Library Research Guide for the History of Public Health

Office of Minority Health Resource Center online library catalog “provides access to the nation’s largest repository of information dedicated to the health of minority populations within the United States and its territories. The collection includes over 75,000 documents, books, journal articles, reports, organizations, and media related to the health status of racial and ethnic minority populations. In addition, users can access consumer health materials in more than 40 languages”

Health Policy and Services Research Digital Collection (NLM)

African American Behavioral Health Center of Excellence Resource Library

Bibliographies

There may already be a detailed list of sources (a bibliography) for your topic. A bibliography offers a list of books and articles usually arranged by subject.  Bibliographies give a systematic overview of the literature on a subject and a breakdown of subtopics.  Browsing a bibliography offers a different experience from database searching with keywords.

Look for specialized subject bibliographies in the HOLLIS Catalog: Example. NOTE: The word Bibliography has to be searched as a Subject

Favazza, A. R. and M. Oman. 1977. Anthropological and cross-cultural themes in mental health: an annotated bibliography, 1925-1974. Columbia: University of Missouri Press, 386 p.

By author with secondary author and subject indexes. Continued by Favazza, A. R. and A. D. Faheem. 1982. Themes in cultural psychiatry, an annotated bibliography, 1975-1980. Columbia: University of Missouri Press, 194 p.

Health Disparities Bibliography includes books, documents, journal articles and federal reports on US health disparities issues.

Racial and Ethnic Disparities in Health Bibliography (Georgetown Univ.)

Ethnic minority health: a selected, annotated  bibliography, by Craig Haynes. Lanham, MD: Medical Library Association and Scarecrow Press, 1997, 503 p.
HOLLIS Record
Internet Archive Full Text

Selected bibliographic references on methodologies for community health status assessment, prepared by Aspen Systems Corporation.  Rockville, Md.: U.S. Dept. of Health, Education, and Welfare, Public Health Service, Health Resources Administration, Bureau of Health Planning and Resources Development, Division of Planning Methods and Technology, National Health Planning Information Center, 1976, 101 p. 
HOLLIS Record (online)

The sociology of medicine and health care : a research bibliography, by Theodor J. Litman. San Francisco : Boyd & Fraser Pub. 
nternet Archive Full Text

Asian Americans

Asian/Pacific Islander American health: January 1990 through March 1995 : 1197 citations, by Loretta D. Ulincy ... et al. Bethesda, Md.: U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, National Institutes of Health, National Library of Medicine, Reference Section, 1995, 93 p.
HOLLIS Record

Black Americans

Black History Month: A Medical Perspective: Selective Bibliography (-2006)

A bibliography of the Negro in Africa and America, by Monroe N. Work. NY: The H.W. Wilson Company, 698 p.
HOLLIS Record
HOLLIS Record 1968 reprint
HOLLIS Record 1965 reprint
HOLLIS Record 1965 reprint
Internet Archive Full Text
--Arranged by Subject: Chapter XXXI: Health Problems of Negroes, pp. 508-527;  Chapter XLII: Special Studies Related to the Negro: Anatomical and Anthropological Studies, pp. 612-14

Black American health : an annotated bibliography, compiled by Mitchell F. Rice and Woodrow Jones, Jr. New York : Greenwood Press, 1987, 140 p.
HOLLIS Record

A history of selected diseases in the Black community : a working bibliography, by Lenwood G Davis. Monticello, Ill. : Council of Planning Librarians, 1976, 28 pages
HOLLIS Record

A history of tuberculosis in the Black community: a working bibliography, by Lenwood G. Davis. 1975

The mental health of the Black community : an exploratory bibliography, by Lenwood G. Davis, 1975.

