Quick Links
Best Bets for Canadian Legal Research
Subscription Databases
- Lexis Advance QuickLawFor on-campus access, click on the top-right menu "Product Sign-In" and select "Lexis Advance QuickLaw."
- Lexology ProCan find Canadian resources by selecting Resources -> Browse by -> See all jurisdictions.
Free Resources
Print Collection Locations
Call Number Ranges for Canadian Materials
| KE | Law of Canada |
| KE1-9450 | Federal Law. Common and collective provincial law |
| KEA1-599 | Alberta |
| KEB1-599 | British Columbia |
| KEM1-599 | Manitoba |
| KEN1-599 | New Brunswick |
| KEN1201-1799 | Newfoundland |
| KEN5401-5999 | Northwest Territories |
| KEN7401-7999 | Nova Scotia |
| KEO1-1199 | Ontario |
| KEP1-599 | Prince Edward Island |
| KEQ1-1199 | Quebec |
| KES1-599 | Saskatchewan |
| KEY1-599 | Yukon Territory |
| KEZ1-9999 | Individual cities, A-Z |
Basic Legal Structure
Government
Canada is a federal parliamentary democracy with three distinct elements: The Crown, the Senate, and the House of Commons. In addition to the federal government, Canada is comprised of ten provinces and three territorial governments. Each province operates its own unicameral legislature.
The head of the government is the Prime Minister, with the Governor General representing the Crown in carrying out most of the constitutional and ceremonial duties.
For more information on the structure of the government, visit here.
Court System
Canada has two parallel systems--in addition to the National Federal Court system, each province and territory has its own court system. Canada also has a Military Justice System and a separate Tax Court.
The Federal court consists of three levels:
The provincial court system consists of:
- The provincial or territorial court
- The Superior Court
- The Provincial Court of Appeal
The Supreme Court of Canada also acts as the court of last resort on the provincial level. More information can be found on the Canadian Government's "About Canada's System of Justice" page.
Case Law
Best Bets
Find federal, provincial, and administrative law decisions:
Library Resources
Supreme & Federal Cases
- Reports of the Supreme Court of CanadaCall Number: KE140.A2 & Online - LLMCPublication Date: 1878 - 1922
Provincial Cases
- Master Key Word IndexCall Number: KE176 .M37x 1990Publication Date: 1990"This index applies to all our reports: Alberta reports, Atlantic provinces reports, Federal trial reports, Manitoba reports (2d), National reporter, New Brunswick reports (2d), Newfoundland and Prince Edward Island reports, Nova Scotia reports (2d), Ontario appeal cases, Quebec appeal cases, Saskatchewan reports."
Administrative Cases
Statutes and Legislation
Legislation, Statutory Elements, and Bills
Similar to federal statutes within the United States, a federal statute in Canada applies to every province and territory within Canada. A provincial statute only has mandatory authority within its own jurisdiction. However, unlike in the United States, if a power is not mentioned as belonging to a provincial government, then that power lies with the national Parliament.
- Guide to Making Federal Acts and RegulationsPrivy Council Office
- Parliamentary Bills - LEGISInfo1994 - present
Regulations
Regulations
Similar to the consolidation of Canada's federal and provincial statutes, the federal regulations of Canada were last consolidated in 1978, in the Consolidated Regulations of Canada, 1978.
- Canada GazettePart I: Notices and proposed regulations; Part II: Official regulations
- Proposed RegulationsComment on open regulatory proposals.
Treaties
Treaties and Agreements
Since 1928, all Canadian treaties have been published in the Canada Treaty Series (CTS). And as of April 2014, CTS became only available electronically. Additionally, most Canadian treaties are also published in the U.N. Treaty Series, or the League of Nations Treaty Series. '
Prior to 1928 are the "Historic Treaties" from 1701 - 1923.
- Canada Treaty Series - Treaty Law DivisionThe Treaty Law Division of the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade provides legal advice of Canada's treaty-making activities. It also provides online access to the "Canada Treaty Series", which includes PDFs of treaties since 2014, with select treaties prior to 2014.
- Canada Treaty Series (HLS Library)From 1928 to 1995. And the French edition from 1928 - 1940.
- United Nations Treaty Series - HeinOnlineFrom 1946 - current.
- League of Nations Treaty Series - HeinOnlineFrom 1920 - 1946
- Historic Treaty Texts - Government of CanadaRead transcripts of historic treaties. Not all treaties have been transcribed due to the absence of the original source document.
Secondary Sources
Good Options for Current, Topical Research
- Lexology Pro - Research Canada (HLS Only)The link will work once logged into Lexology. Otherwise, once connected to Lexology through HOLLIS, select Resources- Browse By- Jurisdictions - Canada. Includes current information on Canadian legal development.
Treatise Collections
The library collects major treatises on Canadian law. Use the link below to locate books on Canadian law.
Alternatively, you can find select series on Canadian law below:
Citation Guide
Additional Resources
Getting Help
Contact Us!
Ask Us! Submit a question or search our knowledge base.
Chat with us! Chat with a librarian (HLS only)
Email: research@law.harvard.edu
Contact Historical & Special Collections at specialc@law.harvard.edu
Meet with Us Schedule an online consult with a Librarian
Hours Library Hours
Classes View Training Calendar or Request an Insta-Class
Credit and CC License
Credit
Thank you to Anna Martin for her work on the initial version of this guide.
CC License
This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.
You may reproduce any part of it for noncommercial purposes as long as credit is included and it is shared in the same manner.