Harvard Alumni/ae are eligible to receive a free-of-charge Stacks Access Card (from the Widener Library Privileges Office), valid at FAS libraries for a 12-month period from the date of issue, or you may purchase a Special Borrowers Card according to these fees:
And if you'd like to bring family / friends into the FAS libraries after Commencement, both these options let grads bring up to 4 guests at a time into the college libraries.
Contact the Library Privileges Office at 617-495-4166 or firstname.lastname@example.org or visit them on the 1st floor of Widener during business hours.
All the electronic resources licensed for FAS are available to alums on-site in Harvard's libraries via library computers (but not via personal laptops or devices) for the purposes of research, teaching, and private study.
License agreements and copyright laws prevent the Library from offering complete access to our online library to alumni/ae. There is a large and growing body of literature, however, that is available to all, thanks to library digitization projects, the Open Access movement, and a variety of other efforts. Here are links to some of the best:
DASH: Harvard's open access repository for research by Harvard community members. DASH includes scholarly articles and some theses and dissertations.
Digital Public Library of America: Online books, maps, photos, and much more from libraries, archives, and museums, freely available to all.
Directory of Open Access Journals: An index and search engine that provides direct links to journals and journal articles that are open to all.
ERIC: A wide variety of journal and non-journal literature in the field of education. Note: Not all material is available in full text.
Hathi Trust: A collaboration of the large libraries that provided their collections to the Google Books Project, this site is a repository of those books and others produced through local digitization projects. Material that is out of copyright (generally, that published before 1923) is open to all. Note: Not all titles are available in full text. The HathiTrust institutional login that permits downloading PDFs for offline use is not currently working for Alumni/ae. We are investigating potential solutions.
Internet Archive: Digitized books, journals, audio, video, and more, all free. In addition to contemporary texts, includes a wealth of digitized historical material.
Project Gutenberg: Over 49,000 free books available in a variety of downloadable formats.
PubMed Central (PMC):Repository of articles produced with the support of NIH research grants and made publically available within 12 months of publication. Note: Not all titles and articles are available in full text.
WorldCat from OCLC: this is the publicly-available version of WorldCat, the world's largest library catalog. Use it to locate books in a library near you.
Some databases provide links to sign in, even when you have already logged in through HarvardKey: Some databases offer the ability to create and sign in to a personal account. This sign in is not required to use Licensed Electronic Resources. Once you have logged in to HarvardKey, you can start your research.
Purple Find it@Harvard Buttons do not work correctly: Please use the Full text links directly within the site. Affected sites: Cambridge Companions Online, Cambridge Histories Online, Oxford Art Online, Oxford Music Online. We are investigating potential solutions.
HathiTrust PDF downloads are unavailable: The HathiTrust institutional login that permits downloading PDFs for offline use is not currently working for Alumni/ae. We are investigating potential solutions. You may still view full text online when available.
HarvardKey does not work for library access, or borrowing and renewing books: Alumni/ae with an Alumni/ae Special Borrower Card must continue to use that card to access the library and borrow books. You must also use the card number and PIN to sign in to HOLLIS+ when renewing books. We are investigating potential solutions. Learn more about Library access and borrowing privileges.
Links to Electronic Resources from HOLLIS+, search engines, and elsewhere will not work for Alumni/ae: You must access the Licensed Electronic Resources using the links on this website. Please bookmark this page for easy access.
To access Electronic Resources remotely:
Full-text articles from over 7,000 journals and 600 e-books are available to alumni/ae at this time. These currently include:
To learn how to search the new HOLLIS system expertly (and quickly) take a look at this HOLLIS Quick Tips guide. (Note: under "Sign in," you will not be able to "See restricted articles if you're not on a library computer" through HOLLIS; you have to go through the Electronic Resources Licensed for Alumni/ae remote use to get full-text articles.)
If you have thoughts about the new system or encounter any problems, please use the Let Us Know What You Think feedback form and share your thoughts -- the system continues to evolve and we need your feedback.
For Individual Library Alumni/ae Privileges and for Archives & Special Collections access, please see this Visiting & Borrowing section on the How to Use the Harvard Library as an Alum page.
Get in touch with an individual librarian via the library liaisons page.
Use our Ask a Librarian service [we usually respond to questions within 24 hours (M-F)].
E-mail Steven Beardsley, Associate Director for Access Services Administrative Operations and Special Projects (email@example.com).