Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Expo E-42a | Academic Writing in the Humanities (Case)

RESOURCES AND STRATEGIES FOR YOUR RESEARCH ESSAYS

Oxford Bibliographies Online

 

The Oxford Bibliographies Online combine the best features of the annotated bibliography with an authoritative subject encyclopedia. And they address a common issue in information-seeking: knowing what to read, who's important, and which voices in the conversation to pay attention to.

OBOs are created and curated by scholars, reviewed regularly, and updated whenever necessary.  They are categorized under broad subject categories, but also searchable by keyword; 

The title of any item you locate there: a book, an essay collection, or a journal article can be searched in HOLLIS to determine availability online or via Scan and Deliver. 

Examples possibly pertinent to E-42a themes include:

 

MLA International Bibliography

 

MLA International Bibliography

Produced under the auspices of the Modern Language Association, the major U.S. scholarly association for literature and literary-related fields, MLA  is the premier database for searching scholarship on literature from all periods, in all languages, in all its forms.

Project Muse

Project Muse

Originally a collection of high quality journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press, Project Muse now includes both journals and and books from non-profit scholarly publishers, including university presses and societies.

Muse is weighted heavily toward the humanities, and about 30% of its content is unique, so it's often worth doing a quick search here just to see if something (else) interesting turns up. Use yo your HOLLIS search conventions here for best results.

 

Google Scholar

 

Google Scholar

 Familiar and current it searches full-text which can be an advantage when you've got a very narrow topic or are seeking a "nugget" that traditional database searching can't surface easily. 

Google Scholar incorporates more types of information -- not just books and journal contents-- and depending on your need, comfort level, and perspective, that eclecticism can be an advantage.  

CHANGE YOUR SCHOLAR SETTINGS: 

One simple change can turn Google Scholar into what's effectively a Harvard database -- with links to the full-text of articles that the library can provide. Here's what to do:  Look to the left of the GS screen and click on the "hamburger" (); then click on .  Look for "Library Links."  Then type Harvard University into the search box and save your choice.  As long as you allow cookies, the settings will keep.