Personal Accounts/Oral History
Personal Writings in HOLLIS and WorldCat
In the HOLLIS Catalog and WorldCat several Subject terms refer to personal writings, for example:
- Civil rights workers -- Mississippi -- Biography
- Wells-Barnett, Ida B., 1862-1931 -- Diaries
- Marshall, Thurgood, 1908-1993 -- Correspondence
Printed diaries, autobiographies, etc.
Black Americans in autobiography: an annotated bibliography of autobiographies and autobiographical books written since the Civil War, by Russell C. Brignano. Rev. ed. Durham, NC: Duke University Press, 1984.
HOLLIS Record
--Lists in two sections full autobiographies and other life writings (diaries, personal narratives, etc.) with occupation, organization, geographic, chronological, and title indexes.
A guide to finding additional diaries and autobiographies is available in Finding Biographical Information.
Oral Histories
To find oral histories in HOLLIS search: topical keyword (or Subject term) AND (interviews OR "oral histor*"); search (interviews OR "oral histor*") as Subject keyword.
Oral History Online links to interview-level bibliographic records and to full-text materials, audio files and visual files where these are available.
HistoryMakers is an African American oral video history archive
Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives, 1960-1974 includes letters, diaries, and oral histories, together with posters, broadsides, pamphlets, advertisements, and audio and video materials.
Civil Rights History Project offers inventory of oral-history interviews with participants in the civil rights movement held in libraries, museums, archives, historical societies, and other institutions. Links to catalog records and finding aids.
Civil Rights Movement Veterans
Documenting the American South: Oral Histories of the American South -- Civil Rights
Civil Rights Oral History Collection (Washington State University)
Dynamics of Idealism: Volunteers for Civil Rights 1965 – 1982: Questionnaires administered to volunteers in the 1965 Summer Community Organization and Political Education (SCOPE) project of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference (SCLC), with a follow-up study in 1982.
Explorations in Black Leadership. (University of Virginia / Institute for Public History: Charlottesville, Va) Interviews of black community leaders.