What America Ate (Michigan State University) offers an extraordinarily rich window into "how ordinary people bought, cooked, ate, and thought about food," especially in the 1930s Depression era. It includes oral histories, ads, community cook books, and more. Search with an eye to discovering ways that "science," "medicine" and "health" interacted with emerging ideas of nutrition, with consumerism, with new forms of industrial food production, and with assumptions of the time about ethnic identity, race and gender.
Historical Dietary Guidance Digital Collection (US Agriculture Dept.)
Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange (1300- ) (Harvard Key) includes visual, manuscript and printed materials which document the history of fifteen commodities, including chocolate, coffee, oil, sugar.
Food and Drug Administration Notices of Judgment Collection, 1908-1966: National Library of Medicine – Digital archive of the published notices of judgment for products seized under authority of the 1906 Pure Food and Drug Act
Infant Feeders Collection: UBC Library Digital Collections – Images and descriptions of devices used for feeding infants
New York Milk Committee Ephemera: New York Academy of Medicine - materials issued from 1910-1918 by the New York Milk Committee and its Committee for the Reduction of Infant Mortality
Recipe Books: Wellcome Digital Collections - Domestic recipe manuscripts spanning the 16th century to the 19th century
Industry Documents Library (UC San Francisco) Includes: Food Collections