Harvard Collections

Directory to Photographs at Harvard
An online guide to the photograph collections held in libraries, archives, museums, and teaching hospitals at Harvard. It offers researchers a bird’s-eye view of the estimated 51 repositories at Harvard that hold approximately 7.5 million photographic images.






Harvard Art Museums Collection
The Art Museum Collections database provides access to basic information about every object on exhibition in our galleries, and about 81,000 works of art, more than half of the permanent holdings of the Harvard University Art Museums. It is a research discovery tool and does not present all of the documentation held by the Harvard University Art Museums on its collections.





Peabody Museum: Photographic Archives
Ranging from daguerreotypes to colored transparencies, the Photographic Archives' collection of images number about half a million and range across the archaeology and ethnology of the world, with particular emphasis in those areas where the Museum's holdings in material culture are the richest. The Archives not only provide primary material for anthropological research, but also black-and-white images and 4x5 inch color transparencies for commercial publishing companies. Contact pmresrch@fas.harvard.edu for more information.




Finding Images of East Asia at Harvard and Beyond
This research guide provides an overview of East Asia-related photographs and other visual resources held at Harvard and elsewhere. It is not comprehensive for holdings at Harvard or of resources available elsewhere. The focus is primarily on photographs, although information on other types of images is included selectively.





Baker Library Historical Collections. Web Guide to Photographic Collections
The camera has chronicled the history of industry since the invention of the medium in 1839, and the photograph holdings at Baker Library Historical Collections are the result of a tradition of extensive collecting efforts for research and teaching that began with the founding of Harvard Business School (HBS) in 1908.








Early Japanese Photography Early Photography of Japan

This is a virtual collection of more than 40 souvenir photograph albums and illustrated publications with over 2,000 images from Widener Library, the Fine Arts Library, and Harvard-Yenching Library. These images primarily document the early history of commercial photography in Japan and are representative of what is often called Japanese tourist photography or Yokohama shashin. They reflect the Western image of traditional Japanese culture before the dramatic transformation brought about by modernization during the Meiji period (1868-1912).



 

 


Buddhist NunThe Hedda Morrison Photographs of China 1933-1946

The Harvard-Yenching Library holds some 5,000 photographs and 10,000 negatives taken by Hedda Hammer Morrison (1908–1991) while resident in Beijing from 1933 to 1946. The photographs, mounted in thematic albums prepared by Mrs. Morrison, and the negatives, were bequeathed to the Harvard-Yenching Library, "the best permanent home for her vision of a city and people that she loved [Alastair Morrison]."