Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

New Zealand Legal Research

Articles

1. The Index to Legal Periodicals & Books (ILP) (Westlaw) provides citations to articles in over 800 legal periodicals such as law reviews, bar association journals, yearbooks, institutes, and government publications from August 1981 to the present. In 1994, ILP began indexing legal books and now includes approximately 2,000 per year. The Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective (ILPR) (HU ID and PIN required.) indexes over 750 legal periodicals and covers the period 1908-1981.Geographical coverage includes the United States, Australia, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland and New Zealand. ILP is also available through LexisNexis and Westlaw (password required) and in print in the Library at REF K 33 .I54 and ILS RR K 33 .I54. Print coverage begins in 1926 and goes to 2007. See Jones & Chipman for coverage of 1786-1922 and print coverage up to 1937.

2. LegalTrac (HU ID and PIN required) provides citations to articles in over 1,000 legal periodicals published since 1980. LegalTrac covers law reviews, bar association journals, legal newspapers, and international legal journals. It also covers law-related articles from about 1,000 additional business and general interest titles. Geographical coverage includes the U.S., Australia, Canada, Ireland, New Zealand and the United Kingdom. Also available through LexisNexis and Westlaw (password required) where it is known as Legal Resource Index. Available in print in the library as the Current Law Index, REF K33.C87 covering the years 1980 to 2007.

3. Legal Journals Index provides citations to articles in over 450 legal journals published in the United Kingdom and other European countries, including Ireland, from 1986 to the present. Covers topics pertaining to the laws of the European Union and its member states. Online access via Westlaw (password required). Citation includes an abstract and links to the full-text of the article and referenced cases when available. Also available in print in the Library at Reference KD 59 .L44 (but only up to 1999).

4. Papers Past contains more than one million pages of digitized New Zealand newspapers and periodicals. The collection covers the years 1840 to 1915 and includes publications from all regions of New Zealand.