Other Research Guides
The Library Research Guide: History of Science: Introduction has more information that might be useful in researching and writing about your topic.
The Library Research Guide: History of Science contains more in depth information about sources in the history of science, technology, and medicine.
These databases should be especially useful for this course:
- PUBMED with Full Text: full text articles on life sciences and biomedical topics
- Web of Science: indexes major journals in the sciences; you can also search this database for articles that cite a known author or work
- History of Science, Technology, and Medicine: includes books, book chapters, and journal articles
- Google Scholar: easy search interface, but not as comprehensive as PubMed or Web of Science
Use HOLLIS to Find Books & Articles
HOLLIS searches for books and articles in a single search. For best results, sign in to HOLLIS using your Harvard Key as soon as you enter the resource (sign in is in the upper right-hand corner of the screen; if you sign in, you'll get more full-text).
Other Helpful Information
The Countway Library of Medicine at the Harvard Medical School
Harvard supports two citation tools, EndNote & Zotero, that can help you organize your research and keep track of your references: Research Management and Citation Tools at Harvard page.
Find an Article by Title or Citation: put in bits of information from a citation and get the full text of the article
Need materials not on campus? Interlibrary Loan and Borrow Direct are services for getting materials outside of Harvard. Use the Request link in HOLLIS to get scans of articles and book chapters (aka the Scan & Deliver service).