General Research
This section is for more general research questions. Places to research across Harvard’s library system are listed as well as sources relating to searching archival materials.
- Academic Search Premier (Harvard Key required)
A general-purpose database covering scholarly journals as well as more mainstream publications.
- Anthropology Plus (Harvard Key required)
Searches the major literature, including journals, in anthropology and related fields.
- ArchiveGrid (Open Access)
ArchiveGrid includes over 7 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,400 archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.
Allows researchers to borrow materials free-of-charge from libraries outside of the Harvard Library collection.
- DASH (Open Access)
A central catalog and open-access repository of research by members of the Harvard community.
- Database Search (Harvard Key required)
A catalog to find the specialized engine that has what you need – identifying and connecting to the best databases for your research topic.
Get help with maps, mapping, geographic information systems, and other geospatial tools, as well as cartographic design.
- Google Scholar (Harvard Key required)
A powerful index of scholarly literature across disciplines, languages, time periods and publishing formats.
- Harvard Dataverse (Open Access)
Harvard’s open online repository for sharing, preserving, citing, exploring, and analyzing research data.
- HOLLIS (Some Open Access)
HOLLIS is Harvard Library’s catalog. Search HOLLIS for books, articles, media, and more.
An online catalog specifically designed for finding special collections and archival materials at 30 Harvard repositories.
- JSTOR (Harvard Key required)
View the full text of thousands of back issues of scholarly articles, mostly in the humanities and social sciences.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (Harvard Key required)
Tool to find these and dissertations written in North American universities. Most post-1990 titles are available in full text.
- SNAC (Social Networks and Archival Context) (Open Access)
A free online resource that helps users discover biographical and historical information about persons, families, and organizations that created or are documented in historical resources (primary source documents) and their connections to one another. Users can locate archival collections and related resources held at cultural heritage institutions around the world.
For additional tools not listed here.
