Getting Full Text
Online Full Text
Look for a button in HOLLIS or a database that says "Online Access" or "View PDF".
It usually takes you directly to the full text in one of our databases; sometimes you'll need to search for the title of the article or book again.
Physical Copies
Most of our libraries are open for you to browse!
When a book, manuscript, or other item is in our physical collections (aka "the stacks"), check the section of the HOLLIS record titled "Access Options". It tells you what library to go to and where to look on the shelf.
If the library location is "Offsite Storage," use the Request link, and the book will be delivered to the library of your choice, usually by the next business day. (You can also request that books from one on-campus library be sent to another, but it's almost always faster for you to go to the library yourself.)
Getting PDFs From Us
Scan and Deliver
When an article you find in HOLLIS is not owned at Harvard, or is available in a printed journal volume but not online, you can ask us to make a PDF for you through a service called Scan and Deliver. This service is also an option if you want up to two chapters of any Harvard-owned book digitized for your use.
Getting Around Paywalls
Three ways to solve the access problem:
- Tweak your Google Scholar Settings: One change turns it into a Harvard database with links to the full-text of articles that the library can provide. Click on the "hamburger" menu (
); then click on 
. Look for "Library Links." Then type Harvard University into the search box and save your choice. As long as you allow cookies, the settings will persist.
- Set up a Check Harvard Library Bookmarklet. It works like a browser extension; click on it when you want to check Harvard's access and it will unlock content we provide.
- Copy and paste the title into HOLLIS to double-check. If Harvard doesn't have it, you'll be prompted to place a request that we get it for you.
Tracking Down Other Copies of Books
If a book you need is not owned by the Harvard Library or is not currently available from the Library, use Interlibrary Loan/Borrow Direct to request a copy from another library.
