Harvard Exhibitions and News

THOREAU'S MAINE WOODS A Journey in Photographs with Scot Miller

 

In commemoration of the 150th anniversary of the publication of Henry David Thoreau’s The Maine Woods, this exhibition features the stunning photographs of Scot Miller, who has traversed the state of Maine for years, retracing the footsteps of Thoreau

Full story

Museums

American Museum of Photography
A virtual museum with changing online exhibitions. The site also includes information on early photographic processes, preservation, and links to other sites on the history of photography.

Center for Creative Photography - University of Arizona
The Center for Creative Photography is an archives and research center that holds more archival collections and individual works by 20th-century North American photographers than any other museum in the United States. It features the archives of more than 50 notable photographers, including Ansel Adams, Edward Weston, Garry Winogrand, Harry Callahan, and Richard Avedon.

George Eastman House International Museum of Photography.
The world’s oldest photography museum and one of the world’s oldest film archives, all housed in National Historic Landmark, the Eastman House.

The Harry Ransom Research Center
Best known for its treasures of nineteenth-century photography, including the world's first photograph. The collection has expanded into such diverse areas as fine art, photojournalism, documentary photography, the history of photography, and its technology with holdings of over five million prints and negatives, supplemented by books, manuscripts, journals, and ephemera of significant photographers.

Historic New England - Photography
In its first one hundred years, Historic New England's Library and Archives has amassed more than 500,000 photographs that depict innumerable facets of life in the region from the nineteenth century to the present.

International Center for Photography
The International Center of Photography (ICP) is the world’s leading institution dedicated to the practice and understanding of photography and the reproduced image in all its forms. Through exhibitions, educational programs, and community outreach, ICP offers an open forum for dialogue about the role images play in culture. 

Museum of Fine Arts Boston - Photography

Museum of Modern Art (New York City)
The Museum's holdings of more than 25,000 works constitute one of the most important collections of modern and contemporary photography in the world. As diverse as photography itself, the collection includes work not only by artists, but also by journalists, scientists, entrepreneurs, and amateurs.

Museum of Photographic Arts

The Photographic Resource Center at Boston University
The PRC provides its members and the general public with thought-provoking exhibitions; distinctive education programs; wide-ranging resources; and unique special events.

Victoria and Albert Museum. Exploring Photography.
Contains information on photographers, selected photographs from the museum’s collection, and descriptions with images of photographic processes.

Exhibitions in New England

Exhibitions beyond New England