Welcome
Getting Started
This guide contains selected resources to help start your research on topics related to disability law.
Secondary Sources
Books & Treatises
Introductory
Get started with these books aimed at law school students.
Americans with Disabilities Act Handbook by Call Number: KF3469 .P476ISBN: 9781543816471Publication Date: 2021
Federal Disability Law in a Nutshell by Call Number: KF480 .C65 2019ISBN: 9781642429114Publication Date: 2019
Understanding Disability Law by Call Number: KF480 .W433 2019ISBN: 9781531014049Publication Date: 2019
Advanced
Dig deeper with these treatises on disability law.
Americans with Disabilities: Practice & Compliance ManualCall Number: KF480.A6L3Publication Date: 2022
Disability Law for Property, Land Use, and Zoning Lawyers by Call Number: KF5709.3.H35 M35 2020ISBN: 9781641056779Publication Date: 2021
Employment
Employment Law Guide to the Americans with Disabilities Act by Call Number: KF3469 .D36 1992ISBN: 0130362603Publication Date: 1992-
Health & Medical
Restrictive Practices in Health Care and Disability Settings: Legal, Policy and Practical Responses by ISBN: 9780367408725Publication Date: 2020
Human Rights
The United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities by Call Number: K637.A42007 U55 2017ISBN: 9783319437880Publication Date: 2018
Disability, Human Rights, and Information Technology by Call Number: HM851 .D57 2017ISBN: 990150612720203941Publication Date: 2017
Mental Health
Great Minds Think Differently by Call Number: KF480 .M674 2021ISBN: 9781641058957Publication Date: 2021
From Courtroom to Clinic: Legal Cases that Changed Mental Health Treatment by Call Number: RC480.5 .F76 2019ISBN: 9781108432658Publication Date: 2019
Journals & Articles
To find articles written on disability law topics visit:
There are several journals both historical and current which focus exclusively on disability law. Check the publication dates provided to see if they are publishing new issues.
- Disability Law Journal (2019-current)Published by UCLA, articles available through Open Access Publications from the University of California.
- Mental Health Law and Policy Journal (2012-2015)Earlier issues available under the previous title, Mental and Physical Disability Law Reporter (1976-2011).
Working Papers
The following databases contain working papers and pre-publication scholarship.
- SSRN Disability Law e-JournalAbstracts and downloadable working papers on disability law topics.
- bePress Disability LawSearchable repository of legal articles.
- Dissertation Abstracts - SEE: Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest)Abstracts and full text of dissertations and theses from most North American colleges and unversities
Practical Guidance
Bloomberg Law provides a landing page providing easy access to disability law sources on employment.
Research Guides
Research guides provide background information on a topic, as well as links to evaluated resources. They are an excellent starting place for a researcher exploring a new area.
Law & Regulations
Finding Disability Rights Laws and Regulations
The Guide to Disability Rights Laws from the U.S. Department of Justice's Civil Rights Division. It provides an overview of federal laws that apply to individuals with disabilities. Included are brief summaries, citations to laws and regulations and contact information for enforcing agencies. It was last updated in 2020.
IDEA Act
- IDEA.ed.govDepartment of Education website includes links to the statute (below), regulations, proposed rulemaking and other useful information.
Other Statutes
- A Comparison of ADA, IDEA, and Section 504Adapted by the Mid-Atlantic ADA Center from a document created by the Disability Rights Education and Defense Fund.
- Rehabilitation Act of 1973Online via the Department of Transportation
- Air Carrier Access ActVia Cornell Legal Information Institute
- Genetic Information Nondiscrimination Act of 2008 (GINA)Online via the EEOC website.
Finding Pending Legislation
Try the following databases to search the text of bills to identify pending legislation. Advocacy groups and Agency websites can be another source for information about pending legislation.
- Current Federal and State Bills (Westlaw)Bill summaries and statuses of federal and state bills from the current session.
- Older Federal and State Bills (Westlaw)Archived bills and summaries from 2005 to previous legislative session.
Regulations
Selected regulations on disability rights.
- ADA Title I Regulations, 29 CFR 1630Provided by the EEOC
- ADA Regulation for Title IIAs printed in the Federal Register on September 15, 2010, and effective on March 15, 2011.
- ADA Regulation for Title II, OldAs printed in the Federal Register on July 26, 1991 and effective until March 15, 2011.
- ADA Regulation for Title IIIAs printed in the Federal Register on September 15, 2010, and effective on March 15, 2011.
