Secondary Sources
International Index to Black Periodicals Full Text (1900- ; full text 1998- ) indexes over 150 scholarly and popular journals, newspapers, and newsletters from the US, Africa and the Caribbean.
Race Relations Abstracts (1975-Present)
Bibliographies
Oxford Bibliographies Online are literature guides in several humanities and social sciences areas. Oxford Bibliographies by subject.
African American studies Oxford Bibliographies
The Harvard Guide to African-American History, ed. by Evelyn Brooks Higginbotham et al., Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 2001.
HOLLIS Record
Internet Archive Full Text
America: History and Life (1955- ) includes books, book chapters, journal articles, and book reviews.
Web of Science Citation Indexes allow citation searching, that is, starting with an article of interest and finding more recent articles that have cited it. More information.
JSTOR offers full-text of complete runs (up to about 5 years ago) of over 400 journals. Allows simultaneous or individual searching, full-text searching optional, of many historical journals.
Periodicals Index Online indexes over 5500 English and Western European language journals from their inceptions to 1995. Includes 218 journals in American history and 840 journals in world history. Also numerous journals in related subjects. Limit to historical journals by adjusting Journal Subject(s) menu to History (General) or History (The Americas), although this will exclude historical articles in non-history journals.
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) (1915- ) indexes international public and social policy literature. Includes journal articles, books, book chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, government documents, etc. Journals indexed in PAIS http://www.csa.com/factsheets/pais-set-c.php
JSTOR includes the full text of 119 political science journals from their date of inception to about 5 years ago.
International bibliography of political science (1953- ), included in International Bibliography of the Social Sciences, is a bibliography of periodical articles, books, essays in books, and government publications.
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) (1991- ) includes articles, books, conference proceedings, working papers, etc.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1975- )
Continues: Political science, government & public policy series. Annual supplement. 1967 -79.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC JA66.Z99 U64x Supplwhich continues:
Political science, government, and public policy: an annotated and intensively indexed compilation of significant books, pamphlets, and articles, selected and processed by the Universal Reference System.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC JA71.Z99 U54x 1967 Vol. 1 = 2d ed. Library has: 10 v.
--Indexed bibliography of selected older works, with a preponderance of 20th century and current publications.
v.1 International affairs -- v.2 Legislative process, representation, and decision-making -- v.3 Bibliography of bibliographies in political science, government and public policy -- v.4 Administrative management -- v.5 Current events and problems of modern society -- v.6 Public opinion, mass behavior, and political psychology -- v.7 Law, jurisprudence, and judicial process -- v.8 Economic regulation -- v.9 Public policy and the management of science -- v.10 Comparative government and cultures.
EconLit (1969- ) indexes articles from over 525 journals. Since 1987 includes books and dissertations. Earlier years available in print in Index to Economic Journals (1886- ) and Index of economic articles in collective volumes (1960- )
International bibliography of economics (1953- ), included in International Bibliography of the Social Sciences, is a bibliography of periodical articles, books, essays in books, and government publications.
Economist Historical Archive (1843-2004).
Catholic periodical and literature index (1930- ; online version: 1981- ) indexes about 200 periodicals and lists books. Includes book reviews and Papal documents. Covers, mainly, British, Canadian, Irish, and U.S. publications. Online content included in ATLA Religion Database. Print version:
HOLLIS Record
Continues:
Guide to Catholic literature, 1888-1967. 8 v. (vol. 1: 1888-1940)
LOCATION: Andover-Harv. Theol: Ref. Z7837.G9
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC BX1751.2.Z99 G85x
Online Full Text (Villanova)
ATLA Religion Index (1949- ) indexes articles, covering over 500 journals, essays in books, and book reviews (1949- ), with Protestant emphasis but some coverage of Catholic, Jewish, and other religious literature. Includes archeological literature of religious significance. Incorporates the print publications: Religion index 1: periodicals (1977- ), Religion index 2: multi-author works (1976- ), Index to book reviews in religion (1986- ), Index to religious periodical literature (1949-76), and Methodist reviews index (1818-1885).
Christian periodical index (1956- ; online version 1976- , limited earlier coverage) indexes over 120, largely U.S. evangelical and fundamentalist periodicals. Includes book and media reviews. There are author, subject, book review, and book title indexes. Print version (1956- ):
Location : Andover-Harv. Theol Ref. Z7753 .C5 (1956-1975)
American Religions Collection (UCSB) 1920s-1990s) documents religions founded or strongly influenced in America (Baptist, Christian Science) plus new and alternative religious and spiritual groups. Includes mainly serials together with manuscript subject files.
Urban Studies Abstracts (1973 - )
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes more than 2,500 international periodicals on archeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture. Coverage begins in the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s) and extends to the present.
GenderWatch (1974- ) provides full text of scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, non-governmental organization, and special reports.
Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts (1995-)
LGBT Life with Full Text indexes magazines, academic journals, news sources, gray literature, and books that deal with gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender concerns.
Women's Studies International (1972- ) accesses a variety of women's studies databases.
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature: ABELL (1920- ) includes book reviews of literary works as well as literary criticism.
CAB Abstracts (1910-Present) includes journal articles, conference papers, reports, and books on public health. Worldwide coverage with emphasis on Africa and Latin America.
Global health, 1973-Present
PubMed (1950-Present) covers, usually with abstracts, periodical articles on all areas of medicine.
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts: ASSIA (largely 1987- )
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences(1951- ) includes: International bibliography of sociology
Sociological Abstracts (1952-)