Harvard Teams
This box contains links to Google folders of archival materials scanned specifically for this class.
Baseball (link to scans for collections)
- Official finding aid for Harvard University Baseball Collection, 1867-1980, 2004-2005 (with digital material available)
- Official finding aid for Records of Organized Baseball at Harvard University, 1876-1945
Radcliffe Teams
Other Collections
Fanny Hitchcock Phillips (1888-1983)
Fanny Hitchcock Phillips, a teacher, received an A.B. (1911) and A.M. (1914) from Radcliffe College. She taught history at Thayer Academy in Quincy, Massachusetts, and at the Brearley School in New York City (1917-1948). Her papers consist of logbooks and reunion material of "The Club," a secret society at Radcliffe College (1898-1923), as well as a diary kept by Phillips describing student and club life (1908-1909) and souvenir Harvard football programs from 1890s.
Elizabeth Wright Plimpton (1906-2004) - partially digitized
Plimpton was a physical education teacher who graduated from Radcliffe in 1929. Her collection includes scrapbooks of college memorabilia and articles about athletics at Radcliffe, a list of expenses at college (1925-1929), reunion material, and Radcliffe athletic costumes.
- See the digitized scrapbooks in this collection for references to sports/athletics
Radcliffe College Archives subject files
These files are a general reference source for all Radcliffe topics including sports/athletics. Search the finding aid for keywords such as athletics, baseball, basketball, crew etc. to find all the folders with one of these words in the title.
Athletics. Harvard/Radcliffe, 1970s-1990s; includes "Athletic Opportunities for Women at Harvard and Radcliffe," 1974.
Records of the Oral History of Radcliffe College during the Horner Years, 1998-2014
Collection consists primarily of audiotapes and transcripts of interviews with forty-three individuals involved in the development of Radcliffe College during the years of Matina Horner's presidency.
- See Niki Janus final interview re: athletics
PHOTOGRAPHS
Use the HOLLIS images catalog to find thousands of digitized photos from the Radcliffe College Archives and the Harvard Archives.
- Click on the image to see all associated images (for example, if you see a number in the upper right corner of an image it means there will be more than one image to see once you click on the first image), enlargements and the information about the item.
- Example: a search for basketball, limiting the repository to “Radcliffe College Archives"
Harvard University Archive Photograph Collection: Subjects includes digitized photographs of baseball, crew, hockey, lacrosse, Summer School of Physical Training, and tug of war.
Records of the Harvard Athletic Association: team photographs, 1868-1947
Records of the Harvard Athletic Association: team photographs, 1934-1956