Context and Background / Country Information / Biography
To find individual encyclopedia articles in HOLLIS, using HOLLIS Everything, do a Title search on your topic and in the results list look for Resource Type under Refine Your Results in the right-hand column. Choose Reference entries.
EH.Net Encyclopedia of Economic and Business History
A dictionary of economics, by John Black, Nigar Hashimzade, Gareth Myles. 4th ed. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2012. 464 pages
HOLLIS Record
The Princeton Encyclopedia of the World Economy, by Kenneth A. Reinert, Lewis S. Davis, Amy Joycelyn Glass, Ramkishen S. Rajan. Princeton, NJ : Princeton University Press, [2010] 1 online resource (1329 p.)
Encyclopedia of the global economy : a guide for students and researchers, by David E. O'Connor. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2006. 2 v.
HOLLIS Record
The Penguin dictionary of economics, by Graham Bannock, R.E. Baxter, Evan Davis. 7th ed. London ; New York : Penguin, 2003, 407 p.
HOLLIS Record
The Oxford encyclopedia of economic history Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2003. 1 online resource (5 v.) :
Encyclopedia of political economy, edited by Phillip Anthony O'Hara. London ; New York : Routledge, 2001. 2 v. in 1
Statistical, Political, Directory and other Country Information
A variety of serial publications offer overviews of political and social conditions (politics, economics, organizations, press, etc.) and current events for countries worldwide.
Africa Yearbook (2004- ) covers domestic politics, foreign policy and socio-economic trends in sub-Sahara Africa.
Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) offers Country Reports and Country Profiles with online political and economic information going back to around 1996. Country Reports Archive, 1952-1995.
Europa world year book [before 1989 titled Europa year book], 1959- . London: Europa Publications
Current Online Version
Internet Archive Full Text : 1966-1988 -- 1994 -- 1990-2010
HOLLIS Record 1989-
HOLLIS Record 1959-1988
--Includes list of major newspapers.
--Since 1963 has a Recent History section for each country summarizing events for the last few years.
--There are Europa yearbooks on particular parts of the world. Find them by searching in HOLLIS: Europa Publications Limited.
Example:
Africa South of the Sahara. London, Europa Publications Ltd. 1971-
Internet Archive Full Text (1971-72, 1994, 1999, 2001-2003)
HOLLIS Record (1971-2014)
Near East year book and who's who: a survey of the affairs, political, economic and social, of Yugoslavia, Roumania, Bulgaria, Greece and Turkey, 1927-?
HOLLIS Record (1927, 1931/32)
The International year book, 1898-1902.
HathiTrust version
Google Books version
HOLLIS Record
Continued by:
New international yearbook; a compendium of the world's progress. 1904-1965
HathiTrust Version (1904-1921)
Google Books version (1904-1921)
Internet Archive Full Text (1926-1950, 1955, 1957, 1960)
HOLLIS Record
Political handbook of the world, 1927-1970, 1975- (Annual, title varies)
Online version (2005- )
Internet Archive Full Text (1931-1945, 1975, 1982-83, 1990, 2010-2010)
HOLLIS Record (1975-2009)
HOLLIS Record (1927-1962)
-- Political handbook of Europe (1927)
-- Country by country overviews of parliaments (breakdown by party), party leaderships.
-- Lists of newspapers with political affiliation and editors.
Statesman’s year-book, 1864- . London: Palgrave.
Online Version (1864- )
Google Books
HOLLIS Record
--To see a chronological list of the volumes or to find a particular year, open Search (top right) and search “Statesman's Yearbook”. On the left Content Type, choose Book. Sort by: Oldest first. For a particular year, Add the year to the search.
Whitaker's almanack. [before 1992 titled Almanack for the year of our Lord…) London: J. Whitaker, 1869- .
HOLLIS Records
Google Books
Internet Archive Full Text (1869-2016)
Individual Country Reports (American University) lists yearbooks of individual countries with links to online versions. Where no online version (or no older editions) exist, look up title in HOLLIS. HOLLIS may have older print editions than are listed in this guide.
Country Statistical Yearbooks (University of Wisconsin)
Prepared under the direction of the historical section of the Foreign Office (UK), there are handbooks on numerous countries (including colonial possessions) worldwide describing the situation at the time of the Paris Peace Conference (1919-20). A few cover topics or regions (Zionism, Question of the Scheldt, Portuguese possessions). HOLLIS Records with HathiTrust full text
World Biographical Information System includes online full text of thousands of biographical dictionaries accessible by name of biographee.
American National Biography is the standard American source for biographies of major figures. Can do searches of occupations and limit by date.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is the standard British source for biographies of major figures. Can do searches of occupations and limit by date: Advanced Search Options: People Search.
History of Economic Thought Website biographies and bibliographies of numerous economists Arranged alphabetically and by School of Thought
Who's who in economics, ed. by Mark Blaug and Howard R. Vane. 4th ed. Cheltenham, UK ; Northampton, MA : Edward Elgar, 2003, 971 p.
Widener | RR 4504.5
The 4th ed. includes only economists alive as of January 1, 2002. Does not replace the 3rd ed., next:
Who's who in economics, ed. by Mark Blaug. 3rd ed. Cheltenham, UK ; Northampton, MA : Edward Elgar Pub., 1999, 1235 p.
HOLLIS Record
--3rd ed. comprises a biographical dictionary of major economists covering 1700-1996.
Internet Archive full text (2nd ed.; 1700-1986)
Internet Archive full text (1st ed.; 1700-1981)
A biographical dictionary of dissenting economists, by Philip Arestis, Malcolm C. Sawyer. Cheltenham, U.K.; Northampton, Mass.: E. Elgar, 2000
--20th century economists dissenting from neoclassical economics
A biographical dictionary of women economists, by Robert W. Dimand, Mary Ann Dimand, Evelyn L. Forget. Cheltenham, U.K.; Northampton, Mass.: Edward Elgar, 2000
Who's who in British economics : a directory of economists in higher education, business, and government, edited by Paul Sturges and Claire Sturges.
Great Economists Before Keynes: An Introduction to the Lives and Works of One Hundred Great Economists of the Past. 1986, by Mark Blau
Great economists since Keynes: an introduction to the lives & works of one hundred modern economists, by Mark Blau
Economic principals : masters and mavericks of modern economics, by David Warsh. New York: Free Press, 1993, 525 p.
HOLLIS Record
Internet Archive full text
Economic thinkers: a biographical encyclopedia, by David A. Dieterle. Santa Barbara, Calif.: Greenwood, 2013
Additional sources in Finding Biographical Information.