Special Collections: Archival Collections at the Frances Loeb Library

Housed at Houghton Library, this collection contains logbooks and writings by the American landscape architect Arthur Asahel Shurcliff. It includes an autograph manuscript on Charles Eliot's remarks on landscape architecture, along with three logbooks documenting trips to Newburyport and Concord, Massachusetts, and Europe. The collection also features cyanotype photographs, landscape garden sketches, a few letters, and additional materials.

With over 5,000 drawings, this collection at Houghton Library is the most complete collection in existence of architectural drawings from H. H. Richardson's office in Brookline, Massachusetts.

Housed at the Schlesinger Library, Radcliffe Institute, this collection includes correspondence, architectural drawings, photographs, and other materials related to architect and author Elisabeth Coit.

This collection, housed at the Fine Arts Library, contains a portion of the personal papers of museum director and architect Sidney Fiske Kimball relating to the study of architectural history. Included in the papers are letters sent and received, manuscripts and typescripts of books and articles about European and American architecture and architects, and a vast amount of research material (notes, photos, and printed matter) collected by Mr. Kimball.

This collection, housed at the Harvard Art Museums Archives, includes visual materials such as photographs, slides, and ephemera documenting the lives and travels of Walter Gropius, his wife Ise Gropius, and their friends and colleagues. It spans their activities across the United States, Latin America, Europe, and East Asia from 1946 to 1969.

The PIRC collections document the rich and diverse history of Harvard’s built environment, including architectural and technical drawings, maps, surveys, infrastructure drawings, related project documentation, deeds, site files, photographs, and subsurface soil data reports.

Housed at Houghton Library, this collection includes correspondence and compositions in both English and German, relating to Gropius' career after 1937.

This collection, housed at Houghton Library, contains photographs of the early papers of Walter Gropius at the Bauhaus-Archiv in Berlin, Germany.

The AIA Historical Directory helps you locate information about U.S. architects from the 19th and 20th centuries in the AIA Archives and elsewhere.

The Alexander Architectural Archives at the University of Texas at Austin is an architectural research center within the Architecture and Planning Library, supporting research and education about the history of the built environment by acquiring and preserving research collections.

The online catalog of the Architectural Association Archives provides access to materials related to the history of architectural education. Holdings include extensive collections of architectural drawings, paintings, posters, textual records, models, and other ephemera dating from the 1850s to the work of current students and teachers.

This guide to Architectural Collections at Yale is a list of architectural records and resources in Yale Library Special Collections.

The Architecture Collection documents the history of architectural pedagogy and practice in the United States. Most of the collection dates from the late nineteenth and twentieth century, with additional examples ranging from the sixteenth century through the past twenty years.

The Athenaeum of Philadelphia maintains an extensive collection of architectural records and the archival records of the Philadelphia chapter of the AIA.

Avery Library’s Drawings & Archives department collects drawings, photographs, and architectural records documenting architecture and design practices and also include project and building files, business records, correspondence, and faculty and personal papers.

The Environmental Design Archives is a nonprofit research facility within the College of Environmental Design at the University of California, Berkeley. It is committed to raising awareness of the architectural, landscape, and design heritage of Northern California and beyond through collecting, preserving, and providing access to primary records of the built and designed environment.

The Canadian Centre for Architecture's collection documents the culture and production of architecture worldwide from the Renaissance through the present day. It includes archival holdings; prints and drawings; photography; artifacts and printed ephemera, audiovisual and digital materials; and library collections.

ICAM is an international association of architectural museums, centres, and research collections. With members from over thirty countries, we are dedicated to connecting people from across the world and promoting public engagement with architecture, landscape, and the built environment.

The Architecture, Design & Engineering Drawings collection at the Library of Congress features over 40,000 drawings, spanning 1600 to 1989, with most dating between 1880 and 1940. The designs are primarily for sites and structures in the U.S. (especially Washington, D.C.), as well as Europe and Mexico.

The MoMA's Architecture and Design collection contains 28,000 works ranging from large-scale design objects to works on paper and architectural models and surveys major figures and movements from the mid-19th century to the present.

RIBA is a global professional membership body for architects. RIBA's collections contain over four million items, including drawings, manuscripts, objects, and artifacts ranging from the 15th century to the present.

The SAH (Society of Architectural Historians) provides a list of design-related archives available at several universities.

The Architectural Archives of the University of Pennsylvania preserves the works of more than 400 designers from the 17th century to the present.