Getting Started

HOLLIS is the Harvard Library online catalog and discovery system. It's a good place to look for books, and to "fish" for a paper topic, but it's not the best place to find articles. To do the best searching for good scholarly articles, use the links in the Articles: Finding the Good Stuff box below.

Oxford Bibliographies Online provides authoritative guides to the current scholarship on a subject, containing original commentary and annotations.

CQ Researcher is known for in-depth coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy. 

Articles: Finding the Good Stuff

Since information in books is not as current as what you’ll get in many articles, use these databases to find the up-to-date scholarly articles Professors Bhabha and Elkins want you to use for your research in FS43C:

History, Law & Politics


Regional & Cultural Studies

News

Key Resources for Human Rights Research

Here are several resources many folks don't know about, but they can be incredibly useful for research into human rights:

Where to Find Data and Statistics

Inter-Governmental Data Resources: a guide created by Diane Sredl, Data Reference Librarian, with links to statistical sources including the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), the United Nations, and the World Bank.

ProQuest Statistical Insight: indexes and abstracts statistical content in international inter-governmental sources. Some full-text is available electronically.

Research Time Savers and Avoiding Plagiarism

Check Harvard Library BookmarkInstall this app to unlock online content purchased by the Harvard Library.

Research Management and Citation Tools at Harvard: help you organize your research and keep track of your references. They also make it easy to add citations into the documents you're working on and automatically generate bibliographies in pretty much any style.

Harvard Guide to Using Sources: an introduction to using sources in academic papers, this guide includes the chapter, Avoiding Plagiarism

Need Help?