Persian Art

Pope, Arthur Upham. A Survey of Persian Art. 3rd ed. Ashiya, 1977; see esp. vol. 16: Bibliography: Islamic Persian Art to 1938.(FA 513.19 (16))

The bibliography volume incorporates all titles cited by Pope as well as more recent additions by the editors-a unique source of useful citations for this area of Islamic art. Although some of the scholarship in the text volumes of the Survey (first published in 1938) is by now dated and has been superseded by more recent studies, the plates are superb; as a whole the Survey represents a monumental effort to document the art of an entire civilization.

Trümpelmann, Leo. Der deutschsprachige Beitrag zur archäologischen und kunstgeschichtlichen Erforschung Irans, Bd. 1. Bis 1945: eine Bibliographie. Bonn, 1982. (WID-LC N7280 .T78 1982x)

Encyclopaedia Iranica, ed. E. Yarshater. London, 1982– s.v. "Architecture," "Art in Iran", etc. (RFA 78.66.2) also available online

Substantial bibliographies at the end of each section; coverage includes not only Iran proper, but also the wider Iranian cultural sphere, extending into India, China, Central Asia, the Caucasus, Anatolia and Mesopotamia, from the dawn of history to the present; the Iranica also has entries for particular genres of art, for individual artists, dynasties, patrons, sites, architectural monuments, and even for famous manuscripts (e.g. "Bāysonḡorī Šāh-nāma"); be alert to its idiosyncratic transliteration scheme (e.g. "khān" will appear as "kān", "Islām" as "Eslām", "Shāhrukh" as "Šāhrok")

Māfī, ‘Abbās. Kitābshināsī-i hunar = Bibliography of Arts. Tehran, 1976. (RFA 285.66.53.100)

A classified bibliography of studies publ. in Iran from 1893 to 1968 on all aspects of the arts.

Kitābshināsī-i hunar-i Islāmī = Islamic Art: A Bibliography. Qum, 2005. 655 pp. + CD (HOLLIS# 009965132)

Gulbun, Muḥammad. Kitābshināsī-i nigārgarī-i Īrān. Tehran, 1984. (RFA 285.66.35)

A classified bibliography of works on miniature & easel painting in Iran and artists' biographies;
also lists published reproductions of specific paintings; covers mainly publications in Persian.

Karīmzādah Tabrīzī, M.A. Aḥvāl va āsār-i naqqāshān-i qadīm-i Īrān va barkhī az mashāhīr-i nigārgarān-i Hind va ‘Usmānī. 3 vols. London, 1985-1991. (FA 3530.1)

A biographical dictionary of Persian, Mughal and Ottoman miniature painters, compiled from primary sources.

Rohani, Nasrin. A Bibliography of Persian Miniature Painting. Cambridge, Mass., 1982. (FA 3521.1)

An alphabetical compilation of titles compiled from Creswell, Index Islamicus and other sources; its most useful features are a chronological list of exhibitions of Persian miniature paintings (pp. 145-50) and a topical index (pp. 150-58) including names of artists, patrons, museums, etc.

Titley, Norah. Miniatures from Persian Manuscripts: A Catalogue and Subject Index of Paintings from Persia, India and Turkey in the British Library and the British Museum. London, 1977. (Fine Arts Fogg 56L84bo)

A guide to one of the world's major collections; the subject indexes in this and the following catalogues of illuminated Persian manuscripts are invaluable for iconographic research.

Robinson, B.W. Persian Paintings in the John Rylands Library: A Descriptive Catalogue. London, 1980.(Fine Arts Fogg 57 M26j)

The Chester Beatty Library: A Catalogue of the Persian Manuscripts and Miniatures. 3 vols. Dublin, 1959-1962. (Fine Arts Fogg 48 D81c 1959 Folio)

Blochet, Edgar. Les peintures des manuscrits orientaux de la Bibliothèque nationale. Paris, 1914-1920. (FA 3524.601.25 Folio)

Blochet, Edgar. Les enluminures des manuscrits orientaux - turcs, arabes, persans - de la Bibliothèque nationale. Paris, 1926. (FA 1125.36 Folio)

Musée du Louvre. Les miniatures persanes. Ed. Ivan Stchoukine. Paris, 1932. (Fine Arts Fogg 60 P23lao 1932)

Duda, Dorothea. Islamische Handschriften I: Persische Handschriften. Die illuminierten Handschriften und Inkunabeln der Österreichischen Nationalbibliothek, Bd. 4. Vienna, 1983. 2 vols. (FA3297.3.3 (4))

Grabar, Oleg. Mostly Miniatures: An Introduction to Persian Painting. Princeton, N.J., 2000. (FA3523.27)

Sims, Eleanor. Peerless Images: Persian Painting and Its Sources. New Haven, Ct., 2002. (FA3523.33)

Roxburgh, David J. The Persian Album, 1400-1600: From Dispersal to Collection. New Haven, 2005. (FAL-LC N7283 .R68 2005)

Roxburgh, David J. Prefacing the Image: The Writing of Art History in Sixteenth-century Iran. Leiden, 2001. (FA 514.601.10)

Persian Painting, from the Mongols to the Qajars: Studies in Honour of Basil W. Robinson. Ed. by Robert Hillenbrand. London, 2000. (FA 3523.21.5)

Phillip, Filiz Çakır. Enchanted Lines: Drawings from the Aga Khan Museum Collection. Toronto, 2014. (FAL-LC NC321.P55 2014)

