Designed to help law students write and publish articles, this text provides detailed instructions for every aspect of the law school writing, research, and publication process. Topics covered include law review articles and student notes, seminar term papers, how to shift from research to writing, cite-checking others' work, publishing, and publicizing written works. With supporting documents available on http://volokh.com/writing, the book helps law students and everyone else involved in academic legal writing: professors save time and effort communicating basic points to students; law schools satisfy the American Bar Association's second- and third-year writing requirements; and law reviews receive better notes from their staff. The Fifth Edition, based on the author's experience teaching his newly designed Intensive Editing Workshop and First Amendment Amicus Brief Clinic, adds material on editing, rebutting counterarguments, writing strategy, identifying and using the key assets of the article, fighting "the curse of knowledge," and submitting articles to law reviews. It also adds extra examples of sound writing, as well as editing exercises.
This best-selling coursebook on legal research is known for its clear, step-by-step instruction in the basics. Using a building-block approach, the text breaks material into discrete, readily comprehensible parts. Self-contained chapters on sources make the book flexible for any type of legal research course. Useful pedagogy throughout the text includes end-of-chapter checklists, clear examples, and summary charts. Helpful sample pages and examples of research sources guide students through the presentation, and an accompanying workbook provides exercises to test comprehension. The Fifth Edition provides thoroughly updated coverage of the research platforms such as WestlawNext, Lexis Advance, and Google Scholar, including the most current information about their features and use. All sample pages and screen shots have been updated. Features: Accessible, clear, step-by-step instruction on the basics of legal research Building-block approach breaks material into discrete and comprehensible parts Self-contained chapters on research sources flexible for any type of legal research course Useful pedagogy end-of-chapter checklists clear examples summary charts Helpful sample pages and examples of research sources Accompanying workbook with exercises Thoroughly updated, the Fifth Edition presents: Fresh coverage, most current information about features and use of research platforms, including WestlawNext Lexis Advance Google Scholar All sample pages and screen shots updated
A marriage of the newest forms of legal research and the underlying principles of legal information, Finding the Law provides a comprehensive treatment of print and digital sources of legal information, concentrating on the basic elements of legal research covered by most law school courses. Designed to be readable, the book serves as both a text and a reference guide for legal researchers. It covers the context of legal research and includes information on state legal research guides; bibliographies; court reports; case verification and updating, case finding; and sources of federal regulatory agency rules, regulations, and adjudications. Finding the Law offers guidance on how to read a case and deal with legal authority and provides up-to-date information via a corresponding Web site.
Legal Research Illustrated offers an authoritative introduction to legal research, including the most recent methods and resources. This teaching tool provides an in-depth discussion of the legal research process, integrating electronic sources and other research aids. The Ninth Edition includes a new chapter on legal writing. Illustrations and charts help present and clarify fundamentals. Highlights of this edition include updated chapters covering the newest sources, with an emphasis on the Internet; major revisions of the chapters on federal legislation, federal legislative histories, administrative law, constitutional law, secondary sources, citators, electronic legal research, international and human rights law; and a revised glossary of legal research terms and updated appendixes.
The second edition of Legal Writing by Design remains unique in demonstrating how to transform thoughts into writing by explaining the link between thinking and writing. It doesn't just tell the reader to "argue by analogy" or to "apply the rule" it explains the design of the thinking involved in those processes and shows how to transform that design into writing. Through easily understandable hypotheticals, outlines, graphics, exercises, and writing samples, many garnered during the authors' combined forty-plus years of teaching legal writing and appellate advocacy to law students, Legal Writing by Design comprehensively demonstrates how to transform ideas into exceptional writing. It demystifies the writing process by explaining the design of (1) deductive and inductive reasoning, (2) analogical thinking, and (3) relevancy. Once that design is understood, writing becomes easy. Writing with liberal doses of humor, the authors provide clearly readable charts, examples, and templates throughout this second edition. All chapters include a chapter review, and many also provide writing prompts. In addition to chapters explaining the fundamentals of writing legal memos and briefs, Legal Writing by Design contains sections on (1) clear and effective writing; (2) the appellate process, including an easily understandable explanation of standards of review; (3) oral argument techniques and practice; (4) the writing and editing process; (5) case briefing; and (6) professionalism in the practice of law. Exercises corresponding to the principles explained are included throughout most chapters, with answers provided in a separate Teacher's Manual. Successfully used for over ten years by thousands of law school students, Legal Writing by Design is the perfect tool for anyone - attorneys, legal assistants, pro se litigants, undergraduate students, or the public - who seeks the ideal way to analyze issues, to write clearly, and to write persuasively.
A long-time best-selling comprehensive text for basic legal research, The Process of Legal Research: Practices and Resources, 9E melds a rich discussion of legal authorities with a presentation of strategic processes for researching using the vast array of resources now available to the legal researcher. With readability in mind, The Process of Legal Research is written to engage various learners through streamlined text, graphics, in-text scenarios that draw on first-year topics, sample documents, and self-assessment questions. Covering sources from dictionaries to international and tribal law, and presenting and repeatedly demonstrating ten practices that distinguish skilled researchers, the book zeroes in on current, credible, cost-efficient options for each type of legal authority. To maximize students comprehension, the chapters conclude with a research scenario paired with questions for guided practice as well as a theoretical question to prompt class discussion.