Contemporary Language

What is the meaning of terms used in this source?  Do they have meanings difference from those in current use?

Large old unabridged dictionaries are useful

A compendious dictionary of the English language, by Noah Webster. New Haven: From Sidney's Press. For Hudson & Goodwin, Book-sellers, Hartford, and Increase Cooke & Co. Book-sellers, 1806, 408 pages
HOLLIS Record
-- For later editions use HathiTrust Search Author: Webster Title: Dictionary.  Also Worcester’s Dictionary

Search the phrase “Webster’s international dictionary of the English language” in HOLLIS, changing Limit to: anywhere to Limit to: title. Use the HOLLIS (not the Everything tab) and Sorted by Year (ascending):

Search in HOLLIS and HathiTrust:
"Century dictionary an encyclopedic lexicon” several editions 1889-1914
“New Century dictionary of the English language” several editions 1927-1948

Oxford English Dictionary (click on full entry in order to see uses of this word in context at different points in time)

Dictionary of Regional American English (DARE)

A dictionary of American English on historical principles,ed. by Sir William A. Craigie and James R. Hulbert. The University of Chicago press, 1938-44, 4 v.
HOLLIS Record

Contemporary subject encyclopedias and dictionaries are useful in interpreting primary sources. They can be found by an Expanded Search in the HOLLIS Catalog with, e.g., <Medicine dictionaries> [Keyword search], limited by year range.

An illustrated dictionary of medicine, biology and allied sciences ..., by George M. Gould. 3d ed. Philadelphia, Blakiston, 1897, c1894.

Subject: Medicine--Dictionaries.
Natural history--Dictionaries.