- ADA Regulation for Title II, OldAs printed in the Federal Register on July 1, 1994 and effective until March 15, 2011.
Case Law
The following reporters contain selected U.S. cases on disability law.
- Mental and Physical Disability Law Reporter by Call Number: KF480.A15 M37ISBN: 01473700Publication Date: 1984-
Legislative History Material
- The Legislative History of the Americans with Disabilities Act by Call Number: KF480.A32 A15 1990ISBN: 0916559289Publication Date: 1990-09-01
Americans with Disabilities by ISBN: 073553148XPublication Date: 2002-11-22Chapter 2 - Legislative History
- Disability Law in the United States: A Legislative History of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 19906 volume set of legislative history documents as of 1991.
News & Current Awareness
News and Current Awareness
- SSRN Disability Law e-JournalAbstracts and downloadable working papers on disability law topics.
Blogs
- ABA Blawg Directory: Disability Law BlogsUse the ABA Blawg directory to identify additional blogs.
- Disability News BlogNews links for Social Security Disability claimants
- Rooted in RightsA disability rights group working on national advocacy campaigns.
- Workplace Prof Blog posts on disability lawPart of Law Professors Blog Network. Often includes posts on disability law.
- Understanding the Americans with Disabilities ActResource created by William D. Goren, author of Understanding the Americans with Disabilities Act, 4th Ed. (2013) to improve understanding of the ADA.
Government Websites
These government websites contain useful information about disability law topics.
- ADA.govThe Department of Justice's Americans with Disabilities Act page
- Disability.govFederal clearinghouse for "comprehensive information on disability programs and services in communities nationwide."
- Building the Legacy: IDEA 2004Department of Education website. Includes training materials, statutes and regulations, articles.
- Disability Employment Resources by TopicLinks provided by the Department of Labor. Includes a directory of state disability employment offices.
- EEOC.govThe Equal Employment Opportunity Commission website
- United States Access BoardThe U.S. Access Board is federal agency that promotes equality for people with disabilities through leadership in accessible design and the development of accessibility guidelines and standards.
Data & Web Links
Statistical Sources
- IDEA Data Accountability CenterPublic access to data about children and youth with disabilities served under the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA)
Web Resources
- ADA National Network"The ADA National Network provides information, guidance and training on the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), tailored to meet the needs of business, government and individuals at local, regional and national levels. "
- Disability Rights Education and Defense Fund"The Disability Rights Education and Defense Fund, founded in 1979, is a leading national civil rights law and policy center directed by individuals with disabilities and parents who have children with disabilities." Its mission "is to advance the civil and human rights of people with disabilities through legal advocacy, training, education, and public policy and legislative development." Includes section on advocacy, with briefs, complaints, and other documents.
International & Comparative
Research Guides
These guides provide a background information and evaluated resources on international and comparative disability law.
- International Human RightsGuide to general human rights research. Includes links to sources for international human rights agreements, repositories, organizations, and other sources.
- Wendy Scott, "Guide to Sources in International and Comparative Disability Law," 34 Syr. J. of L. and Comm 621 (2006-2007)Comprehensive article listing research sources for foreign and international disability law
- University of Minnesota Human Rights Library: Disabled Persons and Human Rights LinksLinks to advocacy organizations and UN Documents
International Law Sources
- UN Enable PortalUN Enable is the official website the Secretariat for the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities. It provides "public information on topics related to disability and the work of the United Nations for persons with disabilities."
- World Bank DisabilityLinks to World Bank documents, publications and activities related to its efforts to "improve the well-being of persons with disabilities living in developing countries." Includes a compendium of links to the major international law instruments relating to disability
Regional and National Resources
- IDRM-International Disabilities Rights MonitorGrass roots monitoring organization. Publications include regional and thematic reports on disability rights in specific countries.
- International Norms and Standards Relating to Disability: The Regional Human Rights SystemThis section of the UN Enable site links to regional human rights commissions and other bodies with responsibility for disability rights.
Getting Help
Contact Us!
Ask Us! Submit a question or search our knowledge base.
Chat with us! Chat with a librarian (HLS only)
Email: research@law.harvard.edu
Contact Historical & Special Collections at specialc@law.harvard.edu
Meet with Us Schedule an online consult with a Librarian
Hours Library Hours
Classes View Training Calendar or Request an Insta-Class
CC License
CC License
This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.
You may reproduce any part of it for noncommercial purposes as long as credit is included and it is shared in the same manner.