Biographies

Photography Database 
Contains the names, dates, and nationalities of more than 60,000 photographers.  Click on "Launch Database" at the left of the page to begin.



American women photographers : a selected and annotated bibliography / Martha Kreisel. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1999.  

Black photographers, 1840-1940 : an illustrated bio-bibliography / Deborah Willis-Thomas. New York : Garland Pub., 1985. 

Biographies of western photographers : a reference guide to photographers working in the 19th century American West / by Carl Mautz. Nevada City, Calif. : Carl Mautz Publishing, 1997. 

Contemporary photographers / executive editor, Martin Marix Evans. New York : St. James Press, c1995.

Craig, John. Craig’s Daguerreian Registry 
Alphabetical listing of Daguerreian photographers, with brief biographical information, based on 25 years of research.

Das Lexikon der Fotografen : 1900 bis heute / Hans-Michael Koetzle. München : Knaur, [2002] 

Grove Dictionary of Art Online 
Comprehensive art reference covering all forms of the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, graphic and decorative arts, and photography from prehistory to the 1990s.  Links to color images from the world's leading museums, picture libraries, and galleries.

International guide to nineteenth-century photographers and their works : based on catalogues of auction houses and dealers / Gary Edwards. Boston, Mass. : G.K. Hall, c1988. 

Macmillan biographical encyclopedia of photographic artists & innovators / Turner Browne, Elaine Partnow. New York : Macmillan ; London : Collier Macmillan, c1983. 

Maison Nicéphore Niépce: The Reference Site About the Inventor of Photography

Photographers encyclopaedia international 1839 to the present / Michèle Auer, Michel Auer. Hermance, Switzerland : Editions Camera obscura, c1985.  

Pioneer photographers of the far west : a biographical dictionary, 1840-1865 / Peter E. Palmquist and Thomas R. Kailbourn. Stanford, Calif. : Stanford University Press, 2000. 

Prestel-Lexikon der Fotografen : von den Anfängen 1839 bis zur Gegenwart : mit Glossar / herausgegeben von Reinhold Misselbeck.. München ; New York : Prestel, c2002. 

Women in Photography International 
Founded in 1981, Women in Photography International “promotes the visibility of women photographers and their work.”

Subject Guide