Women's History
Background and Context -- HOLLIS Subject Terms -- Periodical Articles -- Document Collections
Encyclopedia of women in American politics, ed. by Jeffrey D. Schultz and Laura van Assendelft. Phoenix, Ariz.: Oryx Press, 1999, 354 p.
HOLLIS Record
Internet Archive Full Text -- Another copy
Encyclopedia of women's history in America, by Kathryn Cullen-DuPont. 2nd ed. New York : Facts On File, 2000, 418 p.
HOLLIS Record
Internet Archive Full Text
Women's suffrage : the complete guide to the 19th amendment, by Tiffany K. Wayne. Santa Barbara, California : ABC-CLIO, 2020, 347 pages Online
HOLLIS Record
Encyclopedia of women in the American West, edited by Gordon Morris Bakken & Brenda Farrington. Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage, 2003, 381 p.
HOLLIS Record
Internet Archive Full Text
The Gilded Age : a history in documents, by Janette Thomas Greenwood. New York : Oxford University Press, c2000, 191 p.
HOLLIS Record
Internet Archive Full Text
Enslaved women in America : an encyclopedia, ed. by Daina Ramey Berry and Deleso A. Alford. Santa Barbara, Calif. : Greenwood, 2012, 381 p.
Internet Archive Full Text
- African American women political activists
- Feminism -- United States
- Women political activists
- Women -- Political activity
- Women radicals -- United States
For Newspapers, see the Guide to Newspapers and Newspaper Indexes
U.S. Women's and Girls' Magazines Web Archive
Women's Magazine Archive (1883-2005) includes: Better Homes and Gardens (1922-2005); Chatelaine (1928-2005); Good Housekeeping (1885-2005); Ladies' Home Journal (1883-2005); Parents (1926-2005), Redbook (1903-2005).
Black Women's Suffrage Collection (Digital Public Library of America)
A Daring Experiment: Harvard and Business Education for Women, 1937-1970
Documents from the Women's Liberation Movement: An On-line Archival Collection (Duke University)
The Dolley Madison Digital Edition
Everyday Life & Women in America 1800-1920 provides primary source material for the study of nineteenth and early twentieth century American cultural and social history from the collections of the New York Public Library and the Duke University. Topics include fashion, beauty, prescriptive literature, and medicine.
The Feminist Chronicles: Early Documents
Gerritsen Collection--Women's History Online, 1543-1945 includes books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the revolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights. Includes over 4000 monographs, primarily in English, German, and French, plus 265 periodical titles.
HEARTH: Home Economics Archive - books and journals related to Home Economics related disciplines, 1850-1950. Browse subjects covered: http://hearth.library.cornell.edu/h/hearth/subjects.html
Herstory Project: A History of the Chicago Women's Liberation Union (CWLU) contains archive of full-text documents of the Chicago Women's Liberation Movement and of classic Second Wave documents.
History of Feminism, covering 1776-1928, contains primary and secondary resources, including full books, selected chapters, and journal articles published by Routledge. Primary source material is from the Rouledge series History of feminism. Harvard holds many, but not all, books of this series in print.
Manuscript women's letters and diaries: from the American Antiquarian Society, 1750-1950
Margaret Sanger papers (Smith College) ProQuest history vault.
Margaret Sanger Papers Project
Nineteenth Century Collection Online (HarvardKey) contains History of Women, an enormous microfilm collection. It can be conveniently browsed using the original microfilm guides (choose H). Subsets: History of Science, Health and Women; Social and Cultural Construction of Girls; Women and WWI. History of Women is part of the Nineteenth Century Collection Online segment: Women: Transnational Networks.
ProQuest History Vault: Women's Studies Manuscript Collections from The Schlesinger Library offers three series of collections: suffrage and voting rights, women in national politics, and reproductive rights. Coverage: 1850-1970 (bulk).
ProQuest history vault. Margaret Sanger papers (Smith College)
North American Women's Letters and Diaries (pre-1950)
Redstockings: Women's Liberation Studies Archives for Action
Studies in Scarlet: Marriage & Sexuality in the U.S. and U.K., 1815-1914 (Harvard) More than 420 trial narratives of American, British, and Irish cases 1815-1914 involving domestic violence, bigamy, seduction, breach of promise to marry, and the custody of children, as well as trials for murder and rape
Western Women’s Suffrage, Part IV: The New Citizen, 1909-12; The Western Women Voter, 1911-13
Women and Social Movements in the United States: 1600-2000 offers journal articles, manuscripts, books, pamphlets, bibliographies, images, and other sources. Interesting to search organizations by by date founded
Women and Transnational Networks in Nineteenth Century Collections Online. Open Collections (top right), then Archives.
Women of Protest: Photographs from the Records of the National Woman's Party Collection (1875-1938; largely 1913-1922).
Women organizing transnationally : the Committee of Correspondence, 1952-1969 The records of this anti-communist organization include official correspondence and records, oral history transcripts, 1988-89, with related biographical material; and card files on individual participants, filed by country. The country files also contain published materials pertaining to the status and problems of the world's women
Woman Suffrage and Feminism Photographs in the Schwimmer-Lloyd Collection.
Women Working: Harvard University Library Open Collections Program - over 650,000 individual pages from more than 3,100 books and trade catalogs, 900 archives and manuscript items, and 1,400 photographs illustrating working conditions, workplace regulations, home life, costs of living, commerce, recreation, health and hygiene, and social issues for working women in the United States from 1800-1930
Women's Issues and Their Advocacy Within the White House, 1974-1977
Women’s Liberation Movement Print Culture: Digital Collections, Duke University Libraries – Manifestos, speeches, essays, and other materials documenting the Women’s Liberation Movement in the United States, 1960s-1970s
- Collected Records of the Woman's Peace Party: 1914–1920
- Committee of Fifteen Records 1900–1901 – anti prostitution and gambling group, New York City
- European Women's Periodicals (1830-1940; bulk 1880-1940)
- Grassroots Feminist Organizations, Part 1: Boston Area Second Wave Organizations, 1968-1998
- Grassroots Feminist Organizations, Part 2: San Francisco Women's Building / Women's Centers, 1972-1998
- Herstory Collection (1956-1974) offers journals, newspapers, and newsletters from women's rights movements in the US and abroad
- Journals and Papers of the Birth Control Movement; Part 1: the Malthusian, 1879-1921; Eugenics Review, 1909-1921
- Planned Parenthood Federation of America Records, 1918-1974 (and related groups)
- Records of the Women's Peace Union: 1921-1940
- Women and Health/Mental Health
- Women and Law Collection (1969-1975)
- Women's International League for Peace and Freedom: United States Section, 1919-1959
- Women's Labour League: Conference Reports and Journals, 1906-1977
- Women's Lives documents women missionaries (1840-1980) and American pioneer women on the Oregon Trail and in the Pacific Northwest.
- Women’s Trade Union League and Its Leaders (1903-1950)
Other Document collections