Library Research Guide for History 1852: The Game: College Sports as History

Sports:

Oxford Bibliography on College Athletics is an annotated bibliography of secondary sources. 

The LA84 Foundation Digital Library Collections includes both primary and secondary sources on sports history. To search just secondary sources, choose Advanced Search, then "Show all", then uncheck all boxes except for "Scholarly Books, Dissertations and Reports Collection".

History: 

America: History and Life (1955- ) includes books, book chapters, journal articles, and book reviews on North American history.

Education:

Note: in these EBSCO databases, two words together in a search field, college softball are treated as a phrase, so search college AND softball, pr put the two words in separate search boxes

Education Source (1929- ) indexes articles of at least one column length from more than 535 English-language journals and yearbooks worldwide. Records of books (1995- ) are included. Includes book reviews.

ERIC (1966- ) includes published and unpublished reports and other sources from RIE (Resources in Education) and periodical articles from CIJE (Current Index to Journals in Education). No book reviews.

Race:

Race Relations Abstracts provides indexing to "essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline."

Gender and Sexuality:

GenderWatch (1974- ) provides full text of scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, non-governmental organization, and special reports.

LGBT Life with Full Text indexes magazines, academic journals, news sources, gray literature, and books that deal with gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender concerns.

General:

Academic Search Premier (largely 1980s- ) is the usual index of first resort for general periodical searches. It indexes over 3000 journals in most fields plus many general interest periodicals. Full text is available for many of the periodicals. Includes Time full text back to 1923. Book reviews are included. A few periodicals have indexing back to the 1970s.

Web of Science Citation Indexes allow citation searching, that is, starting with an article of interest and finding more recent articles that have cited it.

Note: for access to titles not yet available online, please contact the reference staff at the Harvard University Archives; we may be able to provide some on-demand scanning.

Piltch, Steven Saul. 1991. "Academics and athletics: A comparison of the basketball programs at Harvard University, Northeastern University and Boston College." Order No. 9118827, Harvard University.
Available online via ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global.

Ullyot, Theodore Warren.  Preparation for the battle of life: the physical education question at Harvard, 1898-1919.  (A.B., Honors)--Harvard University, 1990.
HU 92.90.892. http://id.lib.harvard.edu/alma/990020337630203941/catalog (not available online)

Haritos, Anna Katherine. The rhetoric of eugenics in physical education: the agenda of Dudley Allen Sargent, Harvard University, 1879-1919. (A.B., Honors in History and Science) Harvard University, 2002.
http://id.lib.harvard.edu/alma/990091667870203941/catalog No public online access but scanned copy is available

Spirn, Samuel Whiston.  A scientific sport fit for gentlemen : why rugby supplanted soccer in the early history of American football, 1860-1877. Thesis (A.B., Honors in History)--Harvard University, 2003.
http://id.lib.harvard.edu/alma/990095413020203941/catalog (not available online)

Thorne, Christopher Michael. Ritual and social modeling in Harvard rugby culture. B.A., Harvard University, 1990.
Tozzer (N.A.SOC. T 393 r) For access information, contact Tozzer Library at tozcirc@fas.harvard.edu
http://id.lib.harvard.edu/alma/990023991110203941/catalog (not available online)

Fesler, Wesley E. (Wesley Eugene). A brief history of physical education at Harvard college. Thesis (M.A.) Ohio State University, 1939.
http://id.lib.harvard.edu/alma/990101617300203941/catalog (not available online)

Farbotko, Matthew R. 2018. "Harvard in the NFL." Order No. 10815734, Dartmouth College,
Available online via ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global

McDuffie, Clinton E. 2015. "College football in turmoil: How violence, virility and social Darwinism defined college football, 1880-1915." Order No. 10002322, University of Missouri - Kansas City.
Available online via ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global

Helman, Jay W. 1989. "A history of American intercollegiate athletic eligibility: Educational compromises to competitive interests." Order No. 9018220, The Pennsylvania State University.
Available online via ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global

Sack, Allen L. 1974. "The Commercialization and Rationalization of Intercollegiate Football: A Comparative Analysis of the Development of Football at Yale and Harvard in the Latter Nineteenth Century" Order No. 7519807, The Pennsylvania State University.
Available online via ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global