Wilkinson, Charles. Nishapur: Pottery of the Early Islamic Period. New York, 1973. (FA 7647.560)

Watson, Oliver. Persian Lustre Ware. London, 1985. (FA 7647.450.8)

Porter, Yves. Le prince, l'artiste et l'alchimiste: La céramique dans le monde iranien Xe-XVIIIe siècle. Paris, 2011. (FAL-LC NK4147 .P67 2011)

Crowe, Yolande. Persia and China: Safavid Blue and White Ceramics in the Victoria & Albert Museum 1501-1738. London, 2002. (FA 7647.602.2)

Persian Pottery in the First Global Age: The Sixteenth and Seventeenth Centuries. Ed. by Lisa Golombek. Leiden, 2014. (FAL-LC NK4147.P48 2014)

Golombek, Lisa, Robert B. Mason, and Gauvin Bailey. Tamerlane's Tableware: A New Approach to the Chinoiserie Ceramics of Fifteenth and Sixteenth-century Iran. Costa Mesa, 1996. (FA 7647.602)

Mirfendereski, F., and A.F. Zonuzi. Ceramica nell'architettura in Persia. Firenze, 1992. (FA1928.14)

Grabar, Oleg. The Great Mosque of Isfahan. New York, 1990. (FA1925.463.1.1)

Daneshvari, Abbas. Medieval Tomb Towers of Iran: An Iconographical Study. Lexington, Ky., 1986. (FA 1924.440.1)

Brandenburg, D. Die Seldschuken: Baukunst des Islam in Persien und Turkmenien. Graz, 1980. (FA 1924.401.2)

Kadoi, Yuka. Islamic Chinoiserie: The Art of Mongol Iran. Edinburgh, 2009. (FAL-LC N7283.K33 2009)

Beyond the Legacy of Genghis Khan. Ed. by Linda Komaroff. Leiden, 2006. (FAL-LC DS 289.B49 2006)

Golombek, Lisa, and Donald Wilber. The Timurid Architecture of Iran and Turan. Princeton, 1988. (FA 1924.601.2)

O'Kane, Bernard. Timurid Architecture in Khurasan. Costa Mesa, Calf., 1987. (FA 1925.482.3)

Timurid Art and Culture: Iran and Central Asia in the Fifteenth Century. Ed. by Lisa Golombek & Maria Subtelny. Leiden, 1992. (FA 500.460.7.5)

Rizvi, Kishwar. The Safavid Dynastic Shrine: Architecture, Religion and Power in Early Modern Iran. London, 2011. (FAL-LC NA5983 .R5 2011)

Mélikian-Chirvani, Assadullah Souren. Le Chant du monde: l'art de l'Iran safavide. Paris, 2007. (FAL-LC N2783.M45 2007)

Safavid Art and Architecture. Ed. by Sheila Canby. London, 2002. (FA 514.601.18)

Babaie, Sussan. Isfahan and its Palaces: Statecraft, Shi'ism and the Architecture of Conviviality in Early Modern Iran. Edinburgh, 2008. (FAL-LC NA1487.I8 B33 2008)

Hunt for Paradise: Court Arts of Safavid Iran, 1501-1576. Ed. by Jon Thompson and Sheila Canby. Milan, 2003. (FA 513.100.2)

Carpets and Textiles in the Iranian World 1400-1700: Proceedings of the Conference Held at the Ashmolean Museum on 30-31 August 2003. Ed. by Jon Thompson, Daniel Shaffer and Pirjetta Mildh. Oxford, 2010. (FAL-LC NK2809.P4 I58 2003)

Taylor, Alice. Book Arts of Isfahan: Diversity and Identity in Seventeenth-Century Persia. Malibu, 1995. (FA 3525.463.1); also available online.

Woven from the Soul, Spun from the Heart: Textile Arts of Safavid and Qajar Iran, 16th-19th Centuries. Ed. by Carol Bier. Washington, D.C., 1987. (FA 7368.47.460.1)

Wulff, Hans. The Traditional Crafts of Persia. Cambridge, 1966. (Fine Arts Fogg 1058 P46)

Standard reference on traditional artisans and craftsmen of Iran and their methods.

Edwards, A. Cecil. The Persian Carpet: A Survey of the Carpet-weaving Industry of Persia. London, 1953. (FA 1085.34)

Royal Persian Paintings: The Qajar Epoch, 1785-1925. Ed. by Layla S. Diba. London, 1998. (FA 3528.11.2)

Artisans at the Crossroads: Persian Arts of the Qajar Period (1796-1925). Ed. by Iván Szántó and Béla Kelényi. Budapest, 2011. (FAL-LC NX574.A1 K4813 2010)

The Art and Material Culture of Iranian Shi'ism: Iconography and Religious Devotion in Shi'i Islam. Ed. by Pedram Khosronejad. New York, 2012. (FAL-LC N7280 .A78 2012)

The Baroness Marie-Thérèse Ullens de Schooten archive, at the Fine Arts Library, comprises more than 5,000 photographs, color slides, motion picture films and sound recordings made in Iran by the Baroness Ullens in the 1950s-60s. Many of the still images are available online on HOLLIS Images and Archnet. Archnet also has digitized online videos of the Baroness Ullens' documentary films. The sound recordings are available through the Archive of World Music at Harvard's Loeb Music Library.

Subject specialist

Andras Riedlmayer's picture
Andras Riedlmayer
Contact:
Aga Khan Program
Fine Arts Library
Harvard University
1805 Cambridge Street
Cambridge MA 02138 USA
617-495-3372
Website