Revolution and Early Republic
Background and Context -- HOLLIS Subject Terms -- Periodical Articles -- Document Collections
Encyclopedia of the new American nation: the emergence of the United States, 1754-1829, ed. by Paul Finkelman. Detroit: Charles Scribner's Sons: Thomson Gale, 2006. 3 v.
Widener | WID-LC | E301 .E53 2006
Internet Archive full text: Vol. 1 -- Vol. 2 -- Vol. 3
The encyclopedia of the American Revolutionary War: a political, social, and military history, ed. by Gregory Fremont-Barnes, Richard Alan Ryerson. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2006. 5 v.
Widener | RR 3627.40
Chronologies
A chronicle of the American Revolution, 1763-1783, by Martha McHutchison Dimock. New York : Harper & Row, 1976, 194 p.
HOLLIS Record
Internet Archive Full Text
The war of the American Revolution : narrative, chronology, and bibliography, by Robert W. Coakley and Stetson Conn. Washington, D.C. : Center of Military History, United States Army, 2010.
HOLLIS Record
Full Text Online
United States -- History -- Revolution, 1775-1783
For Newspapers, see the Guide to Newspapers and Newspaper Indexes
Magazines
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection (1691-1877)
American Periodicals Series Online (1740-1900) offers full text of about 1100 American periodicals.
Early American Imprints, Series 1 (1639-1819) is based on the microform collection of books, pamphlets and broadsides issued in America recorded in Charles Evans' American Bibliography and Roger P. Bristol's Supplement to Charles Evans' American Bibliography.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) offers full text for English language works dated 1700-1800. Uses Library of Congress Subject Headings. Searchable by words and phrases based on the OCR text. Although 18th century American imprints are fully covered in the English Short Title Catalog (ESTC), many are not included in ECCO because they are available in Early American Imprints.
Revolutionary War and early America: Collections from the Massachusetts Historical Society. ProQuest history vault.
HOLLIS Record for online access
American History, 1493-1945 contains letters, diaries, maps pamphlets, printed books, newspapers and ephemera. Note American Revolution under Themes
American Archives: Documents of the American Revolution, 1774-1776 is an online version of Peter Force's American Archives, a compilation of documents, including pamphlets, correspondence, and proceedings. Peter Force (1790–1868) was a printer and document collector.
Alexander Hamilton and the Federalist Papers contains both the Federalist Papers and letters from Hamilton
Pre-Federal Records in the National Archives
Primary Documents in American History: The American Revolution and The New Nation, 1763-1815 and Digital Collections (Library of Congress guide)
The American Revolution - A Documentary History (Avalon Project)
Library of Congress Digital Collections: American Revolution, 1763-1783
Personal Narratives of the Revolution
The Documentary History of the Ratification of the Constitution
Early Republic 1789-1836
Tocqueville's Democracy in America: Editions, Translations, Sources, Interpretation
The Papers of the War Department (1784-1800)