Searching Biography and Genealogy Master Index enables you to determine which publication to consult for biographical information. BGMI is an index to nearly 15.4 million biographical sketches in current and retrospective reference books, covering both contemporary and historical figures throughout the world. For each individual, BGMI provides name, date of birth (and death), and the names and dates of biographical source publications that contain information about the individual. In cases where BGMI provides multiple listings for the same person, you can choose the most convenient source or locate multiple sketches to compare and expand information furnished by a single listing.
This database combines biographies from Gale Group sources. Biography Resource Center also includes full-text articles from more than 250 periodicals, access to more than 1.4 million thumbnail biographies in volumes of twenty Marquis Who's Who® titles dating back to 1985, and links to related web sites. Search for people based on one or more personal facts, such as year of birth/death, place of birth/ death, nationality, ethnicity, occupation, or gender; or, combine criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search.
This database combines biographical information from periodicals, news media, primary sources and Gale reference titles. Reference sources include Encyclopedia of World Biography, Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History, and Contemporary Authors Online. Search for people based on one or more personal facts, such as year of birth/death, place of birth/ death, nationality, ethnicity, occupation, or gender; or, combine criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search.
Current Biography Illustrated reflects the entire contents of the printed monthly Current Biography—a trusted resource in library collections since 1940. This is where you will find reliable information about the people making tomorrow’s headlines plus historical figures back to World War II. With more than 15,000 full text biographies, more than 9,400 obituaries and more than 19,500 lively images, this database is sure to please any researcher. CBI complements the American National Biography (ANB) which includes only deceased persons. CB is indexed in Biography and Genealogy Master Index (BGMI).
This is the electronic version of the new edition of the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography published in 2004, the sixty volumes of which include 50,000 biographies and some 10,000 images of deceased "men and women who have shaped all aspects of the British past." Enhancements available online include the ability to view articles from the earlier edition of the DNB; a "Themes" section that provides access to "reference lists" of individuals who have held particular offices (e.g., Archbishops of Canterbury) and to essays on various topics (e.g., The General Election of 1964: Forty Years On), and links to relevant web sites. Each year the first of the updates incorporates the biographies of people who have died since the year 2000 cut-off date for the print version. (Those for 2001 were added in January 2005).
Oxford Islamic Studies Online features articles, biographies, primary texts, Qur'anic materials, and books by scholars in areas such as global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture. Articles come from The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World, The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World, The Islamic World: Past and Present, The Oxford Dictionary of Islam, The Oxford History of Islam, and What Everyone Needs To Know About Islam. The Koran Interpreted (a verse translation by A.J. Arberry) and The Qur'an (a prose translation by M.A.S. Abdel Haleem) are included, as is the first electronic version of Hanna E. Kassis's A Concordance of the Qur'an.
Covers prehistory through the present. The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP) is a "dynamic reference work" written and maintained by the entire philosophy profession. The essays cover individuals, concepts, and events related to all aspects of philosophy. It has greater depth than other philosophy reference works and is continually growing, with quarterly archives to ensure accurate citations for scholars and long-term access to the historical development of ideas.
4th millennium B.C.-present. See the Guide to World Biographical Information System. World Biographical Information System Online (WBIS Online) is the most comprehensive biographical database with information on persons, families, and groups from all classes and professions, from all countries and regions of the world, from the 4th millennium BC to the 20th century. WBIS Online provides digital facsimile images of the publisher K.G. Saur's Biographical Archives on microfiche, which compile biographical articles from printed reference works published from the 16th to the 20th centuries.
As yet, not all entries for individuals listed in the World Biographical Information System are linked to full text biographical entries. In most of these cases, the biographies will be found in the original microfiche edition of the World Biographical Archives, available in the Atkins Reference Room in Widener Library. For further information call: 617-495-2411.
Biographical and directory data on nearly 22,300 prominent persons worldwide. Allows full text, nationality, and profession searches. Earlier editions, from 1974 to about 2 years before current edition, indexed in Biography and Genealogy Master Index (BGMI).
Biographical and directory data on nearly 22,300 prominent persons worldwide. Allows full text, nationality, and profession searches. Earlier editions, from 1974 to about 2 years before current edition, indexed in Biography and Genealogy Master Index (in Harvard Libraries).