Black Teacher Archive Guide

An online, open-access database of photographs and documents related to the Civil Rights and Black Power movements.

Starting in 1830 and continuing until well after the Civil War, free, freed and self-emancipated Blacks gathered for in state and national political conventions. The convention minutes collected here illustrate the immense struggles and the profound courage of those who insisted on organizing and standing for what was rightly theirs.

A digital collection of primary resources from member libraries of the Historically Black College and University (HBCU) Library Alliance primarily highlighting founding and early historical documents. The collection includes photographs, university correspondence, manuscripts, images of campus buildings, alumni letters, memorabilia, and programs from campus events.

The Internet Archive is a vast online resource of digitized, downloadable, and borrowable books, periodicals, and other printed materials.

This page collects all of the Library of Congress' research guides related to African American Studies.

A research guide to materials held at the National Archives and Records Administration covering African American education history and primary source documentation.

Teachers in the Movement explores teachers’ ideas and pedagogy inside and outside the classroom during the U.S. Civil Rights Movement. From teachers themselves, we learn how their pedagogy, curricula, and community work were instrumental forms of activism that influenced the movement.

Umbra Search African American History makes African American history more broadly accessible through a freely available widget and search tool, umbrasearch.org; digitization of African American materials across University of Minnesota collections; and support of students, educators, artists, and the public through residencies, workshops, and events locally and around the country.

Black Studies Center consists of scholarly journals, commissioned overview essays by top scholars in Black Studies, historic indexes, and The Chicago Defender newspaper from 1910-1975. At the heart of Black Studies Center is Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, consisting of essays that provide an introduction to major topics in Black Studies. Black Studies Center provides the historical full-text of one of the most influential black newspapers in the United States, The Chicago Defender.

Digitized and searchable issues of the Journal of Negro Education (JNE) from 1932-2019. The scholarly journal was founded at Howard University.

Access to digitized and searchable issues of the Negro History Bulletin published by the Association for the Study of African American Life and History from 1937-2019. Carter G. Woodson founded the bulletin to serve as a resource for school teachers.

Module one (Federal government records) consists of 37 collections of organizational records and personal papers and contains records of civil rights organization and personal papers on African American life in the 20th century. The second module, Federal government records, Supplement, adds civil rights records from the Ford and Reagan presidencies. The third and fourth modules (Organizational records and personal papers, part 1-2) are comprised of collections from federal government agencies and contain records on the major milestones and events in the Civil Rights Movement.

This collection includes materials related to campaigns for equal access to education, voting, employment, housing and the military. The education files in this module document the NAACP’s systematic assault on segregated education that culminated in Brown v. Board of Education in 1954. Files from 1955 –1965 focus on the NAACP’s efforts to implement the Brown decision as well as to combat de facto segregation outside of the South.