Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Humanities E-497: Crafting the Thesis Proposal in Religion, Dramatic Arts, and English

Harvard Extension School

Dramatic Arts and Performance Studies

bookmark iconLibrary Expert:

Steve Kuehler, Library Liaison to Theater, Dance & Media

Key Subject Databases

Performing Arts Periodicals Database (ProQuest)

Covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more.

Key Library Research Guides

Theater, Dance and Media at Harvard 

Musical Theater Research Guide

The Harvard Theatre Collection: A Guide for Researchers (Houghton Library)

Film and Theater (Special Collections, Schlesinger Library on the History of Women in America)

English Studies and Literature

bookmark iconLibrary Expert

Odile Harter, Library Liaison to English, Comparative Literature and Romance Languages

Key Subject Databases

MLA International Bibliography (Ebscohost)

Produced under the auspices of the Modern Language Association, the major U.S. scholarly association for literature and literary-related fields, MLA  is the premier database for searching scholarship on literature from all periods, in all languages, in all its forms.  

LION [Literature Online] (ProQuest)

A leading online resource for the study and teaching of literature in English, it has three major components: primary sources (over 355,000 literary works), a database of literary criticism, and an online library of key reference resources.  

Scholarship and criticism in this database comes from ABELL (the Annual Bibliography of  English Language and Literature, the British "cousin" to the MLA).  Although there is significant overlap with MLA, ABELL does have some unique content and is usually worth checking.

Key Library Research Guide

Literary Research in Harvard Libraries

Religion

bookmark iconLibrary Experts 

Reed Lowrie, Liaison to Studies of  Religion and Comparative Religions 

Renata Kalnins, Harvard Divinity School Library

Key Subject Databases 

​ATLA Religion Database 

Produced by the American Theological Library Association, this database compiles the major scholarly literature produced in journals and books. Citations cover all religions and all theological points of view. 

See also the Harvard Divinity School's longer list of essential databases.

Key Library Research Guides

HDS Library Guide Collection