Where to Start

Start with HOLLIS:

HOLLIS: search for books, articles, media, and more in once search. Be sure to SIGN IN with your Harvard Key (upper right-hand corner) -- you'll get more full text if you do!

Avoiding Plagiarism

Before you get too deeply into your research, take a look at the Harvard Guide to Using Sources: it describes how to use sources appropriately in academic papers and includes the chapter, Avoiding Plagiarism.

Selected eBooks and Films

Here's a short selection of online books and streaming films pertinent to this course, available from HOLLIS:

Color of justice / film, directed by Bill Buckley

Film noir, American workers, and postwar Hollywood / Dennis Broe

Land Use and Society: Geography, Law, and Public Policy / Rutherford H. Platt

Legal Perspectives on Corporate Social Responsibility: Lessons from the United States and Korea / Jeehye You

The preferential option for the poor beyond theology / edited by Daniel G. Groody and Gustavo Gutiérrez

Reimagining To Kill a Mockingbird: family, community, and the possibility of equal justice under law / edited by Austin Sarat and Martha Merrill Umphrey

River people: behind the case of David Sohappy / film, directed by Michal Conford & Michele Zaccheo

Speaking freely: Whitney v. California and American speech law / Philippa Strum

Finding Images

AP Images Collection: a database of 700,000+ Associated Press photographs from the 1840s to the present. Images can be downloaded for later use.

Google Images:  a Google search service that lets researchers search for and locate image content on the web

HOLLIS Images: a catalog of images owned at Harvard

Finding Scholarly Articles

To get more scholarly material, go into these article databases:

Law Indexes

Hein Online: a searchable digital collection of legal materials including law journals, the Code of Federal Regulations, case law, international law reports, and much more

LexisNexis Academic: accesses thousands of news, business, and legal information sources, including newspapers, newsletters, magazines, trade journals, wire services, and broadcast transcripts

LegalTrac: indexes 1000+ legal periodicals, including academic law journals, bar association publications, and legal newspapers, along with law-related articles from business and general interest titles

Criminal Justice Abstracts: covers U.S. and international criminal justice and criminology literature including scholarly journals, books, dissertations, and more

Film Indexes

American Film Scripts Online: American film scripts, produced or written in the 20th century, ca. 1900-2001

FIAF Index to Film Periodicals Plus:  in-depth coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text: indexes over 300 journals with full text for 100

Film Index International: covers films from 170 countries with information on about 100,000 films

Film Literature Index (1976-2001): indexes nearly 800 film journals from 30 countries between 1976 and 2001

Media History Digital Library: online access to the histories of cinema, broadcasting & sound

Social Science Indexes

PAIS International: indexes the public and social policy literature of public administration, political science, economics, finance, international relations, law, and health care

PsycINFO: indexes professional and academic journals in psychology

Sociological Abstracts: indexes over 1800 scholarly journals, dissertations, and books in sociological studies

Indexes Good for Many Subjects

Ethnic NewsWatch: an interdisciplinary bilingual (English and Spanish), comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press

Google Scholar: use this Harvard-proxied link to get free, full text, scholarly articles

JSTOR: digitized back issues of several hundred well-known journals, dating back as far as 1665

MasterFILE Premier: full text for about 2,000 journals in a host of subjects

Online Reference Resources

American History in Video: 2,000 hours of newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and documentaries from Universal Newsreel, The History Channel, A&E Network, and Longines Chronoscope, from 1940-1990

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology: clear, concise, expert definitions and explanations of key social concepts

Dissertations and Theses Full Text: dissertations from North American graduate schools and some European universities; full text for most dissertations from 1990 - present; the file covers 1861 to the present

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (Second Edition): covers knowledge across the behavioral and social sciences; entries discuss history, current trends and future directions

World History in Video: streaming video of over 1,750 documentaries surveying aspects of human history from the earliest civilizations to the fall of the Berlin Wall

Online Tools to Expedite Scholarly Research

Chicago Manual of Style: the searchable online version of this standard style manual for bibliographies and end- or footnotes

Citation Linker: an online form for finding e-journal articles using pieces of a bibliographic citation; it links you to the electronic full text of a journal article or to the HOLLIS record showing which Harvard libraries own it

Get It: Interlibrary Loan, Borrow Direct, and Scan & Deliver services for locating and requesting material at Harvard Library and beyond

Research Management and Citation Tools at Harvard: reference management software packages (EndNote and Zotero) and how to use them at Harvard

Widener Call Number Locations Chart: use this to find any book in Widener

Need Help?