Black women in the cities, 1872-1972: a bibliography of published works on the life and achievements of black women in cities in the United States, by Lenwood G. Davis, 1972

Housing in the Black community : a selected bibliography of published works in housing laws, problems, planning, and convenants in the Black community, , by Lenwood G. Davis, 197

Health of black Americans from post reconstruction to integration, 1871-1960 : an annotated bibliography of contemporary sources, by Mitchell F. Rice and Woodrow Jones, Jr. New York : Greenwood Press, 1990, 206 p.
HOLLIS Record
--Largely periodical articles

 A history of public health, health problems, facilities, and services in the black community: a working bibliography, by Lenwood G. Davis. Monticello, Ill.: Council of Planning Librarians, 1975, 20 p.
Subjects
African Americans -- Health and hygiene -- Bibliography
African Americans -- Medical care -- Bibliography
HOLLIS Record

Hispanic Americans

Latinos and Health Policy, by Amy Cabrera Rasmussen. Oxford Bibliographies

Latino Health, by  David E. Hayes-Bautista and Mithi del Rosario. . Oxford Bibliographies

Hispanic-American health: January 1990 through July 1994: 1799 citations, by Jennie P. Hunt, German E. Tello, Elmer E. Huerta. Bethesda, Md.: U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, National Institutes of Health, National Library of Medicine, Reference Section, 1994, 104 p.
HOLLIS Record

Native Americans

Native Health Database  (1966 - present) Citations: American Indian, Alaska Native, and Canadian First Nations populations.

Health and Disease of American Indians North of Mexico: A Bibliography, 1800-1969, by Mark V. Barrow, Jerry D. Niswander, and Robert Fortuine. Gainesville: University of Florida Press, 147 pp.
HOLLIS Record
Internet Archive Full Text

A bibliographical guide to the history of Indian-white relations in the United States, by Francis Paul Prucha. Chicago : University of Chicago Press, 1977, 454 p.
HOLLIS Record
Internet Archive Full text
--Chapter 14, Indian Health, pp. 274-287

Indian-white relations in the United States : a bibliography of works published 1975-1980, by Francis Paul Prucha. Lincoln, Neb. : University of Nebraska Press, 1982, 179 p.
HOLLIS Record
Internet Archive Full text
--Chapter 12, Indian Health, pp. 88-95

Health of native people of North America : a  bibliography and guide to resources, by Sharon A. Gray.  Lanham, MD : Scarecrow Press, 1996, 393 pp.
HOLLIS Record
Internet Archive Full Text
--Lists of bibliographies, books and book chapters, theses, conferences, audiovisuals, and organizations, but not periodical articles. Subject index.

Bibliography of Health and Disease, in North American Indians, Eskimos, and Aleuts, 1969-1979, by J. W. Justice. (Native American Research and Training Center Monograph series, no. 8). Tucson, AZ: University of Arizona, 1987, 196 pp.

The Health of the Inuit of North America : a bibliography from the earliest times through 1990, by Robert Fortuine ... et al. Anchorage: University of Alaska Anchorage, 1993, 353 p.
HOLLIS Record

American Indian and Alaska native health : January 1990 through September 1996 : 2050 citations, by Mary E. Conway ... et al. Bethesda, Md.: U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, National Institutes of Health, National Library of Medicine, Reference Section ; Pittsburgh, PA : Sold by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O., 1996, 123 p.
HOLLIS Record

Web of Science Citatation Searching

You can use the Cited Reference Search in the Web of Science to see who has cited a particular article or book. Covers citing articles in Science (1900- ), Social Science (1900- ) Arts and Humanities (1975- ). Covers citing books, 2005- .
--Go to Cited Reference Search
--Author, last name first,  (First name as initial *) Dewey J.  If you need to specify the publication use Cited Year(s)  not Cited Work.
+Add Date Range (that is, of the citing works): 1910-1929 etc.
You can select all by checking the top check box. Hit See Results.
*You can limit to journals within a particular discipline. In the left hand column under Refine Results, open Web of Science Categories. Select your discipline. These subject terms apply to journals not to individual articles.

A guide is available: Searching the Citation Indexes (Web of Science)