Evidence Overview
Evidence: Summaries and Explanations
Examples and Explanations for Evidence (Print) by Call Number: Study Guide Collection KF8935.Z9 B48 2020ISBN: 9781543807653Publication Date: 2020- Examples and Explanations for Evidence (Harvard Law Access) by Call Number: Wolters Kluwer Online Study Aid LibraryISBN: 9781543807653Publication Date: 2020
Evidence in a Nutshell, 6th ed. by Call Number: Law School KF8935.Z9 R6 2012ISBN: 0314278338Publication Date: 2012
Federal Rules of Evidence in a Nutshell by Call Number: Study Guide Collection KF8935.Z9 G73 2018ISBN: 9781683289814Publication Date: 10th edition, 2018
Understanding Evidence by Call Number: Study Guide Collection KF8935 .G52 2018ISBN: 9781531009892Publication Date: 5th ed., 2018
McCormick on Evidence by Call Number: Study Guide Collection KF8935 .M222 2020ISBN: 9781684674763Publication Date: 8th ed., 2020Hornbook series
Evidence Law, a Student's Guide to the Law of Evidence As Applied in American Trials by Call Number: Study Guide Collection KF8935 .P368 2018ISBN: 9781634609357Publication Date: 4th ed., 2018Hornbook series
Study Tools
Audio CaseFiles
Download recordings of cases commonly read in first and second year courses.
- Audiocasefiles on Evidence
This link opens in a new window
- LexisNexis Courtroom Cast Sign UpHarvard Law School access only. First time users: please register with your HLS email address
- Audiocasefiles by Evidence Casebook
- This link opens in a new window
CALI
Test your knowledge!
CALI provides access to an extensive collection of interactive, computer-based lessons designed to augment traditional law school instruction. Use the lessons to supplement your studies and to review specific concepts.
- CALI Authorization Code & RegistrationHarvard Law School access only. First time users: please register using the HLSL CALI Authorization code.
[LII] WEX
Wex is a free legal dictionary and encyclopedia sponsored and hosted by the Legal Information Institute at the Cornell Law School. Wex entries contain a definition, subject overview and useful links. All entries are collaboratively created and professionally reviewed
Books & Articles
Evidence in Depth
Go deeper with these leading works on evidence or search HOLLIS for books and articles.
Search HOLLIS
Treatises on Evidence
Federal Evidence, 3d edition by 
This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Law School KF8935 .L68 2007xISBN: 010821633Publication Date: 20076 volume treatise.
Trial Evidence, Fourth Edition by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Law School KF8935 .M28 2009ISBN: 0735577234Publication Date: 2009- Weinstein's federal evidence (Lexis login) byCall Number: Harvard Depository KF8935 W3912xPublication Date: 1997-Print updated through 2007.
Online via LexisAdvance - Federal Practice and Procedure (Westlaw login) byCall Number: Law School KF 8840 .W68Publication Date: 1969-This leading treatise on federal practice has several volumes on the Federal Rules of Evidence
The New Wigmore
The New Wigmore: A Treatise on Evidence5 volume set of treatises addressing issues in civil and criminal litigation
Available in print and on Westlaw. Updated annually.- Vol. 1: Selected Rules of Limited Admissability, rev. ed. by
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Law School KF8935 .L46 2002Publication Date: 2002 - Vol. 2: Evidentiary Privileges, 2nd ed. by
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Law School KF8958 .I49 2009Publication Date: 2009 - Vol. 3: Expert Evidence, 2d ed. by
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Law School KF8961 .K39 2011xPublication Date: 2011 - Vol. 4: Evidence of Other Misconduct and Similar Events, 2d ed. by
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Law School KF8935 .L46 2009Publication Date: 2009 - Vol. 5: Impeachment and Rehabilitation by
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Law School KF8950 .P37 2012Publication Date: 2012
Find Articles & Working Papers
Search these law databases or try Google scholar for more articles
Articles
- Westlaw Journals & Law ReviewsJournals and Law Reviews contains full text documents from law reviews and CLE materials from U.S. and Canadian based publications. Coverage varies by publication with most going back to the 1980s or 1990s.
- Find Secondary Sources on Evidence in LexisAdvance
This link opens in a new window
Before searching filter by Category>Secondary Sources and Practice Area & Topic>Evidence
Working Papers
- Browse Recent Evidence Articles on SSRNSee the latest papers on evidence uploaded by legal scholars.
- Digital access to scholarship at Harvard (DASH)
- bepressbepress is another academic repository that contains both published and working papers.
Rules, Statutes & Cases
Federal Rules
- Federal Rules of Evidence (House Judiciary Documents)Printed for the House Judiciary Committee
- Federal Rules of Evidence (Westlaw)Includes history, annotations, notes of decisions
- Federal Rules of Evidence (West)Law School KF8931.7 .U64
Current version in stacks
Evidence Case Law
- Listen to Evidence Cases on AudioCaseFilesDownload mp3s, listen online, view excerpts from major evidence cases.
- Search for Cases on Evidence in LexisAdvanceFilter your search by Practice Area & Topic>Evidence
Evidence Blogs & News
Evidence Prof Blog
Evidence Prof Blog
Loading ...
Evidence: Selected Websites
- Federal Judicial Rulemaking"[T]he federal judiciary's web site on the federal rules of practice, procedure, and evidence.This site provides access to the national and local rules currently in effect in the federal courts, as well as background information on the federal rules and the rulemaking process."
- The Evidence ProjectProposed revisions to the Federal Rules of Evidence
Getting Help
Contact Us!
Ask Us! Submit a question or search our knowledge base.
Chat with us! Chat with a librarian (HLS only)
Email: research@law.harvard.edu
Contact Historical & Special Collections at specialc@law.harvard.edu
Meet with Us Schedule an online consult with a Librarian
Hours Library Hours
Classes View Training Calendar or Request an Insta-Class