History of Photography

American Memory: Photos/Prints: 65 Collections
Browse thousands of images from the Online collections, from Ansel Adams' Photographs of Japanese-American Internment at Manzanar to baseball cards 1887-1914 to images of Native American culture in the Pacific Northwest and more.

Timeline of Photography
, Krase, Andreas, editor.
A history of photography in the 19t century from the perspective of Hermann Krone (1827-1916), an early photographer, scientist, and educator who wanted to “establish photography as an applied science and to make it an acknowledged field of academic research.”

Library of Congress. Prints and Photographs Division. Prints and Photographs Reading Room
An extremely comprehensive and useful site for studying the history of photography and providing access to the Library of Congress’s photograph collections. The online catalog describes more than 50 percent of the Library’s 13.7 million prints and photographs and includes many digital images. The Cataloging and Digitizing Toolbox is an invaluable resource for librarians, archivists, and curators.

A History of Photography from Its Beginnings Till the 1920s by Leggat, Robert.
Created by a teacher and longtime member of the Royal Photographic Society, this site offers portraits of important photographers of the period, a bibliography of print resources, and information on early photographic processes, styles, and movements.

Photomuse
A collaborative site from the George Eastman House and International Center for Photography designed to be an online resource for scholarship in the history of photography. Includes a chronology of photography with cross-referenced timelines of politics and culture and searching across collections from both institutions.

Notes on Photographs
Established by George Eastman House in 2006, Notes On Photographs is a tool for communication among students, historians, collectors, curators, conservators, archivists, practitioners, and the interested public. The site is an international forum for gathering information that enhances the communal understanding of the photographic print.

Smithsonian American Art Museum. Helios: Photography Online.
The First Century of American Photographs, Secrets of the Dark Chamber: The Art of the American Daguerreotype, and other online collections provide access to hundreds of photographs from the Smithsonian.

National Archives and Records Administration. Picturing the Century: One Hundred Years of Photography from the National Archives
Online version of 1999-2000 exhibit of photographs from the National Archives, arranged chronologically with separate portfolios for seven notable American photographers. 

Daguerreian Society
Information on the history, science, and art of the daguerreotype; and links to numerous online galleries of daguerreotype images.

Griffiths, Alan. Luminous-Lint for Collectors and Connoisseurs of Fine Photography.
Includes a photographers index with biographical information and sections for themes, techniques and processes, exhibitions, timelines, and books. This heavily illustrated site is a work in progress created by Alan Griffiths. It is described as, “The leading collaborative knowledge-base for significant vintage and contemporary photography, the history of photography and photographers.”

British Library Catalog of Photographically Illustrated Books

Search and view information and images from one of the world's most comprehensive collections of photographically illustrated books and texts in many languages relating to the history and development of photography, from 1839 to 1914.