This respected resource provides up-to-date, integrated coverage of the law of trade secrets, copyright, trademarks and patents, ideas, and non-competition agreements. It covers the latest legal developments in such hot areas as biotechnology, intellectual property, due diligence, software protection, copyright infringement, ownership of employee inventions, and more. By Michael A. Epstein. Epstein on Intellectual Property, Fifth Edition covers the latest legal developments in such hot areas as biotechnology, intellectual property, due diligence, software protection, copyright infringement, ownership of employee inventions, and more. You will consult this reference for expert answers to questions such as how to: Prevent the unauthorized use and disclosure of your company's trade secrets Determine what types of materials and information are covered by the copyright laws Apply for and enforce patents Reduce the risk of claims under the andquot;law of ideasandquot; Make effective use of noncompetition agreements Deal with the unique problems of biotechnology
Publication Date: 2005- (kept current with supplements)
This book is designed to simplify the process of attaching a dollar amount to intangible assets, be it for licensing, mergers and acquisitions, loan collateral, or investment purposes. It provides practical tools for evaluating the investment aspects of licensing and joint venture decisions, and discusses the legal, tax, and accounting practices and procedures related to such arrangements; examines the business economics of strategies involving intellectual property licensing and joint ventures; and provides analytical models that can be used to determine reasonable royalty rates for licensing and for determining fair equity splits in joint venture arrangements.
This guide covers licensing in all substantive areas of intellectual property, and provides practical guidance on drafting agreements and contracts. Topics covered include: the licensing characteristics of patents, trade secrets, trademarks and copyrights; the licensing of multiple intellectual property; antitrust considerations; the effect of NAFTA on licensing; and drafting and sample contract clauses. At least 30 different types of complete licensing forms are provided at the end of the set.
This definitive work on copyright law is a rich resource for the expert as well as the practitioner just beginning to explore the arena. Nimmer on Copyright has appeal both to the domestic and international audience. Accompanying the emergence of global communications, U.S. copyright issues are increasingly relevant to foreign parties whose protected works are easily being transmitted from foreign locales into the U.S.
In-depth, comprehensive analysis of modern U.S. copyright law affecting printed works, plays and motion pictures, music, artistic property, software and digital content delivered over the Internet. Up-to-date guidance on the Digital Millennium Copyright Act -- including copyright protection to combat piracy and rules to determine liability for online infringement. Expert insights into open questions of law and suggested lines of argument to plan the most effective strategies for your clients -- and maximize the scope of their copyright protection. Outstanding litigation forms provided by top intellectual property litigators.State-of-the-art transactional forms with side-by-side commentary written by leading copyright law practitioners. Text of all relevant statutes, regulations, treaties and legislative histories.
A one-stop shop for the law related to copyright, Patry on Copyright provides extensive discussion of remedial, jurisdictional, choice-of-law, and international issues unparalleled in other legal work. Patry on Copyright has been cited by state and federal courts, including every federal court of appeals and the U.S. Supreme Court. The author provides an encyclopedic analysis of copyright, placing court opinions and statutes in their real-world context.
This work provides every legal detail needed to understand, secure and protect a patent claim. Chisum on Patents is a recognized authority on US patent law, cited by courts in all jurisdictions as well as the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit.
Moy's Walker on Patents, 4th offers a comprehensive and analytical treatment of the history of patent law, the patent system's organization and process, patentability issues, and statutory law and caselaw on other patent law issues. Examines patent law in light of property law, social policies, and linguistic theory. Provides quick and easy access to cases and statutes. Reviews the law for appellate argument on unresolved legal issues, such as hybrid claiming. Explains underlying ideas and proposes resolutions to unresolved issues in the field.
Patent Law Fundamentals provides new attorneys and patent law specialists alike with in-depth information on current patent law. Research any patent issue and formulate strategies. Prepare a patent application, with an emphasis on claim drafting. Prosecute an application before the Patent and Trademark Office. Understand interference proceedings in the PTO. Identify the differences in patent law between the U.S. and other countries.
Multivolume set provides a comprehensive analysis of the law of unfair competition as it relates to trademarks (registrability and infringement), passing-off, trade secrets, misappropriations, price discrimination, predatory pricing, and monopolies. Coverage also includes suggestions for protection against unfair competition, and acquisition, transfer, and abandonment. Other topics include government and business competition, interference with a competitor’s contractual rights and bargaining possibilities, interference by trade boycott and marketing restrictions, unlawful exploitation of competitor’s effort, confusing similarity, patent misuse, and covenants not to compete.
McCarthy on Trademarks and Unfair Competition provides the authoritative information and analysis needed to successfully represent clients in formulating, registering, licensing, protecting, and litigating trademarks and related rights. In print for 40 years and cited in more than 4,000 USPTO and federal court opinions, including 12 U.S. Supreme Court opinions, McCarthy on Trademarks and Unfair Competition is the leading guide for understanding and applying U.S. trademark law. This seven-volume publication explains trademark law with clear, concise analysis of cases and statutes.