Research Guide for Primary Sources on Civil Rights

Personal Writings in HOLLIS and WorldCat

In the HOLLIS Catalog and WorldCat several Subject terms refer to personal writings, for example:

 

• Civil rights workers -- Mississippi -- Biography
• Wells-Barnett, Ida B., 1862-1931 -- Diaries
• Marshall, Thurgood, 1908-1993 -- Correspondence

The Reminiscences of Roy Wilkins. Microfiche. 131 p.
Microforms (Lamont)  |  Microfiche W 286 vol.1
HOLLIS Record

Printed diaries, autobiographies, etc.

Autobiographies by Americans of color 1980-1994: an annotated bibliography lists 499 autobiographies of persons of African, Asian, Mexican, Puerto Rican, and Native American heritage with brief summaries. Reprints of pre-1980 works are included but usually not annotated. Index includes countries of origin, topics, occupations and names, but not titles. Continued by Autobiographies by Americans of color, 1995-2000: an annotated bibliography which lists 674 autobiographies including items missed in the earlier volume.

Black Americans in autobiography: an annotated bibliography of autobiographies and autobiographical books written since the Civil War, by Russell C. Brignano. Rev. ed. Durham, NC: Duke University Press, 1984.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC E185.96.Z99 B74x, 1984
--Lists in two sections full autobiographies and other life writings (diaries, personal narratives, etc.) with occupation, organization, geographic, chronological, and title indexes.

American diaries: an annotated bibliography of published American diaries and journals, by Laura Arksey. 2 v. Detroit, Mich.: Gale Research, 1 983, 1987.
LOCATION: Lamont: REF.ROOM CT214.Z99 A74x 1983
LOCATION: Widener: RR 3623.18.15
--This is a valuable source because it includes a detailed subject index and includes diaries published as periodical articles.

A guide to finding additional diaries and autobiographies is available in Finding Biographical Information.