This publication provides expert coverage of all aspects of municipal law, quick access to materials via a uniform decimal numbering system, and majority and minority positions with federal and local case annotation, arranged by jurisdiction. It also provides assistance in conducting additional research or for conducting complex litigation, with official and parallel citations and detailed footnotes.
This set gives you a fundamental understanding of local government law and upcoming trends. It focuses on the entity's power to act and provides a fresh approach to solving local government problems. It thoroughly describes the regulatory powers of government and their application. The text also takes municipal law a step further by emphasizing the interrelationships among the various units of government: local and federal government, localities and the state, and between local government entities.
This new edition continues the emphasis of prior editions on such topics as the relationship of local governments to state and federal governments; the needs of local governments for territory, for personnel, and for adequate financing; and the principal activities and possible liabilities of local government. There is increased attention to land use control, an area of growing activity on the part of institutions, ranging from the U.S. Supreme Court to local zoning boards. This includes material not found in some books in this field, on such important concepts as "smart growth," "new urbanism," and "regulatory takings."
This concise but comprehensive view of land use law presents legal essentials and incorporates developing judicial and legislative activity. Now in its 6th Edition, Land Use Law is now in a looseleaf format. The looseleaf binder design allows the Sixth Edition to become a living document, both in terms of personal use as well as future supplements.
Provides detailed coverage of zoning and planning with case law, including constitutional and statutory limitations on government zoning and planning powers, remedies for wrongful land use regulation, rezoning issues, and subdivision restrictions. Discusses tort actions and governmental immunities, especially beneficial in litigation, and provides extensive footnoting for state-specific referencing. Examines evolving issues such as: floodplain and wetlands regulation, growth management, regulation of hazardous wastes, historic preservation laws, variances, building permits, housing laws, restrictions on manufactured housing, private covenants, regulation of adult entertainment businesses, and regulation of religious land use. Provides procedural information, detailed index, and Table of Cases.
Publication Date: 2000- (kept current with pocket parts)
This authoritative work completely supersedes the original Restatement of this subject published in 1944 and restates one of the most complex and archaic bodies of 20th-century American law. It is a clear, comprehensive, rational body of law ideally suited for land use and development in the 21st century.
With the broadest scope, most forms and best index of any comparable publication available, along with two full volumes of model ordinances and detailed annotations organized by jurisdiction, Zoning and Land Use Controls gives you everything you need to practice real estate law with complete confidence.
Zoning and Land Use Controls covers: modern land use law trends such as sign regulation and adult-use businesses; federal and state regulation; zoning procedures and judicial review; model ordinances; site plans; sample building permits; zoning application forms.