Using Published Video in Online Courses

Alexander Street: Follow this link to search across all twenty-one of Harvard's video databases from this vendor.
American History in Video: Newsreels, interviews, and documentaries spanning the history of Europeans in North America
ArtFilms Digital: Documentaries about the arts, as well as concert and performance films.
BBC Drama: A selection of classic and modern dramas, from Sophocles' Theban plays to Michael Frayn's Copenhagen
Black Studies in Video: A portfolio of documentaries, interviews, and archival footage surveying the Black experience
Bloomsbury Video Broad collection of documentaries, short films, filmed dance, opera, and more
Broadway HD: Broadway musicals, comedies, and dramas
Classical Performance in Video: Mostly live performances, but some interviews and documentaries as well
Dance in Video: Productions of all types of dance, plus some documentaries
Digital Theatre Plus: Filmed productions, interviews and workshops, and theory and criticism
Digitalia Film Library: Collection of documentaries and feature films; strong on Latin American content
Docuseek2: Almost 1,800 issues-based documentary films
Electronic Arts Intermix: Videos by some of the major avant garde artists of the 20th & 21st centuries
Ethnographic Video Online: Ethnographic films, documentaries, feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork
EVIA Digital Archive: Ethnographic video collection with strong metadata
Filmakers Library Online: Wide range of documentary films
Harmatheque.com: More than 1,000 French-language documentaries and theatre pieces
Harvard Judaica Documentary Collection
The HistoryMakers: African American video oral history
Ideas Roadshow: Interviews with leading scholars across the disciplines
Independent World Cinema: more than 400 films produced from the early 20th century to today
Journal of Visualized Experiments (JOVE): Video articles from all science disciplines
Kanopy: A wide-ranging collection of classics, independent films, and documentaries. If you find a film on Kanopy that isn’t available to Harvard users, and you need to view it for research or teaching purposes, please submit a Purchase Request.
Latin America in Video: Original language documentaries from Latin America. Note: the English-language transcripts are often incomprehensible.
LGBT Studies in Video: Documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and features exploring LGBT history & culture
LinkedIn Learning: Training videos in computer software, web design, audio/visual tools, and much more
The March of Time: Newsreels from 1935-1967, restored and searchable
medici.tv: Classical music concerts live and on-demand, plus many documentaries
Meet the Press: More than 1800 episodes of the weekly television news and interview program, starting in 1947
Met Opera on Demand: Operas from The Metropolitan Opera viewable on demand
National Theatre Online: Thirty filmed performances from London's National Theatre, with costume designs, prompt scripts, and other supporting materials
New World Cinema: Independent feature films and shorts from 1990-present
OnArchitecture: Videos of buildings and interviews with architects, artists and curators
OntheBoards.tv: a collection of contemporary performance films featuring over fifty major artists
Opera in Video: Filmed performances, interviews, and documentaries
Pidgeon Digital: Interviews and presentations by famous architects from the 1950s to today
PBS Video Collection: Documentaries from PBS, including Ken Burns, NOVA, Frontline, and more
Projectr: Mix of independent documentaries, feature films, and shorts
Qwest TV: Concert footage of jazz, blues, hip hop, and world music. Curated by Quincy Jones.
Routledge Performance Archive: Interviews, performances, workshops, and documentaries
Royal Shakespeare Company Collection: HD recordings of Shakespeare's plays
Russian Film Hub: Rich collection of Russian films from the silent era to the present
Shoah Foundation Visual History Archive: Contains more than 54,000 video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide
Shakespeare's Globe on Screen
Socialism on Film: The Cold War and International Propaganda: documentaries, newsreels and features from Communist countries in the 20th century
Stage on Screen: performances of Doctor Faustus, The Duchess of Malfi, The School for Scandal, and Volpone
Swank Digital Campus: more than 30,000 films, documentaries and TV shows
Theatre in Video: Performances, interviews, documentaries of worldwide theater
World History in Video: Documentaries spanning world history from earliest civilizations to now
World Newsreels Online: Collection of international newsreels from the early 20th century

Most of the major consumer streaming platforms don't offer subscriptions to institutions. Among others, these include:

• Netflix
• Amazon Prime Video
• Hulu
• HBOgo
• MUBI
• Fandor

You'll need to rely on individual subscriptions to access these platforms.