Encyclopedias & Guides

Collector's guide to early photographs / O. Henry Mace. Iola, WI : Krause Publications, c1999.

The Complete photographer; a complete guide to amateur and professional photography / Willard D. Morgan, general editor. New York, National educational alliance, inc., 1942-43.

Encyclopedia of nineteenth-century photography / John Hannavy, editor. New York : Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2007.

Encyclopedia of twentieth-century photography / Lynne Warren, editor. New York : Routledge, 2006.

The Focal encyclopedia of photography / edited by Leslie Stroebel and Richard Zakia. Boston : Focal Press, c1993.

Guide to photographic collections at the Smithsonian Institution / Diane Vogt O'Connor. Washington : Smithsonian Institution Press, c1989-

The ICP encyclopedia of photography. New York : Crown, c1984.  

Incunabula of British photographic literature : a bibliography of British photographic literature, 1839-75, and British books illustrated with original photographs / Helmut Gernsheim. London ; Berkeley : Scolar Press, 1984.  

International photography : George Eastman House index to photographers, collections, and exhibitions / Andrew H. Eskind. New York : G.K. Hall, 1998.

Looking at photographs : a guide to technical terms / Gordon Baldwin and Martin Jürgens ; Los Angeles, Calif. : J. Paul Getty Museum, 2009. 

A new history of photography / edited by Michel Frizot. Köln : Könemann, c1998.

Nineteenth-century photography : an annotated bibliography, 1839-1879 / by William S. Johnson. Boston, Mass. : G.K. Hall, 1990. 

The Oxford companion to the photograph / edited by Robin Lenman. Oxford; New York : Oxford University Press, c2005.  

Photography and photographers to 1900 : an annotated bibliography / Robert S. Sennett. New York : Garland, 1985.  

PhotoSpeak : a guide to the ideas, movements, and techniques of photography, 1839 to the present / Gilles Mora. New York : Abbeville Press Publishers, 1998.  

The photograph collector's guide / Lee D. Witkin, Barbara London. Boston : New York Graphic Society, c1979.

Subject Guide