Subject and Interdisciplinary Databases
Is research from other disciplines relevant to your research question? Try these databases:
- Social Sciences (includes education, psychology, economics, etc.) - ProQuest Social Sciences
- Medicine - PubMed (with Try Harvard Library links to full text)
- Scholarly journals in all areas - Web of Science
- Early childhood - Child Care and Early Education Research Connections
- Social Work and Human Services - Social Services Abstracts
- Google Scholar user? Add the Check Harvard Library Bookmark to your browser to link to full text available though the library
Not sure which one to use? Is something else better? Ask Us!
Google Scholar Tips
TIP: Add the Harvard Library Bookmark to your browser to link to full text available though the library.
Get better focused results by using Advanced Google Scholar (go to Google Scholar and click on the menu link in the upper left)
Advanced Search lets you specify words that must be present ("all"), words that are part of exact phrases, and a group of words where at least one must be present in your results.
What is Gray Literature?
Gray literature is a work that is either informally published, or published by a non-commercial enterprise, such as an association, academic institution, or government agency. Gray literature includes reports, conference proceedings, research papers, dissertations and more.
Where to find Gray Literature?
Professional associations or research centers working in your area can be useful sources of "gray literature." Begin by visiting these associations or research centers:
Tip: Look for tabs or links to Reports, Research, Publications or Resources.
To find more sources of gray literature, use Google (not Google Scholar)
Tip: Advanced Google Search allows you to get more focused results. Use exact phrase searching, limits to geographic regions or website domain (edu, org, etc.) and more.
Not finding what you need? Ask Us!