Archival Discovery, and shows you how to navigate the repository list and search within a repository. Part two begins at the Collection Overview page within a finding aid, and shows you how to find specific digital material within a collection. Click here to visit HOLLIS for Archival Discovery.

HOLLIS Images: An Introduction

In this video, we show you how to navigate to HOLLIS Images, Harvard Library's image catalog, from the Frances Loeb Library homepage and some baseline to get you started in the right direction to begin searching for digital images. Click here to visit HOLLIS Images.

HOLLIS Images: How to Download Images

In this video we show you how to navigate from search results to image download in HOLLIS Images, Harvard Library’s image catalog. Click here to visit HOLLIS Images.

Lean Library

This tutorial is an introduction to the Lean Library browser extension. Lean Library allows you to link quickly from content found on the web to access via the Harvard Library catalog, e-journals, and e-resources. Click here to learn more about Lean Library.

Material Order SEARCH: An Introduction

Material Order SEARCH is the collaborative online materials catalog that currently searches the materials collections of the Harvard Graduate School of Design and the Rhode Island School of Design (RISD). This video provides an introduction to Material Order SEARCH, and shows viewers how to conduct a basic search and understand search results. For more information about filtering search results in Material Order Search, please watch our video "Material Order SEARCH: Filtering Results." Click here to visit Material Order SEARCH.

Material Order SEARCH: Advanced Searching with Filters

Material Order SEARCH is the collaborative online materials catalog that currently searches the materials collections of the Harvard Graduate School of Design and the Rhode Island School of Design (RISD). This video provides information about conducting more specific, advanced searches using filters. For an introduction to Material Order SEARCH, please watch our video "Material Order SEARCH: Introduction." Click here to visit Material Order SEARCH.

Scan and Deliver

This tutorial shows how to use Scan and Deliver to access Harvard library resources that are not available online. Click here to learn more about Scan and Deliver,

Web of Science

This video walks through the Web of Science Citation Index, a tool that can help researchers find journal articles and use citation information to discover other related articles. Click here to visit the Web of Science.